Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waiakea High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1168 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2013

I graduated very well-prepared for college at a selective liberal arts college on the mainland. The teachers were very supportive and dedicated. Downside - lots of slackers and druggies, and some major cliques. But once you find your groove/niche, it's easy to focus on that and stay away from that nonsense.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2011

2 years for my younger granddaughter in this school and we pulled her out due to the horrible teachers at this school. While there are few teachers that do good, if your child gets stuck with a bad teacher for a certain course, it is quite difficult to get them with a good teacher. The counselors, or at least one that I have dealt with, seems to have little interest in the students. Most schools on the island are not so great, so we settled on online school which is a much better choice than any public school here. The teachers don't teach in a way that the students can understand and don't try to help you understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Although lacking in resources, Waiakea High School school is not lacking in quality as manifested by the dedication and passion of its teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I had three kids graduate from Waiakea High, all of whom were extremely different, and I do feel the majority of the teachers made a effort equally with all of them. I would not have sent them anywhere else and if I had not lived in the district, would have found a way to get them there. They were taught to make their way in a world where no one is accountable for their actions but themselves. Consequences were real and immediate. My son and his friends in the AP classes were challenged and provided opportunities for additional enrichment. My kids were provided a well-rounded education that private schools gcannot provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

I am proud to write this review for Waiakea High School. My child was well prepared for college. She thought some of her classes at Waiakea were actually more rigorous. We appreciate the well rounded education she received at Waiakea. As a student in the Health and Fitness Academy, she was exposed to a number of careers in the health profession. It really helped her to decide the University and major she eventually chose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Waiakea High has an all-star cast of teachers and an excellent administration. Many parents from out of district send their children to Waiakea to receive a quality education. They also have a dominant athletic program. From my experience, students that attend/have graduated from Waiakea are classier and are better prepared for the work force when compared to the average teenager around town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

waiakea high school is a great place to learn. the curriculum is excellent and the athletic program is untouchable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

School suffers from diversion of resources to meet NCLB and Hawaii's Act 51. Losers are the arts and sciences and high performing students. Winners, the average and below students who get more attention in an attempt to raise standards. I would not my child to this school if his/her interest lies in the arts, music to be exact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I am proud to send my child to Waiakea High School. They have a very dedicated staff and strong leadership in Mr. Koga. Waiakea has provided a well rounded education for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

A typical big Hawaii public school, with little or no interest in promoting academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2012.

299 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2012.

298 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 40% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 39% 34%
White 11% 14%
Two or more races 7% 8%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 West Kawili St
Hilo, HI 96720
Phone: (808) 974-4888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT