Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waiakea High School 1

Posted January 01, 2015
- a parent
I am very discouraged about this school. If the teachers decide that they do not like a student then they won't pass the student. Even if the student is really smart. Not a good way to go about teaching.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted March 23, 2013
- a student
I graduated very well-prepared for college at a selective liberal arts college on the mainland. The teachers were very supportive and dedicated. Downside - lots of slackers and druggies, and some major cliques. But once you find your groove/niche, it's easy to focus on that and stay away from that nonsense.


Waiakea High School 1

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
2 years for my younger granddaughter in this school and we pulled her out due to the horrible teachers at this school. While there are few teachers that do good, if your child gets stuck with a bad teacher for a certain course, it is quite difficult to get them with a good teacher. The counselors, or at least one that I have dealt with, seems to have little interest in the students. Most schools on the island are not so great, so we settled on online school which is a much better choice than any public school here. The teachers don't teach in a way that the students can understand and don't try to help you understand.

Waiakea High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Although lacking in resources, Waiakea High School school is not lacking in quality as manifested by the dedication and passion of its teachers.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
I had three kids graduate from Waiakea High, all of whom were extremely different, and I do feel the majority of the teachers made a effort equally with all of them. I would not have sent them anywhere else and if I had not lived in the district, would have found a way to get them there. They were taught to make their way in a world where no one is accountable for their actions but themselves. Consequences were real and immediate. My son and his friends in the AP classes were challenged and provided opportunities for additional enrichment. My kids were provided a well-rounded education that private schools gcannot provide.


Waiakea High School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
I am proud to write this review for Waiakea High School. My child was well prepared for college. She thought some of her classes at Waiakea were actually more rigorous. We appreciate the well rounded education she received at Waiakea. As a student in the Health and Fitness Academy, she was exposed to a number of careers in the health profession. It really helped her to decide the University and major she eventually chose.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
Waiakea High has an all-star cast of teachers and an excellent administration. Many parents from out of district send their children to Waiakea to receive a quality education. They also have a dominant athletic program. From my experience, students that attend/have graduated from Waiakea are classier and are better prepared for the work force when compared to the average teenager around town.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
waiakea high school is a great place to learn. the curriculum is excellent and the athletic program is untouchable.


Waiakea High School 2

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
School suffers from diversion of resources to meet NCLB and Hawaii's Act 51. Losers are the arts and sciences and high performing students. Winners, the average and below students who get more attention in an attempt to raise standards. I would not my child to this school if his/her interest lies in the arts, music to be exact.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
I am proud to send my child to Waiakea High School. They have a very dedicated staff and strong leadership in Mr. Koga. Waiakea has provided a well rounded education for my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waiakea High School
155 West Kawili St, Hilo, HI  96720
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (808) 974-4888
Last modified Waiakea High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top