Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kaumana Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2009

As of today- the school has a permanent principal, and excellent teachers- both new and returning. I love that the school is so small. Basically two classes for each grade. Such a small school- excellent for my painfully shy son. He just started Kinder in Room A-2, and he loves it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I hope this school gets a permanent principal and gets back to being organized. I was a little disappointed with the school this year. Too many people leaving! Classes are getting too large for lack of teachers! Otherwise the peolple who are there are doing their best with what they have and I give them credit for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

This school lost its principal, vice principal and many teachers last school year. I am very disappointed in the school this year and have been trying to get my daughter into another school since December. No organization. They still don't have a permanent principal. They have had three or four different people coming to fill in. Its awful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

This is a school that cares for each and every child attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I have been a teacher aat Kaumana Elementary School for over 30 years. We have a solid foundation, dedicated teachers, supportive administrators and office staff and wonderful students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2008

I love the small class sizes and the congenial atmosphere on campus. The staff is welcoming and professional. The faculty is resourceful and forward-thinking. My child is very happy here and so are e.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

I'm a parent of a kindergartner at Kaumana Elementary & I didn't know what to expect, since this was my first schooling experience with my son, as well as his.My son and I are extremely happy with his principal,teachers & all the many grandparents,parents and different family members that make up this very successful and proud school. I don't recall learning half the things my son continues to learn at Kaumana Elementary. The school has family reading nights,book of the month,and a awesome Voyager reading program. It really is comforting to know that the staff is there to help guide my child in the right direction along with communicating with me as how I can be an active roll in my sons achievements. I'm so grateful for everyone and we are gonna be sad (beyond words) when we move in July. Thank you staff of Kaumana Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

I have a 4th grader in Ms. Nakamura class. We have attended Kaumana for 3yrs now. The school has great teachers and an exceptional admin. dept. With great leadership from principle to teacher they have shown our family a new way to look at our public schools. Great academic programs such as their Voyager reading & Vmath programs installed, has shown that extra step in caring for they're students. They offer after school Track & Basketball sports activities, which they take very seriously. Recently added, an award winning, Youth Robotics Club. Atmosphere is like attending a private school in a outer city environment. I can honestly say,if not for the parent involvement in the class room, on the sports court, with the students on and off campus, their time and effort in fundraising Kaumana Elementary School would not ranked,with me a 5 Star School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Excellent School! I would recommended to anyone. My son's Teacher, Mrs. Kurokawa is a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I come from New York and San Diego. I am very impressed with the education my kindergartener is getting here. She has homework every night, and the curriculum tires me out! My daughter just loves her school and teacher, and most of all loves to learn. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment, and she has learned more in one 1/2 year of kindergarten than I learned in my first two years of elementary school. No child will be left behind in this school. Everyone looks out for everyone else and knows everyone so I don't worry about my daughter at all. It has a small close knit family atmosphere, and most of all it looks over beautiful Hilo Bay!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 62% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 34%
Hispanic 12% 6%
White 9% 14%
Two or more races 4% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1710 Kaumana Dr
Hilo, HI 96720
Phone: (808) 974-4190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT