Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl Harbor Kai Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

Well, unfortunately what you read about Hawaii public schools are true, and PHK is no different. This has to be one of the worst schools my kids have EVER attended. To start off, there is no security in place on campus. Any Tom, Dick or Harry can freely walk onto the abundance of unsecured entries on campus, no questions asked. What irks me the most about this school is that its apparent that they are just marking off their to-do list of academic goals to reach for the year, regardless of how much or how little your student is understanding. My daughter had one of the "nicest" 5th grade teachers. Sure she's nice, but she easily let her slip right on through the cracks of the school system. My daughter is assigned 5-9 pages of just math homework a night. Her teacher has the students correct their work in class on their own, never to see the homework herself again until test day. Then when it came time for tests, that was the only time the teacher discovered how much she didn't understand. Too little, too late and once again, they just moved on to the next chapter never to touch upon the methods she just failed. No child left behind? PLEASE!!! This school is a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

I have so far been very impressed with this school. First, I am always greeted with a smile when going into the front office. Everyone in there is extremely nice and helpful. When I was a kid, each class had 1 teacher to 20-25 students. There were no volunteers or helpers. At PHK, there are many helpers everywhere! The extra hands do so much for these kids. I also love that they let the kids help out as crossing guards (they pay them!) and they let them help out in the cafeteria. I saw one comment where they complained that volunteers didn't have food licenses...I don't know about that, but they wear plastic over their hair and they wear gloves. I love that the kids have a hand in helping the school run. Everyone working together. I went to eat lunch with my son one day and I love the food they serve! I think it is so much better (and healthier) than the cafeteria lunches I had as a kid. There are always going to be "better" schools, not everyone will be happy with this school. It is a very safe school, imo. They take measures to ensure the safety of the kids (why I love all of the volunteers).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

There are positive and negative aspects of this school (as with most schools). Overall I think the positive outweighs negative. The teachers here have been wonderful! Very caring and focused on the children. The school does not have art class and the 'specials' (PE, music, library and computer) are all done on one day, rotating every eight days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

Lots of military kids go here so the support is great for parents who are active duty. Teachers are great, attentive and concerned for the kids. I've also witnessed many over the top parents who criticize without putting forth effort themselves. I never feel that school alone is enough, I also follow up at home and ensure my child knows what he is doing. Teachers have a huge issue with rude and disrespectful children. While parents often take the side of their children without knowing the negative behaviors of their child, the true problems begins at home and if parents can't control their children how can teachers or staff? My children are very obedient and know they are at school to learn. I don't blame the teachers for focusing on only those who want to learn, they don't have time to deal with delinquents whose parents don't give enough hoot to get their kid on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I have two children attending PHK. Both teachers we have are very caring. My youngest son really loves his teacher and seems to be really liking school more than he did with preschool. My oldest makes really good grades and wants to learn. I think parents need to take responsibility for their children's education also. We work together on homework daily and make sure to read at home. This school has been very good to both of my kids this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

We are a military family. My child attended PHK for 2 yrs (K and 1st grade from 2010-2012). I was never impressed with this school. I checked out nearby private schools because of my dissatisfaction with PHK, but the tuition was more than we could afford. We moved to Virginia Beach, VA overy summer 2012. I had no idea what LOW quality teaching my child was getting at PHK, until my child started public school in VA. My child was student of the quarter at PHK, & got ALL above ave. grades at PHK. I THOUGHT my child was receiving a satisfactory education. I was terribly wrong! Within the 1st 2 wks of school in VA, my child's teacher notified me that my child is reading BELOW grade level & will need extra help. I am grateful for the extra help, but I am SO ANGRY that my child is behind in school and needs to "catch up" because of poor quality teaching at PHK, and I beleive in most public schools in HI. My child tells me regularly how much more she likes school here, & how her teacher is nicer because she doesn't "yell" like her PHK teacher did. The curriculum appears to be the same in both places; but the VA teacher "teaches", & doesn't just drill mindlessly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

This school is awful. My child only attended a single semester at this school and when they re-zoned I was thrilled. I was given an out for my child without having to apply for a GE. The teacher my child had was devoid of any nurturing instinct and repeatedly yelled during instruction. My child completely regressed after entering this school. Since the new year, and new school has come, we are finally excited about school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Reading the latest comments about this school does not do this school justice. Personally I think those rude comments are written by a few who just want to make waves. If you have any issues or problems with any school you need to bring it to their attention so improvements can happen. If you only grumble, you cannot help the situation for your child. Isn't the bottom line your child? It is for me. I get involved and attend Coffee Hours when I can, communicate often and clearly with my teachers and ask even the "silliest" questions for clarification. Every school will have their stumbling blocks and adjustments when there is new administration. Having the vice principal step up to be the principal provides some continuity to the school and my understanding is that the temporary vice principal step forward to help because no one else did. This school shows commitment to the children and I support them 100%. Like I mentioned earlier, get involved with your child's education so you too can understand the school system in Hawaii. It isn't as bad as our friends tell us before we get to Hawaii. They actually do care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

If I could give a negative rating, I would! Everything about this school is awful!!!! Be prepared to work with not only incompetent, unqualified (meaning teachers "teaching" without so much as an Associates degree!) and flat out rude people (VICE PRINCIPAL & SECRETARIES!). This new principal does not know what he is doing, nor does he know how to resolve any legitimate complaint made by a parent. Mainland military families be prepared for an outrageous amount of fundraisers and an insanely long school supply list! Yeah, the uniforms are a plus, but do yourself a favor and avoid this train wreck of a school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Love this school!!! My son has been going here for 3 years and was so happy to find out my daughter will be here for kindergarten next semester. The teachers are caring and great. Office staff is outstanding. Principal is doing a great job and always has time to talk to parents. Communication between school and parents is top notch!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

My oldest graduated in 2008 and now we are looking at Kindergarten. I just read the rating and it went down to a #6 from when we left in 2008 I think it was a #8 or 9. I see that the 6th graders performance took a nose dive as well with the new leadership. I do recall that the current principal was the assistant back then, and a really pleasant person. The current assistant principal was some sort of clerk in the front office back in 2008 and as I recall caused a lot of stress where ever she appeared, so reading one parents comment on the stressed teachers, i can relate. I think we are going to use a GE and try Moanalua Elementary another school in the military complex area. Good luck to this school, I hope they catch themselves before it gets worse. To be fair, a school is always just as good as the community makes it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I LOVE THESE SCHOOL FOR THE CARING TEACHERS! THEY INVOLVE THE PARENTS. WE HAD AN ISSUE WITH ANOTHER STUDENT & PARENTS, THEY WORKED HARD TO RESOLVE IT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

this school is horrible the bathrooms are unsanitary with no soap and paper towels the principal is extremely rude and disrespectful he doesn't like returning phone call i can wait to leave this area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

We have had our kids at PHK for about 2 months. My son is autistic, and I have to say they have been really good about finding what environments work best for him, and truly seem like they 'like' him, and enjoy him being in class, even if he is a challenge. I am not thrilled at the recent choice to cut school days for the budget via furlough days. However, PHK seems like they are trying to adjust so the kids are not negatively affected by the states choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We've been at PHK for 4 years now as GE's. This is THE elementary school in the area to send your kids to. They are a National Blue Ribbon school, Hawaii Distinguished School and accreditted by WASC, something MOST of the other elementaries in the state can't stay. The principal is very invovled and caring, the PCNC is fantastic and the staff and teachers all care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Extrememly dissapointed in this school. They are so worried about meeting the state standards that they have lost sight of the children. Unprofessional teachers, out of control volunteer system, and low budget gets them poor rating from this parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

My daughter goes to the special needs PK. She has been in it now for a year. The improvement with her has been wonderful. I can't say enough good things about this school. They are supportive and very helpful. I am glad that my son will be starting kindergarten this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

My nephew is a special needs student at Harbor Kai. He loves his teachers and especially his aide they comunicate every day about his behavior and progress. Overall the administration is very supportive and available. I have seen a vast improvement in my nephew's reading ability and behavior.


Posted April 13, 2009

My family absolutely LOVES this school! My son attends PHK on a GE from another school district. The teachers, staff, and especially the principle are amazing! The teachers are focused on the students and their success. when my son needed extra attention the school stepped in and together we made a plan. Our Principle is always available to anyone who needs her and is often found walking around campus in the mornings as well as afternoons chatting with parents and students. Our PTO is also wonderful! They have raised over 10,000.00 dollars this year and are always availale to help out. I think that this will be our favorite school forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

This used to be a great school. However, the current principal has run it into the ground. I would like to know how people (PTO especially) who don't have college degrees can be hired to sub. How can a PCNC and parent volunteers without food service certification cut up fruits in the school kitchen and then serve them to kids? Where's the accountability? Where are the credentials? It seems like this school is all about the money and don't care about the kids. The teachers and support services (especially Speech) are wonderful. It's just that the administration is more interested in spending $16,000 on office furniture than much needed curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 14%
Two or more races 17% 8%
Hispanic 16% 6%
Black 15% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 C Ave
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 421-4245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Assets School
Honolulu, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT