Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Major General William R Shafter Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
Doesnt support military families even though on a military installation. Residences on shafter were lied to when they said could keep our children in shafter elem.

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
Parks residences on shafter were given the option to move into brand new housing on tripler. None that applied for the GE to cont. At shafter got approval. Every single one was denied. This school doesnt support military families at all. After more than 2 years at shafter we are required to move schools even though live 10 mins away.


Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 1

Posted December 17, 2015
- a parent
The school administration does not support military families and is out of touch with their needs. What makes this school great are the Military families not the administration. We make great sacrifices for our country and we only expect a little in return for our families. This is not a personal attack on the administration because they had the authority and opportunity to change the situation which is described below. This is an honest thread that needs to be heard and read. Military families were given an opportunity to move into new housing at Tripler village from old cramped housing (10 mins away but not in this schools zone). The Principal would not allow affected students to remain in the school for the remainder of the tour (1.5years on avg) or grant a geographical exception. This impacted only 10 students. This shows how out of touch the administration is with the needs of the military family. They are not concerned with how often children change schools and the toll that takes on them. The concern is with the current over enrollment of the school, 10 students was not asking much and the situation would have leveled out in less than 2 years. The administration did however allow students to remain until the end of the current year but by the time most families move into new homes, that "generous" offer would equate to 1-2 months most. There is no reason why an exception could not have been made to allow the children to remain until they PCS in less than 2 years. The school servicing Tripler village is also crowded and the student to teacher ratio is about the same. There is no team work or logic with the decision making. Be very cautious when asking for something exceptional with this school administration because they are only concerned with their own agenda.

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
I have to agree with what the others are saying. My son started first grade this year and overall he's had a wonderful experience. Coming from Germany, and having to switch from 4 different schools in under two years can have a negative impact. My son has excelled dramatically in less than 5 months! Thanks to his teachers! Schools academic foundation is a step-up from others. They offer a robotics club and YMCA after school program on their campus. Principal, counselor and the rest of the staff are very involved. From safety to academics there one-step ahead of other surrounding schools. Thanks for taking care of our Military families!

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school. I highly recommend it. From the principal to the staff to the teacherstore everyone very involved. It's like a private school only it's public school. We came from fort riley an a private school st xaviers catholic school. It's not as personable as catholic school was but I've never seen a principal doing traffic control twice daily like here at shafter elementary school.


Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2012
- a parent
We have been involved with Shafter for 5 years and I have so much awesome things to say about the staff at the school. The teachers are easily accessible and sincerely care about my kids. I am blessed with the staff and can not say one bad thing about them. They work closely with the kids with a passion rather than "just a job" and it hows. Its as if my kids go to a private school though its a public school. If I had any concerns they were address right away. Im not sure about the person who posted a rating earlier -- but I love this school and I only wish it went to a higher grade than 6th. I will be looking for a private school after my son finishes 6th grade. I am in awe of Shafter and would and do tell everyone how great they are. Thank you to the staff at Shafter who are very personable!

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 1

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
Pick up/drop off is very important because kids are running around everywhere and pushing each other into the street! That is a HUGE concern! The principal avoids all issues and I guess only helps out with the special needs children, which is good because the students are getting beat up being in the same class as special ed kids. They'll be working on classwork and get a book thrown at their head from a "special needs student" because they are in the same classroom as everyone else. My kids used to love school until they came here.

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
There are more important things to worry about with your kids going to school then whether or not you have to park your car when dropping your kids off (in reference to another parent's comment). I'm grateful for the MPs who stand out in front of the school as I certainly feel my kid is safer for it. The teachers and staff are extremely caring and professional. My son is a first grader with special needs and his teacher couldn't be more incredible! The principle, Ms. Martin, is outstanding, as is the entire office staff!


Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
Great curriculum! Our son made an easy academic transition to TX schools. Not sure why the parent who wrote the most recent reviews was not happy with the curriculum. Our son attended Shafter Elementary from 2007 - 2010. He made the equivalent of As and Bs in all subjects during his time at Shafter Elementary. He transitioned to the Fort Sam Houston Elementary in 2010 and made straight As as a 4th grader. He changed schools again this year to a highly rated public school in San Antonio and is making straight As as a 5th grader. The curriculum at Shafter Elementary (while he attended) was every bit as good as the curriculum at Hardy Oak Elementary (which he now attends) and much better than the curriculum at Fort Sam Houston Elementary. I cannot imagine there being a significant decline in such a short amount of time. All of my friends who have PCSd from Fort Shafter have also said their children made easy transitions to mainland schools.

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
The school got a new principal since 2010 and 5 times more students due to tons of new housing. That is why 2011 and 2012 reviews aren't the same as 2010- a lot has changed in a very short time!

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Major General William R Shafter Elementary School
2 Fort Shafter, Honolulu, HI  96819
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (808) 832-3560
Last modified Major General William R Shafter Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top