Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moanalua Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 689 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

My son attended this school for the first half of kindergarden and we ended up moving west to buy a new home. I strongly believe it's the teacher that makes the difference. We loved his old teacher because she went beyond what was expected and cared for her students. We weren't able to have him return because they do a lottery for students with a GE and he didn't get chosen. Hopefully next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

This school may have been good at one time but ever since my child has been here, I have been disgusted and frustrated with a lot of the administration and staff, especially the VP. My child's 2nd grade teacher was lazy and a scatterbrain, losing homework and our payment for the yearbook. I heard a lot of complaints about the VP but never had a run in with her until this year, she talks nice but is very condescending and seems to have a power trip. Thank goodness they finally found a good principal after all the turn overs. Maybe he can help the people get better character and educate them on people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Teachers at Moanalua learn everyones names even the parents, great curriculum, and dedication of teachers. This school goes on many fun field trips too! This school was awesome- I am so sad we had to go to Fort Shafter Elementry- which is no where near the great experience of Moanalua
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

Awesome school for my two daughters. The Hawaii public school system isn't the greatest, but there are great school such as Moanalua Elementary that raises the bar. The staff, teachers, and administrators are great. Like anything else, if you get involved as a parent then the school will become better. I highly recommend getting involved in the PTA. My kindergarten and 2nd grader really love the school. With respect to academic achievement, we work with our children on their homework which is very appropriate and challenging for the respective grade levels. We have nothing but praise for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Not too impressed with this school. This school gets great ratings because the children retake the state and Aims tests 3 times and the highest score is counted. Many teachers are too old to keep up with their class and the demands of this generation. Which creates a boring learning enviroment, bullies, and lots of lost library books even when you turn them in. Lunch staff is horribly mean and will allow bullying because children aren't allowed to speak up. The A+ (before and after school care) program is great but terribly expensive. There is only band/choir for the A+ students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

My son attended kindergarden and elementary here. The staff is the best. They are very involved and work hard to get parents involved as well. I was always informed of my sons progress. He needed speech therapy and by the end of 1st grade, I could hardly tell he ever needed it. I miss the speech therapist and special ed teachers! They were extremely wonderful and do not even compare with the school he is in now (in Alabama). Thanks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

My son has been going to this school for two years now. It is one of the best in the district. We are pleased with the academics and the nurturing environment. The PTA is the best I have ever encountered. We are a military family, so I want to encourage other military families to get involved in the school. The cultural diversity is a gift , with an added opportunity to meet some terrific people. I have seen too many parents unsure of where there place is at the school. Get involved and definitely go the school functions. They are worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

My daughter is currently in Kindergarten. There are only 22 students in her class. She has an excellent, caring, and nurturing teacher. My daughter is in a K-1 Enrichment Language Arts class (like GT). We appreciate the EXTRA that MES provides for their students. The school menu is better than a lot of restaurants! Kudos to the A+ Program. The A+ staff devotes themselves to the kids. Their creative crafts and high energy dance class makes it a place where kids WANT to be! MES is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Our children attended kindergarden and 1st grade at Moanalua elementary. Fair teachers and a good school. But the teacher to ratio was too high, there was 26 - 28 kids in kindergarden, and 27-29 kids in 1st grade. Very difficult for a child to learn with a teacher to student that high. We are currently looking at private schools with a lower teacher to student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

I am grateful to have my two sons here at Moanalua Elementary. They have had all fine teachers so far and high success in reading, math and other subject areas. They have enjoyed access to a variety of fine activities such as the free strings program, one of the best overall A+ afterschool programs around, the annual Fun Fair which brings the entire community together, fine arts and technology classes. There is a gifted and talented program, a preschool special ed. program, and each grade level sponsors special standards-based interdisciplinary projects such as drama musicals, overnight camps, and small business teams. There are multiple opportunities for parental involvement which really helps to make this school strong. Families with children attending on geographic exceptions like mine are glad to be part of this school and are usually especially strong supporters. My children look forward to eating school breakfast and lunch everyday.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 55% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 16% 34%
Two or more races 16% 8%
Hispanic 6% 6%
White 6% 14%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1337 Mahiole St
Honolulu, HI 96819
Phone: (808) 831-7878

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT