Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12 & Ungraded
Public charter
Hilo, HI
Students enrolled: 331

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Connections - New Century Public Charter School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Connections Public Charter School is a hit or miss, and unfortunately for me it was a miss. As stated in some of the previous comments, the principal does not care nor does he address any issues brought to his attention. As a parent, I am disappointed in how some teachers are allowed to do so little and not be held accountable for it. There are staff members that truly care and then there are those that could care less, and have nothing but negative comments and suggestions. If your child thrives in a positive setting, steer clear of CPCS!!!! Oh, and formal complaints are a joke, the principal does not have the decency to respond to multiple emails regarding academic concerns. Good luck!

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a community member
People might say this school is too easy, but that's not true. You get what you want out of this school, and the teachers and staff will do everything they can to help you every step of the way. They have a great music program, a really nice after school program where the kids so art/music/computer programing. They also have the Makignery program where yoiu can design on the computer and print plastic modules and carve wood with a 'laser printer". All the teachers really care about the students and a lot of the students are motivated and hardworking, planning school functions and fundraising for class trips. It's a really great school with a great sense of community, family and commitment. Especially the highsxhool.


Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Connections is a GREAT Public Charter School. They also offer an after school program called Studio Shaka! They keep the students off drugs and involved in Music, writing, among other things. And have a maker y class that use state of the art tools and CAD programs that are important in development for job placement! I highly recommend this school if you want to see grades go up and problems disappear! I can not say enough great things about the teachers and staff! Top notch all of the way. I have one child that has graduated from there (with top honors) and another still going there. See for yourself!

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
As a grandparent, I have observed how much happier my grandchildren were when attending this school. The school fosters independent thinking and problem solving. I feel they are better prepared to navigate the obstacles they will face in the "real world".

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
I am amazed at how this school networks with the community!!! They have brought in so many volunteers to expand the kids knowledge of opportunities available to them! On a island that is mostly farmers and people in the tourist industry, it is wonderful that they get expose to other options!!!


Connections - New Century Public Charter School 1

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
Connections is Not a good school, and I support the charter movement. It's hard to believe Connection's charter hasn't been revoked yet. What's it going to take?

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a parent
Ok unfortunately we will never know what really happened about the new campus, and it's unbelieved lee that people wouldn't want a great school in there neighborhood but its a wonderful school. 100% better then any of the public schools on the island. And its not anyone's fault but the people who don't choose to find the things this school find important, important. So aloha and mahalo.

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
I highly recommend this school. I have already had a few of my friends transfer their kids to CPCS. the quality of education is much better than most if not all the regular public school options available in our home community. the extra distance travel wise is well worth it. I have five children attending currently and one coming up in a few years. I only wish I would have enrolled them sooner. the teachers and staff here want to see the children succeed and do well and will go the extra mile to do so. my children have had so many more opportunities while at this school whether its excursions or class room instruction there seem to be more options in a smaller school setting. in a larger school teachers and staff mostly are working for a paycheck but in this school you can truly see that that is not the case. they really want to teach your children and make them successful. my children two of which are special education were denied services numerous times in the larger schools but within weeks of being at connections their learning disabilities were Identified and they are now getting proper services. again highly recommended for anyone wants quality education


Connections - New Century Public Charter School 1

Posted December 15, 2012
- a parent
Ethics violations, Environmental Assessment violations, illegal land clearing Department of Land and Natural resources violations just to name a few things the administration will do to get their way.

Connections - New Century Public Charter School 2

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
I was a student in this school's high school from 2006 to 2010. The teachers are wonderful for the most part. They understand that seminar-type classes prepare kids for college, and they are usually more than willing to just sit and talk and give advice (as there is no official counselor at this school, which makes college prep time extremely difficult). They hire so many security guards who just sit around all day, but they can't hire a guidance counselor, and that's why so many students who graduate from here don't end up going to college. Administration is a joke - the principal does not care about the welfare of his students so much as giving himself a good public image and spending his workday doing nothing and skipping important appointments. Also note that major policies (like school hours, credits required) are often changed at whim and without notifying those who are affected. This almost cost me my opportunity to graduate and it destroyed me mentally. The classes themselves are great depending on the teacher. Some are so biased that their lectures border on proselytizing, but some make you feel so welcome and almost like family. It's hit or miss, but the hits are amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Connections - New Century Public Charter School
174 Kamehameha Ave, Hilo, HI  96720
(808) 961-3664
Last modified Connections - New Century Public Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Connections - New Century Public Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top