Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Makalapa Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2013

This School is Very good. But it has downsides. 1 being that the classrooms are smashed together. Also, being a resident of Hawaii i know we don't have air conditioning. But This is a school I think it should need to have something in the budget for air conditioning in the other rooms besides the office.


Posted April 11, 2012

This is a great school. Three of my four boys went here and they loved it. The teachers are very caring and will communicate with you constantly. I still keep in touch with some of them now even though we no longer live in Hawaii. I wish all teachers wanted to see kids succeed in life like these teachers do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

I have 4 kids my oldest child went to this school since grade k till the 6th grade but now in intermediate. He still often goes by to visit his teachers. My other 3 kids are still attending this school and they love it!! I myself has attended this school since 1st grade.The teachers here treat each student equally. They focus on your childs weak points and help them out 1 on 1. During the furloughs Makalapa has started a program with permission and choice from parents with an afterschool program where students stay in an extra hour or so of learning since fridays have no school. I was shocked that the teachers involved in this program was doing it from their own time and not because they were required to do it. Which I appreciate deeply! Thats how dedicated the teachers are in this school. Even without the program before the program even started teachers would stay after with students who needed help with work or with students who needed to catch up with work. Which i really love! With great teachers the school is a clean enviroment.The principal,teachers,office and cafeteria staffs,including the janitors are VERY friendly!Overall the best school for your child or children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

Great school. Well rounded curriculum. Nice facilities. Friendly staff. Only issue is that parents need to be more involved in their children's education- it shouldn't just be left up to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

Teachers have been so very helpful in promoting important life learning academic skills & a rewarding approach to promote positive learning for my two boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Best school with the best teachers. My daughter went there K-6 and every teacher was very caring and was always there for my child. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

I love this school! The teachers are great with the kids, and the administration is so helpful. The campus is beautifully kept. My daughter is having a great time and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

Makalapa is a very good school, so long as you as a parent are very involved with your childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

Parents beware! I moved to get out of sending my kids to another year of school here! There is horrible racial issues here. Their aren't separate classrooms, you have like 4 different classes in the same large room only separated by bookshelves. The teachers are horrible also. Don't send your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I have 3 children currently attending this school. They all seem to be happy with there teachers. I especially enjoy how the teachers try and focus on my childrens strong points and push them to do their best. On the other hand the classroom setup is a total negative. How can the children concentrate when there are 3 other classrooms right around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Every child's success in school depends on parental involvement. Whenever I approach the principal or staff for help, they have been cooperative and quick to respond favorably. I've noticed an increase in parental involvement this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2006

My family experience with Makalapa was a totally nightmare. I would never recommend this school. I home school now and it is great. I am a long time resident of Hawaii and am stunned with our public school system. A big waste of taxpayers dollars. No encouragement for parents to get envolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2006

My daughter has been in Makalapa since Kinder and now for these school year she will be 6th Grade and never I had a problem that the staff of Makalapa had not solve I am always been satisfied over all with Makalapa from the principal down to the maintenance staff. my hands are for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

My son is in 3rd grade and he does not read well , I told the school he need more help so his teacher tell's him ' just write each word 5 time each ' when I asked my son what the word's are he said ' I don't know , I just have to write them ' I'm sorry , but I think it would help if they new what they where doing . He couldn't even tell me one of his spelling words . When my son was getting hit every day from some boy , the principal did nothing for 2 months . I would give them an F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

This school is absolutely a dreadful dump. I am very unhappy with the quality of the teachers, resources and overall curriculum. This is a terrible place for children. Many concerns for health and safety. It takes screaming to get minimal tasks to be initiated. Parking/Pick-up is a total nightmare and paying for bus services for public schools is a total joke. Children are behind on normal education levels. Holidays for Asian beliefs are taught and neglect normal events for AMERICAN Children. Worst of all, I don't think it's better at any other school on the island. Teachers and staff are hard to understand and do not teach proper english. Extremely fusterating to have conversations with ANY staff I've met. I can only imagine how students feel. I'd suggest to anyone who can homeschool, they truly should!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

My son's teacher seems to not like her job and was not open to give him help when he needed. Very little communication between class and home.His 6th grade teacher was much better at making a conection with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

I attend Makalapa Elementry it is a very nice learning enviorment. It is my first year there and I've learned so much already. I highly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 34%
White 20% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 17% 34%
Two or more races 16% 8%
Black 11% 2%
Hispanic 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4435 Salt Lake Blvd
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 421-4110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT