Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Iroquois Point Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 728 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

Everyone in the community is happy with IPES and think that the students seem challenged, excited to go to school and they really like their teachers.


Posted September 29, 2013

Never have I encountered a school that praises themselves for only achieving 68% of the students able to pass the State testing (and we all know how easy those tests are). This is a school of teachers and administrators that are more concerned with their own jobs/careers rather than even the basic welfare of the students. Federal and state laws are not upheld nor fulfilled and student safety is not a major concern to anyone. Monies are mismanaged and not accounted for and the ability for teachers and staff to even utilize proper English grammar and spell words correctly is a continuous challenge ... and you wonder why your child begins to make stupid mistakes. This is a school where parents concerns are only provided lip-service and never really addressed. But then again this is Hawaii. Many parents elect not to participate in the school or support the school simply since it is a complete mess in the way the school is administrated and the political favoritism that is propagated by the administration. Then they wonder why parental engagement is so low (but they refuse to look in the mirror).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Before moving to HI, I had always heard how awful the public schools in HI are. IPES is doing it's best to break that stereotype. It follows the International Baccalaureate program, the 1st public elementary school in the state to be accredited IB. They hold their staff and students to a high standard. The school welcomes volunteers and has an active PTA. I have 2 children at the school and couldn't be happier. The school has a long list of extras-: a band, an award winning robotics team, cheerleading, several sports teams, FREE after school tutoring assistance, etc. In May 2013, Honolulu Magazine ranked IPES 37th in the Best of the State school ranking feature article. I love that the school is half local/half relocated locals at heart. Several family events are held throughout the year. Many of my friends do not live in the area and have chosen IPES as their school. I look forward to the upcoming school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

School is horribly rampant with favoritism, politics, and mismanagement with deserving students not getting recognition. Some teachers work hard and strive for success but are hampered by a staff that is ineffective and consistently makes bad choices and fails to do the right thing. Good ethics elude them. It is understandable that many of the teachers are searching for a new place to teach. This school would be amazing if the administration staff would just be fair and honest. Just my impression but I fear other parents that have children there feel the same after speaking to many of them. If your child attends school there make sure you hold the school to standard because they are very much a school that believes in "do as I say, not as I do". What poor role models.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

My kids have been to 2 other schools in the Ewa Beach Area and this is by far the best school we have experienced. The facility may be old, but it is treated with care and respect as are the students who go here. The education is well rounded and is definitely representative of the IB curriculum. Parents are welcome to visit and volunteer and the communication between home and school is very good. I love the red folders that come home weekly- no sifting through homework folders for important papers! The fundraisers allow so many fun and educational field trip experiences and for classroom upgrades. If you want a quality education in a welcoming, safe environment in Ewa Beach- Iroquois has it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

I have worked in several schools throughout my college and teaching career, and I can say that Iroquois is the best. First, the staff is highly efficient and qualified. Each position here has been filled by experts. They are all very positive and supportive to each other and to our schools ohana. Second, the principal (Mrs. Armstrong) is amazing! She is very thoughtful, caring, available, and always appreciative of the teachers. She is very fair and genuinely cares about her job. She puts an emphasis on professional development which I really like. The curriculum was a big draw for me. We are a International Baccalaureate school, which means that our curriculum is unit based integrating as many subjects as possible. We also pride ourselves on guided experience, global thinking, action, and instilling proper attitudes for international mindedness. Through this curriculum we hope to develop well rounded students who have the skills to take on whatever they choose. Last, the families are very involved. The school has provided many fun opportunities for the families of our school. The teachers here provide many after school activities which are free or of low cost.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 20, 2011

This school has incredibly strong leadership with wonderful teachers and a top notch principal. Academics follows the state regulation but each teacher adds her own special touch to challenge the kids. The parents are very involved which creates a healthy environment for all kids and there are several after school and extra curricular activities offered. And best of all the first IB elementary school in Oahu. They really encourage the IB program...truly a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

We just moved here 2 months ago and we love the school. Great teachers, love the atmosphere, students are very well behaved, and our kids are so happy. With all the horrible things being said about Hawaii public schools, I am very satisfied with what our daughters are doing. Plus, lots to be involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

My son completed Kindergarten here and enjoyed science experiments, field trips, and most of all he is excited each day about going to school and learning something new. Mrs. Mueller has been teaching for over 20 yrs and her style is very effective with the children - I highly recommend her as your first teacher to influence your child's mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

Iroquois Point Elementary School is a safe and loving environment. The students are well behaved and the staff sets a good example for the students. I have 3 boys at this school and they all love it. It is a great mixture of local children as well as military children. As a military family, we were so glad the school provided Hawaiian Studies. During these furlough Fridays our wonderful teachers voted to give up 2 teacher workdays. This shows the value these teachers place on our students education. My sons have had great opportunites for extra curricular activities. Golf,band, football,volleyball,and cubscouts just to name a few. My older son will graduate this year and will be well prepared for a private middle school. I highly recommend this school to any family moving to Hawaii. We chose to live off base in order to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I hae to say that the principal is so involved with the students and parents! The kindergarten ciriculum is wonderful!! Mrs. Kouchi is a wonderful teacher! She is passionate about her children and their learning. I love the daily homework journal that lets me know what he's learning each day at school. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school. If you are military, the only reason I would move to Ewa Beach(waterfront at Pu'uloa) would be to put your child into this school!!! It is one of the top schools in Hawaii. I will truly miss this school when we move!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

We are a military family and have heard devastating news about the public school systems in Hawaii, but our children attended IPES (K-3rd grade)and we/they absolutely loved it! Upon receipt of orders to depart, that was our major conern... finding a school that would be as good as this one in which our children would still enjoy. The administration sets their students up for success with the daily communcation log as well as parent teacher conference. There are lots of activities the students can get involved in and the school has an amazing PTA program that brings money back to the school and students. The care and attention our children received, I believe, were equivalent to that of a private school. Thank you IPES - we miss you already!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

The school provides lots of extracurricular activities for students after school. They have a band, cheerleading squad, a football (flag) team, and a basketball team. The teachers are friendly, and most go above and beyond what is expected of them. Kindergarten through fourth grade are the grades in which my children were in. I have been happy with their academics as well as personal help my boys have gotten from their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

The academics in the kindergarten are good, but the communication between the teacher and parent is unacceptable. My daughter is in the process of being tested for a learning disorder. She is unfocused and often disruptive during class. The teacher never writes anything in her daily communication folder about her behavior, which is what I need to give the doctor. I only find out about my daughter from another girl that is in her class. This should not happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I am pleased with the outcome of my children attending Iroquois Point Elem. I am completely satisfied with the teachers that my children have, the community/parent envolvment, and the extra cirricular activities they offer here. My daughter is able to receive free math tutoring twice a week for 45 minutes a day. She enjoys it and her math skills have improved tremendously. I expressed how I was not happy with her school work performance and her teacher offered this after school tutorial within days. My children are always emphasizing how much they like this school and that means alot to me. Just knowing that they are happy as well as excelling makes me proud to have chosen this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

Both my children have really enjoyed this school.It is equivalent to a private school, and I beleive one of the very best in the area.The principal is friendly and approachable; bullying is not tolerated, and after school programs such as the band, which starts in grade 3 is great.The classrooms are airconditioned ( not true of some schools in the area).You have to enter the school through a gated community entrance: good for safety, but sometimes annoying to have to reapply for entrance stickers every 6 months, if you don't live within the community. Very supportive of military families.Lots of opportunities for parents who want to volunteer and get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2007

Equivalent to a private school!! Iroquois Point Elementary school has a peaceful, respectful climate where academics come first. My daughter has severe dyslexia and her teachers have worked diligently with her to boost her self confidence, find her mentors with the same condition, and encourage her to succeed. The atmosphere at IPES is positive, inviting, and welcoming. It is truly a no tolerance school: no tolerance for racism, violence, disrespect, and bullying. I personally saw the principal pull out a boy to counsel him on bullying. Unbelievably POSITIVE EXPERIENCE!!! My daughter is in 6th grade and plays basketball, volleyball, and runs track. There is a great afterschool program and they offer tutoring!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

My son attended IPES 1st-5th. Most teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic. IPES has a lot of school spirit and many after school activities. One of the best schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

I am a former student of Iriquios Elementary and I just have to say that this was the best school that I have ever gone to. The teachers were great and I had alot of fun while I was at that school. Ecspecially my 1st grade teacher Mrs J. She was great. Mrs J always thought of creative ways of helping us learn aswell as the other great teachers. Iriquios always had a great disiplining system aswell as saftey. If my family and I didn't move there is no doubt in my mind that I would still be goig there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2004

My children all attended Iroquois Point Elementary during the last three years -- between each of the kids we've covered grades K through 6. Although there are areas which could be improved, I think this is the best public school we've attended in Hawaii. The principal in particular is doing an excellent job. During the '03-'04 year the school switched to a new grading system (based on vague learning objectives rather than letter grades and percentages in subjects) which I hope is not going to be a permanent fixture -- I found the kids' report cards very confusing and one of my children was disappointed that they no longer hand out traditional honor roll awards. I agree with the reviewer above; the teachers are very fair and good with working with children of different backgrounds. I only wish the school were more involved with the (non-military) community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 31% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 30% 34%
Two or more races 13% 8%
Asian 9% 35%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Black 8% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5553 Cormorant Ave
Ewa Beach, HI 96706
Phone: (808) 499-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT