Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Haiku Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 9, 2010

Haiku School understands it takes a whole community to raise & educate our children. I love our annual Ho'olaule'a when all our school/community efforts come to fruition. And new this fall, thanks to our volunteers, we have a GARDEN! What a wonderful place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

DOE school with amazing parent involvement making it one of the best DOE schools in Maui!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Haiku School is the best elementary school on Maui. The teachers are awesome and the parents are very involved. My kid's love their teachers, year after year, and they love going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Wonderful School with great teachers although we desperately need funds with only 4 day school weeks only one day for P.E., no band & no pool or theater arts. How can the kids possible get a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Haiku School has great parent involvement and help fund wonderful programs like drama and art. They also have awesome extra curricular activities like Hoolaulea and Art/Talent night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I love Haiku school because they go beyond reading and math and allow chldren the opportunity to explore the arts and science as well..hard to find these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

They have a great PTA which sponsors an Arts & Enrichment program. Local artists come into the school and teach their specialty to our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Haiku School Rocks! We have a lot of love and compassion among students. When a new student comes they are welcomed and looked out for by their classmates. The students take pride in creating their own opportunities such as fundraising for our computer lab and PE programs. The teachers work so hard to provide great learning environments for the kids , in our multi-cultured spirit of Aloha!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Haiku Elementary School provides its students with a well rounded education, encourages reading and recognizes outstanding achievements by its students.


Posted May 5, 2010

Haiku School parents realize that supporting and appreciating their dedicated and creative teaching staff is a way to improve their children's education in these important primary grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Haiku School is a little bit of heaven for our kids. what a great atmosphere for our children to learn in... The teachers are caring and supportive of my childrens interest and bring out the best in their creative minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Haiku School prepared my children for the road a head. They were encouraged to be independent thinkers and caring individuals. They were also given the opportunity to express themselves creatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Haiku School is the best because it prepared my children academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Haiku is an incredible school with caring teachers. It is truly a community school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2010

We live within a stone throw of another public school but were blessed with an intradistric transfer to Haiku school. We all have to start our day earlier to get to Haiku school on time but it is a commitment that we are pleased to do. The staff and strong parent involvement make my daughter's days at Haiku School enriching and enjoyable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Haiku school is very family supportive working hard to bring the community together for eachother. Mahalo for all that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have seen other schools that are more like a day care than an institution of education. Haiku Elementary has evolved into a place where my children are constantly encouraged to learn the next step both academically and socially. From day one the staff has given my son all the skills he needs to keep reaching his learning goals. This is a truly remarkable place for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I am a grand-parent who takes care of my grandson, the school goes out of the way to help with any questions I may have


Posted April 27, 2010

Our school has some of the best teachers in the nation. Our parents are hard to keep off the campus they volunteer so often. Between parents, teachers, staff and administration our students get the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Haiku Elementary does so much for our children. The school raises monies to better educate the children with arts and music. Parents are involved making this school a safe and better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 28% 34%
Two or more races 11% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 34%
Hispanic 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Pauwela Rd
Haiku, HI 96708
Phone: (808) 575-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Horizons Academy
Maui County, HI






St. Joseph School
Makawao, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT