Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waiakea High School 5

Posted March 23, 2013
- a student
I graduated very well-prepared for college at a selective liberal arts college on the mainland. The teachers were very supportive and dedicated. Downside - lots of slackers and druggies, and some major cliques. But once you find your groove/niche, it's easy to focus on that and stay away from that nonsense.

Waiakea High School 1

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
2 years for my younger granddaughter in this school and we pulled her out due to the horrible teachers at this school. While there are few teachers that do good, if your child gets stuck with a bad teacher for a certain course, it is quite difficult to get them with a good teacher. The counselors, or at least one that I have dealt with, seems to have little interest in the students. Most schools on the island are not so great, so we settled on online school which is a much better choice than any public school here. The teachers don't teach in a way that the students can understand and don't try to help you understand.


Waiakea High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Although lacking in resources, Waiakea High School school is not lacking in quality as manifested by the dedication and passion of its teachers.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
I had three kids graduate from Waiakea High, all of whom were extremely different, and I do feel the majority of the teachers made a effort equally with all of them. I would not have sent them anywhere else and if I had not lived in the district, would have found a way to get them there. They were taught to make their way in a world where no one is accountable for their actions but themselves. Consequences were real and immediate. My son and his friends in the AP classes were challenged and provided opportunities for additional enrichment. My kids were provided a well-rounded education that private schools gcannot provide.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Waiakea High School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
I am proud to write this review for Waiakea High School. My child was well prepared for college. She thought some of her classes at Waiakea were actually more rigorous. We appreciate the well rounded education she received at Waiakea. As a student in the Health and Fitness Academy, she was exposed to a number of careers in the health profession. It really helped her to decide the University and major she eventually chose.

Waiakea High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
Waiakea High has an all-star cast of teachers and an excellent administration. Many parents from out of district send their children to Waiakea to receive a quality education. They also have a dominant athletic program. From my experience, students that attend/have graduated from Waiakea are classier and are better prepared for the work force when compared to the average teenager around town.


Waiakea High School 5

Posted December 14, 2007
- a parent
waiakea high school is a great place to learn. the curriculum is excellent and the athletic program is untouchable.

Waiakea High School 1

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waiakea High School
155 West Kawili St, Hilo, HI  96720
(808) 974-4888
Last modified Waiakea High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waiakea High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top