Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Connections - New Century Public Charter School

Charter | PK-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

People might say this school is too easy, but that's not true. You get what you want out of this school, and the teachers and staff will do everything they can to help you every step of the way. They have a great music program, a really nice after school program where the kids so art/music/computer programing. They also have the Makignery program where yoiu can design on the computer and print plastic modules and carve wood with a 'laser printer". All the teachers really care about the students and a lot of the students are motivated and hardworking, planning school functions and fundraising for class trips. It's a really great school with a great sense of community, family and commitment. Especially the highsxhool.


Posted January 14, 2014

Connections is a GREAT Public Charter School. They also offer an after school program called Studio Shaka! They keep the students off drugs and involved in Music, writing, among other things. And have a maker y class that use state of the art tools and CAD programs that are important in development for job placement! I highly recommend this school if you want to see grades go up and problems disappear! I can not say enough great things about the teachers and staff! Top notch all of the way. I have one child that has graduated from there (with top honors) and another still going there. See for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

As a grandparent, I have observed how much happier my grandchildren were when attending this school. The school fosters independent thinking and problem solving. I feel they are better prepared to navigate the obstacles they will face in the "real world".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am amazed at how this school networks with the community!!! They have brought in so many volunteers to expand the kids knowledge of opportunities available to them! On a island that is mostly farmers and people in the tourist industry, it is wonderful that they get expose to other options!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Connections is Not a good school, and I support the charter movement. It's hard to believe Connection's charter hasn't been revoked yet. What's it going to take?


Posted July 20, 2013

Ok unfortunately we will never know what really happened about the new campus, and it's unbelieved lee that people wouldn't want a great school in there neighborhood but its a wonderful school. 100% better then any of the public schools on the island. And its not anyone's fault but the people who don't choose to find the things this school find important, important. So aloha and mahalo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I highly recommend this school. I have already had a few of my friends transfer their kids to CPCS. the quality of education is much better than most if not all the regular public school options available in our home community. the extra distance travel wise is well worth it. I have five children attending currently and one coming up in a few years. I only wish I would have enrolled them sooner. the teachers and staff here want to see the children succeed and do well and will go the extra mile to do so. my children have had so many more opportunities while at this school whether its excursions or class room instruction there seem to be more options in a smaller school setting. in a larger school teachers and staff mostly are working for a paycheck but in this school you can truly see that that is not the case. they really want to teach your children and make them successful. my children two of which are special education were denied services numerous times in the larger schools but within weeks of being at connections their learning disabilities were Identified and they are now getting proper services. again highly recommended for anyone wants quality education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

Ethics violations, Environmental Assessment violations, illegal land clearing Department of Land and Natural resources violations just to name a few things the administration will do to get their way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

I was a student in this school's high school from 2006 to 2010. The teachers are wonderful for the most part. They understand that seminar-type classes prepare kids for college, and they are usually more than willing to just sit and talk and give advice (as there is no official counselor at this school, which makes college prep time extremely difficult). They hire so many security guards who just sit around all day, but they can't hire a guidance counselor, and that's why so many students who graduate from here don't end up going to college. Administration is a joke - the principal does not care about the welfare of his students so much as giving himself a good public image and spending his workday doing nothing and skipping important appointments. Also note that major policies (like school hours, credits required) are often changed at whim and without notifying those who are affected. This almost cost me my opportunity to graduate and it destroyed me mentally. The classes themselves are great depending on the teacher. Some are so biased that their lectures border on proselytizing, but some make you feel so welcome and almost like family. It's hit or miss, but the hits are amazing.


Posted January 15, 2011

DON'T SEND YOUR KID (S) HERE! FROM A PRINCIPAL THAT ACCUSES A CHILD OF DOING DRUGS WHEN NO DRUGS WERE TAKEN TO A TEACHER THAT HAS PERSONAL FEELINGS OF HATE TOWARDS A CHILD BECAUSE SHE DOES FIND HIM "CUTE" ,THEN TO TELL A CHILD THAT HE HAS GRADUATED THEN FINDS OUT 4 MONTHS LATER( WHEN HE GOES TO PICK UP HIS DIPLOMA) THAT HE HAS NOT GRADUATED--- THIS IS THE WORST PLACE TO SEND THE CHILD YOU LOVE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I give this school thumbs up! My oldest just graduated in 2009,and now she's at a university. She has been going to this school off and on since kindergarten. And now my youngest is in her fourth year here. I have always prasied this school for the hands on work. The only thing that I would really like to address the parents is, see where your high school student is acheiving, and not doing so well in, and get the class's your child needs, instead of what he wants. Exspecially if he/she wants to go to college. You have to remember this is a new school, and they are learning as we are :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

The teachers are great. However, this school year 2007-8, they got a new food service provider. This food service provider meals are not great, the food preparation facilities inadequate - many kids don't eat the food or are bringing in home lunches. Efforts on mitigation have been stonewalled, nepotism has become a method of operation under the guise of we don't have enough money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

A public school that gives private school results. First graduating class will be 2009 and it will be awsome to see in 4 years their achivements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

The school is wonderful! My son has never been happier! He has been to another charter school before, but it was horrible!This school actually takes time to spend with each child to make sure the are learning to their full potential and more. Next year my daughter will be attending here and she cant wait! The small groups of children are better for both child and teacher that way the child will have more of the one on one and the teacher will be able to check on the progress of the child to see if the child needs more help. This school gets a big A+ from this parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

This is simply the best school that I have ever seen in my life! We commute our daughter nearly 100 total miles per day just to attend this school-- that is how good it is. The kids are able to learn at their own rate, not wait for their class to catch up. This allows them to go up grade levels in whatever areas they are able to so they are never stifled or bored being taught something they already know. The math program is accelerated and not the 'traditional' math so my 1st grader is doing pre-algebretic equations! And the kids at any level are doing this. It is like customized classes for you child. The teachers are great and the parents are kept informed about everything. The structure of the classes makes it very inviting for parents to observe or help out at any time. We also really appreciate the disipline of the school. The basic premise is that you are responsible for your own actions and you are to show respect for other people around you. There is no swearing, for example, which is so rampant in too many elementary schools. There is a common misconception that this is a private school and that there are fees to join, but there isn't. This is a public school, so there is no tuition fee for the parents. We are looking forward to our 2nd daughter beginning kindergarten this coming school year. I can't recommend this school highly enough! A+!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Biology I

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 35% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 34%
Two or more races 10% 8%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A49%
Female 46%N/A48%
Male 54%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

174 Kamehameha Ave
Hilo, HI 96720
Phone: (808) 961-3664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT