Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl Harbor Kai Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2008

Very pleased with the school. Teachers care and the principal is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My child graduated in 2008, and I will be forever grateful to the 6th grade teachers. The rest of the school has serious challenges ahead, because the poor leadership trickles down to create a poor atmosphere. All parents are good for is fundraising, there is no transparency however as to what the money is spent on, it just disappears into a black hole... parents have to supply many school supplies on top of all of the fundraising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

I think this school is one of the best in the state!! To have a first son be able to do the kind of math a sixth grader does... Is amazing to me!!! And for all those who think differently , I dare you to send your children to another school...... Seriously! Compared to the others in hawaii Including some other private schools, The teachers here are well trained including the EAs .


Posted November 29, 2007

Pearl Harbor Kai is one of the best schools that I have seen. The teachers at this school are a group of caring and understanding teachers that show time and patience for their students. My grandchildren love Pearl Harbor Kai and have wonderful memories of the years they have attended and are attending at this school. Having three children and two step daughters, that are grown and doing really well in life, I think the growth of my grandchildren is on the same path. All my grandchildren have gone to Pearl Harbor Kai from kindegarten to sixth grade. The principal and Vice principal should be nonimated for the Principal of the year awards. Thank you for always being there....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Compared to my daughters last school this school is perfect. The kids in her class are well behaved, and seem to be ahead of the average curve. There are some things Im not a fan of. 1st- there is no bus for us, and we live over .5 miles. There is no air in the room and the set up of the building doesn't allow much air to circulate. Other wise perfect school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

The schools focus is on passing the Hawaiian State Tests, that is it, no more no less. There is no art curriculum, although the children are graded on their report cards. Every two weeks there is CLOMP, computer, library, music and PE and this is something that the children look forward to, because it is fun. Parent involvement is very low, maybe because the majority is miliary and transitional, it is unfortunate however, because it could enhance the school spirit. Teachers are professional and fair, but the bar is not held high for achievement. If I knew this when I signed my child up, I would have probably asked for a GE to Nimitz, because it seems there is more spirit and fun at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I think that this school has been very supportive of parents and students. The principal and PCNC have been wonderful to work with and have accepted any and all volunteer help from parents that walk through their doors. Getting our new PTA/PTO going is going to be a great step forward for our wonderful school! Parents being on campus and being involved in the children's education is very important. Our teachers, principal, PCNC, PTA/PTO, and other staff members I'm sure would all agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

I believe that the school is a nice school but when folks such as the PCNC and school administrators work against the PTA, the kids are the ones who suffer. I think that the PCNC/school admin need to re-evaluate their mission statements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

My experience with PHK hasn't been the best. There have been a lot of changes in the past years at the school. The administrative change hasn't been the best. I think the Principal is not there for the children, parents or school. I have seen the school drop programs that encouraged the children to do well, just to save money. The school does the bare minimal to get by academically. As far as PCNC, and PTA, parent volunteers, they seem a little clicky and not very inviting to an outsider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

As a parent of three children attending PHK I have had many opportunities to volunteer on campus. In addition to the usual activities of chaperoning field trips and class activities. I have had the pleasure of assisting with back to school activities, book sales, family fun fairs, and May day activities. I have been priviledged to assist classroom teachers by making copies, reading to students and many other activities. I have also been able to bake bread with the Kindergarten and make Christmas ornaments with 2nd graders. My experience with the principal has been nothing but positive, she has the best interest of the students as her primary goal, supports the teachers and allows parents to assist as is appropriate. I know that in the past the PTA has had space on campus but due to upcoming renovations that space is not longer available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

Parents are not wanted in this school. PTA and parent volunteers have been kicked off campus. Teachers are great as well as support. Principal and PCNC are horrible! Parents want to be involved but are not welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

My son fully enjoyed this school. Admittedly, there were a few problems initally with the special ed program and ONE of its teachers. But that teachers deficiences were eventually found out and she was fired. After that my experience has been very positive. The parent and teacher communication is very open and interactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

Parent involvement is visibile. All stakeholders promote a nurturing, learning community. Students' progress are systematically monitored. This school is accredited by WASC.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 1, 2006

If you have children with special education needs, do not send your child/children to this school. We have encountered hostility, threats, and down-right rudeness from the school when trying to get a 504/IEP followed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Good school. teachers involved with all students progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

No school is perfect but my son's sixth grade teacher is by far one of the best he's had. She and the other staff members care greatly about the whole child and their learning. When my son arrived after school had been in session for two weeks, she made sure he was accepted by his peers and was able to indegrate into the student population. Some may think this isn't as important as academics but an unhappy A student often becomes an unhappy D student. This thought seems to be shared by most of the faculty and overall leads to a better emotional experience for kids as well as academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I was very concerned about our move to Hawaii because of the schools here. I heard both good and bad reviews of the school system. I was pleased with this school and the attention my children received here. Both of their teachers addressed concerns in a timely manner and worked with myself and my husband to help our children succeed. I definitely recommend this school to my friends who are looking to move here. The teachers are caring and well educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

My child came from being the top five in her school to falling below average by attending this school. The school is very behind in education as the states. So please look into other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

As a teacher and parent I think I know a little bit. I loved working at the school and my child loved attending. In fact, after working there a year I took my daughter out of private school and enrolled her there. She excelled beyond what was expected. She cried on days she was too sick to go because she wanted to be in class. She ended the year 3 grade levels above what her reading level should be and had excellent report cards. Every school has its share of problems but the staff worked hard for the kids and it showed. I was pleased with the quality and I am pretty picky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

Very poor teacher student ratio. Too much focus on cultural studies, ie: learning to count in chinese, hawaiian customs, etc... Children fall through the cracks too easily at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 14%
Two or more races 17% 8%
Hispanic 16% 6%
Black 15% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 C Ave
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 421-4245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Assets School
Honolulu, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT