Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 184 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2012

We have been involved with Shafter for 5 years and I have so much awesome things to say about the staff at the school. The teachers are easily accessible and sincerely care about my kids. I am blessed with the staff and can not say one bad thing about them. They work closely with the kids with a passion rather than "just a job" and it hows. Its as if my kids go to a private school though its a public school. If I had any concerns they were address right away. Im not sure about the person who posted a rating earlier -- but I love this school and I only wish it went to a higher grade than 6th. I will be looking for a private school after my son finishes 6th grade. I am in awe of Shafter and would and do tell everyone how great they are. Thank you to the staff at Shafter who are very personable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Pick up/drop off is very important because kids are running around everywhere and pushing each other into the street! That is a HUGE concern! The principal avoids all issues and I guess only helps out with the special needs children, which is good because the students are getting beat up being in the same class as special ed kids. They'll be working on classwork and get a book thrown at their head from a "special needs student" because they are in the same classroom as everyone else. My kids used to love school until they came here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

There are more important things to worry about with your kids going to school then whether or not you have to park your car when dropping your kids off (in reference to another parent's comment). I'm grateful for the MPs who stand out in front of the school as I certainly feel my kid is safer for it. The teachers and staff are extremely caring and professional. My son is a first grader with special needs and his teacher couldn't be more incredible! The principle, Ms. Martin, is outstanding, as is the entire office staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Great curriculum! Our son made an easy academic transition to TX schools. Not sure why the parent who wrote the most recent reviews was not happy with the curriculum. Our son attended Shafter Elementary from 2007 - 2010. He made the equivalent of As and Bs in all subjects during his time at Shafter Elementary. He transitioned to the Fort Sam Houston Elementary in 2010 and made straight As as a 4th grader. He changed schools again this year to a highly rated public school in San Antonio and is making straight As as a 5th grader. The curriculum at Shafter Elementary (while he attended) was every bit as good as the curriculum at Hardy Oak Elementary (which he now attends) and much better than the curriculum at Fort Sam Houston Elementary. I cannot imagine there being a significant decline in such a short amount of time. All of my friends who have PCSd from Fort Shafter have also said their children made easy transitions to mainland schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

The school got a new principal since 2010 and 5 times more students due to tons of new housing. That is why 2011 and 2012 reviews aren't the same as 2010- a lot has changed in a very short time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

Pick up drop off is coordinated by an MP that will give tickets if you are not parked in a stall. There are no stalls to park in by the way- which leads to many tickets! The principal should be outside putting kids in the car and keeping the line moving. There should be no parked cars or MP's! The teachers just stand out there sleeping while people are getting tickets for picking up their kids! This is horrible- combined with a terrible curriculum- I wish we stayed at MoanaLua elementry!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

This school is great! It was a smooth transition for both my children. The staff is very involved and my children are motivated and happy. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Shafter elementary is an awesome school. What makes thw school is the staff that they have. .. all the staff are friendly and my son is not lost in the crowd- the school is small (less than 200 students) but ALIVE with many activities throughout the school year. My son loves scool because of this environment! !! The staff are always available and are top notch in teaching! !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I came from Germany and this school helped me very much by getting used to the new country. By having great teachers and staff.


Posted July 30, 2008

Bad school...This school has a very bad curriculum. She is doing work that she did in school (in texas) the year before. I feel like my daughter has lost a year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

This is a very small elementary school (less than 200 students) serving children pre-K to 6th grade. This school is within the gates of Ft. Shafter, and serves primarily military children. Because of the small amount of children who attend here, the staff always are able to find time to help a struggling child, or to help a gifted one to be challenged. My son has spent the last 3 years here, and I am going to be sorry to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

My children have gone to many schools and this is one of my favorite. This school mainly consists of military children, so the school is aware of the needs of some military families. It's a small school (approx.200) so a lot of the staff knows most of this kids by name. The school is very welcoming to new students and their parents. I have never seen any staff member being mean to any parent. They are all very friendly and helpful. The kids are not afraid of, but respect the principal. She is very involved with the children. Unfortunately, she is retiring. They now have all new textbooks. The children have more extra curricular activities compared to some other schools. You have to pay to ride the school bus no matter which school you attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 14%
Black 18% 2%
Two or more races 13% 8%
Hispanic 12% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Fort Shafter
Honolulu, HI 96819
Phone: (808) 832-3560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Anthony School
Honolulu, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT