Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ilima Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2012

This school may be good enough if you don't know any better. If your local you have nothing to worry about.however, if your from mainland watch out. I had to send my daughter back stateside to live with relatives for a real education that's not outdated . Hawaii public school system is disappointing. Lets look at the statistics on kids from public school going on to college. All the money the state makes goes back into tourism with severe lacking in education and infrastructure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

they have great teachers and great after school activites. some people think its a bad school because they only look at the bad things like fights but they should look at the good things. im in the malams ika aina service science club and we went to the big island to learn more about science stuff and we had fudrasiers and we went down fort weaver road to pick up trash we did a lot of workand picked up alot. i went on the big island tirp even if i moved to a differnt school. how awesome was that. Best school i have ever went to, so many good times there. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

The teachers are memorable. I will never forget there utmost dedication and sheer devotion to make us happy and enjoy our education. The dissappointment in this school is the environment. The negative atmosphere causes people to become hostile and fights riddle the campus. They're trying their best to inprove the school, so only expect better after this review become outdated. All-in-all, come to this school for a great experience, but just watch out for the fists from drama fanatics (Boy fight for girl, Boy-Boy testosterone, gang involvement, etc.)


Posted October 11, 2008

This school was awesome..The Teachers were very nice and just plain awesome...I love Ilima..It was the best middle school experience for me..They do need to get a new Principal because he really does not help the school in any way and ALL the teachers dislike him and he spies on all the students at breaks and lunch...creepy dude..but other than him...The schools great..
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

Most teachers are dedicated and caring, unfortunately the school's Principal will rather downplay and/or downright ignore the discipline problems that are ruining the school's reputation. Parental involvement is also noticeably lacking and badly needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

This school has improved tremendously just in the four years I have been here. Many teachers are great and give so much to the students. The students are generally good kids. There are a big handful who give Ilima it's' bad reputation. This school will go nowhere but up regarding curriculum, safety, and accolades.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 8, 2008

I like this school alot,you may hear bad thing about it but ther trying to improve,like they just put in new concrete,and made/fixed benches.They have alot of nice things,like the c.C.T.V in the morning,and the extra jamba juice sells.The teachers try there hardest and the school started this thing called 'lock down' its where rite after the 3 minute passing time is over you close the door and send the late people to the office.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

as a student of this school i would have to say there has been a major improvement over the last couple of years.im an 8th grader and looking back i can see the major improvement over the last year.one of the biggest yet would be the cemented courted! it is a much needed improvement.like most students i was scared from rumors in the beginning of my 7th grade year but now i love it.the teachers here are perfect and it is just a good overall place.the only thing bad about this school are those select few students that are 'bullies' that make this school get its bad reputation.overall this is a very good school and i love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2008

The teachers would give anything to help the students pass the class. The school had improvements during the year like the cement in the court yeard. The teachers are so happy everytime i see them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

Well we moved to Ewa Beach from California. I was extremely disappointed to see that the 8th grade social studies was what she had in 6th grade in CA, the 8th grade science/adv math what she had in 7th grade in CA. She did seem to like the school but in light of how much she would be repeating, I have temporarily pulled her from the school. If she is bored, this is the age she will seek entertainment elsewhere. not a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

My daughter heard the rumors. She was sooo scared to start her first day, but now that she has, she loves it. She loves the schedule and brags about her teachers. She even wanted to go when she was sick. That has never happen before. I give it thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

this is a really great school.even though you hear bad things about it, you know gossip is gossip and you will never know till you tried it.my daughter went to this school and she had a great time.i think it will still be good in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

this school has been improved.the improvments include -cameras (throughout hallways) -(comming in dec.)cement on the muddy courtyard -new uniforms(more stylish) -(comming soon)central ac -(better student planners) overall this is a great school and it may seem junky to others,once you get used to it, this school is Da Bomb!oh and it runs on a block schedule
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

As a former student of Ilima, I think that the school is pretty okay. Yes, it does need some improvement but the teachers and staff do there best to help out the students. The food is also okay. Some people might not like it because they're not accustomed to it. I went to that school just a year ago and i loved. I received good education and made great friends. --Clarissa
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2005

As A Student in ilima..im in the 8th grade..and to me this school is the greatest!Who care wat parents say..i have teachers who really want their student to know how to do math,english,science,hula,social studies,band,chorus,p.e,and art!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2005

School? If thats what you call it. what a huge difference from the mainland school!We moved here 4months ago.The cirriculum is non existant,make up work is not given out and you dont recognize what they serve for lunch. My child will be withdrawn for next year and sent back to the mainland for school.It would be wise NOT to enroll your child at this school.The state needs to step in and do something!Please!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

If you value your child's safety, education and general well-being than this is definitely not the school for you! As a former student and now guardian of a student here- I can definitely attest to the horrendous state of this school. The school is worse now than it was when I attended it. Teachers are not only inadequate (with the exception of maybe 2 teachers), they simply don't care about meeting the safety and educational needs of students- they are so busy trying to put in time to collect their pension and worry about their own personal safety. Students are continuously,harrassed,threatened and violently harmed by peers and unable to focus on studies as they are just trying to maintain their own personal safety and survival. Security is a joke- they sit by and watch the fights and violence as entertaintment. Adults and students of neighboring schools freely roam the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

Absolute travesty of a school. Uncaring teachers who let the students run amok around the school. Poor learning environment, and overall poor school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2004

Although my son had several very caring, dedicated teachers during his year at Ilima, overall it was a dreadful experience for him! The school is overcrowded -- there are simply not enough adults to supervise the kids, especially during transition time between classes. My son was constantly picked on, harrassed, pushed, tripped, had money and books stolen from his bag, and at one point punched and kicked by another student. He never felt safe there, and his grades suffered as a result. Luckily, some of his teachers were willing to give him extra help or let him take refuge in their classroom, but on the whole we did not feel like the administration cared much about our bright, sensitive kid. Also, the restrooms are absolutely filthy!! They are truly a health hazard. We pulled our son out after a year because it simply was too dangerous and oppressive for him there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

The No Child Left Behind program is a high priority with the Hawaii State DOE. Some of the teachers & staff at Ilima Intermediate are committed to establishing this program. However, as test scores reveal, there are many areas in need of improvement. One such area is grammar. My son has math homework on a daily basis, yet rarely has homework from any other class limiting exposure to writing skills, reading comprehension and creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 47% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 31% 34%
Two or more races 8% 8%
White 7% 14%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91884 Fort Weaver Rd
Ewa Beach, HI 96706
Phone: (808) 689-1250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hale O Ulu School
Ewa Beach, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT