Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ewa Beach Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 522 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2010

This school is ok. They have a very good principal, vice principal and support staff. The school was designated a Blue Ribbon school last year and this shows their dedication to improving the quality of education here as well as increasing overall test scores. The one downside to this school is it's lack of resources for the students. They really need a playground and more books and enrichment materials in the classrooms. So far it seems they try to have quite a few fundraisers, but this school is still so lacking compared to other schools our kids have attended. I haven't seen a lot of parent involvement either which is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

Although Ewa Beach Elementary School is an older school without all the luxuries of a newly built school, it still provides the foundation of a quality education. The teachers are great and principal Kobayashi really cares. I am proud to say that my two children are students at Ewa Beach Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The principal, Ms. Kobayashi is a great leader with a great staff. She cares about our children and it shows. The registrar is an awesome, knowledgable and very overworked woman. The teachers are great. My experience with Ewa Beach Elementary is an awesome one. My child has learned so much, made a bunch of friends, and respects his teachers. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I love the education my children are gaining at this school. The only down fall is this school lack extra activities like may day or christmas show ,they also should welcome parents in to the school for activities. It's important for parents to feel the feeling of pride about our childs hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

I have 2 children in Ewa Beach Elementary and we are very pleased with the education they are getting. The teachers are outcomes driven, and seem to really care that the kids learn. The only complaint we have is the lack of air conditioning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

This is my childrens first year at this school, and I have to say so far so good. I'm from the mainland and I'm impressed by their teachers. I especially like that the principle and vice principle is out at the are out of the office and running the JPO. Thank you Ewa Beach Elementary, for welcomoing my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

To dispute the other post left, all of the text books are actually new. Science was the last subject to be updated, last school year. They sound upset that gym was taken away due to behavior. This tells me that they have a poorly behaved child. Instead of taking it out on the school why don't they teach thier child to behave themselves.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 14, 2004

We sent our daughter to this school for 2 weeks and then begged for a geographical exception to move her to a better school. It was not because the school is run down, but because everything about the school is sub standard. The text books are the same as the ones my husband and I used when we were in grade school! They do not have the updated editions! The school tries hard, but falls short. They lack school pride. They take the once weekly physical education class away from the students as a disciplinary action.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 30% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 25% 34%
Two or more races 22% 8%
White 13% 14%
Black 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91740 Papipi Rd
Ewa Beach, HI 96706
Phone: (808) 689-1271

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT