Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public
Honokaa, HI
Students enrolled: 376

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Honokaa Elementary School 3

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
Honokaa Elementary is much better than, I believe Waimea Elementary, mental math isn't enforced, follow up/communication is very poor, I'd say with nearly all teachers. They have a stronger program, stronger than Middle and their High School, a lot of the Veteran's have retired :( Assuming, your child isn't a struggling learner. I do really like the VP and Principal (better than the previous), Admin is also very sweet. My main complaint is the communication w/ Elementary teachers, my child is a soaring grade level 2nd grader

Honokaa Elementary School 2

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Honokaa Elementary, my daughter is a gt student, she will figure it out, but what's the point in the teacher, if she's not doing her job?? my daughter has been coming home with new assigments and has no clue, as to what the steps are?? in grade 2, the communication is very poor with this teacher, is she that busy, she can't reply to an email, call, text, skype?! I was to she was a great teacher!!! hmmm, where do they get these teachers


Honokaa Elementary School 2

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Got rid of one bad Principal and now this one is getting to be as bad as the other one. Bullying and teasing is a problem. Don't send your gt kid here because they only care about the low kids.

Honokaa Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
The Teacher's are very caring and spend quality time with the kids. The staff are also very caring and once, the secretary actually walked my nephew across town to an appointment. The principal has also tried to put the children first and I have great respect for her. There has been issues with the faculty and administration and I hope for all concerned it will be resolved but I don't believe the students have been affected or are even aware of it. Overall, I believe the school is a great one and the students are able to grow and learn.

Honokaa Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Honokaa Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
There has been a 30% turnover rate of faculty for the year 2007. Something is amiss and sense that it ia serious. Unless it is corrected the ratings will be come lower and more teachers will leave. The overall impact on the students ability to learn will be negatively impacted.

Honokaa Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Honokaa Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2007
- a staff
Honokaa Elementary school follows the states HCPSIII, was given the honor of being a Standards in Actions School and is moving forward with a definate academic plan. Some art and music is offered during the school day, and then supplimented after school throught the NHCLC 21st Cen grant program for after achool activities.Parents are getting involved when ever they are given an opportunity. Family events are quite successful with good attendance.


Honokaa Elementary School 1

Posted August 01, 2006
- a parent
Poor acedemics programs, bad communication between parents and administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Honokaa Elementary School
45534 Pakalana St, Honokaa, HI  96727
(808) 775-8820
Last modified Honokaa Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Honokaa Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top