Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
Was real sketchy about da school at first by reading all da negativity towards da school but chose to send my son anyways....I tell you I'm so glad I decided to send him there, the staff is amazing and my son jus loves the school...the teachers stay in contact with da parents on just about anything that involves their child..I love the fact that the school goes to 6th grade...

Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
As of today- the school has a permanent principal, and excellent teachers- both new and returning. I love that the school is so small. Basically two classes for each grade. Such a small school- excellent for my painfully shy son. He just started Kinder in Room A-2, and he loves it there!


Kaumana Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
I hope this school gets a permanent principal and gets back to being organized. I was a little disappointed with the school this year. Too many people leaving! Classes are getting too large for lack of teachers! Otherwise the peolple who are there are doing their best with what they have and I give them credit for that!

Kaumana Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
This school lost its principal, vice principal and many teachers last school year. I am very disappointed in the school this year and have been trying to get my daughter into another school since December. No organization. They still don't have a permanent principal. They have had three or four different people coming to fill in. Its awful.

Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
This is a school that cares for each and every child attending.


Kaumana Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 05, 2008
- a teacher
I have been a teacher aat Kaumana Elementary School for over 30 years. We have a solid foundation, dedicated teachers, supportive administrators and office staff and wonderful students.

Kaumana Elementary School 4

Posted June 28, 2008
- a parent
I love the small class sizes and the congenial atmosphere on campus. The staff is welcoming and professional. The faculty is resourceful and forward-thinking. My child is very happy here and so are e.

Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
I'm a parent of a kindergartner at Kaumana Elementary & I didn't know what to expect, since this was my first schooling experience with my son, as well as his.My son and I are extremely happy with his principal,teachers & all the many grandparents,parents and different family members that make up this very successful and proud school. I don't recall learning half the things my son continues to learn at Kaumana Elementary. The school has family reading nights,book of the month,and a awesome Voyager reading program. It really is comforting to know that the staff is there to help guide my child in the right direction along with communicating with me as how I can be an active roll in my sons achievements. I'm so grateful for everyone and we are gonna be sad (beyond words) when we move in July. Thank you staff of Kaumana Elementary

Kaumana Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2007
- a parent
I have a 4th grader in Ms. Nakamura class. We have attended Kaumana for 3yrs now. The school has great teachers and an exceptional admin. dept. With great leadership from principle to teacher they have shown our family a new way to look at our public schools. Great academic programs such as their Voyager reading & Vmath programs installed, has shown that extra step in caring for they're students. They offer after school Track & Basketball sports activities, which they take very seriously. Recently added, an award winning, Youth Robotics Club. Atmosphere is like attending a private school in a outer city environment. I can honestly say,if not for the parent involvement in the class room, on the sports court, with the students on and off campus, their time and effort in fundraising Kaumana Elementary School would not ranked,with me a 5 Star School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kaumana Elementary School
1710 Kaumana Dr, Hilo, HI  96720
(808) 974-4190
Last modified Kaumana Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kaumana Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top