Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salt Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 814 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I attended this school from K-5th grade, throughout my years in the school I had a very bad experience during this time. I got bulled throughout my years and I have reported it to couple teachers, but they never did care and shrugged it off their shoulders and told me to get away from them. I remember one time I was getting pushed around in the morning and the old lady that was standing and looking out on the ramp outside of the cafeteria was just standing there watching me getting pushed around thinking we were playing around. After that I fell and hit my head on the concrete. Parents I wouldn't recommend this school to your kids but if you have to then watch your kids closely because teachers wouldn't look out for your kids.


Posted April 9, 2012

This school is a safe place for learning and my children love going here. I would be more impressed if the academics were more challenging. There are some excellent teachers at this school and some that are not. Unfortunately, I'm disappointed with the teacher my daughter has this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My child had currently been attending Salt Lake elementary school. When she comes home from school I see the anticapation in her like she already wanting to go back to school. I am not very well educated, so when I brought her to Salt lake Elementary school, she's been teaching me more of the english grammars and language once she come home. They do have many after school programs that help them learn more. Like my daugter for example. She is wanting to join more and more activitys this year. Now she is in JPO,track,challenger, and she wants to join the math team once the quarter comes in. I would definitely recommend other parent I know of that has a child about to attend kindergarden to Go to Salt Lake Elemtary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I was impressed by the principal who is enthusiastic to improve the school. The school actively participate outside events and competitions with other schools and the principal always with the kids at the event and support them when I cant find any principals from other schools. He greets students in the morning and stays late at school to be available to parents. I am not happy with the staff at the office though... Most of them are unfriendly. Even though we dont see significant improvement at this point, we should be patient more. As long as my daughter is happy at school and with her friends, I am happy too. There are lots of activities and after-class groups for students to join. My kid is joining math team, bible study and Robotics (last year). I believe this school will be graded above 8 soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

I have two children enrolled in this school. And I have been greatly encouraged by a core group of faculty led by the principal who are progressive, dedicated professional educators. They as well as the parents, have to work with and around the older union 'time punching' teachers which are rife within and throughout the Hawaii Public School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

The office staff is the most unfriendly and unhelpful staff I've ever encountered! This sets a terrible example for our children and I cringe to think how they treat our children when they go to the office for help. The academics at Waikele challenged my son a lot more than at Salt Lake. His homework seems to have gone a step backward. I think their needs to be a review of the curriculum and teaching methods. He brings work home that has been corrected with a 'smiley face' and there are all kinds of mistakes on it that we have to go over with him. I don't think they actually check the school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

The Principal greets the children in the morning before school and as they go home. He is highly visible and easy to talk to. My son's teacher this year had great ways to get the children involved in their work and helped many children after school if they wanted help with any subject. My son looked forward to going to school daily. Thanks Ms. Loo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

This is my child's first year in 3rd grade at this school. I have brought my concerns to the principal, but to this date, haven't seen any marked improvement in teaching style, amount of homework according to school handbook, nor the lack of discipline for naughty students. On the outside, as a school, it looks like they are trying but they still have a long way to go. If I had to make one suggestion regarding the office staff, it would be to have them trained better in customer relations. They represent the school. First impressions are lasting impressions!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

My daughter is currently attending this school. Last year I wasn't impressed with the academics and the teacher. I still heard good things from other parents and thought that maybe she just didn't have a good teacher and her next year might be better. I was wrong. The children are learning the same things over and over and there is no follow through with her present teacher. This has been noted and brought to the proper attention to no avail. I still try to do my best in participating and not leaving my daughter out of activities, but it is getting harder when your confidence and faith is not fully into the school. Overall, it's not the worst school, but there is room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 55% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 18% 34%
Two or more races 18% 8%
White 4% 14%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1131 Ala Lilikoi St
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 831-7870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Christian Academy
Honolulu, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT