Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pearl Harbor Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Teachers disengaged and uninterested in helping kids with issues and grades. In the words if my 3rd graders teacher "well your military, and will be gone in 2 years so it's not my problem."

Pearl Harbor Elementary School 4

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. My child attended here for 2 years and I was very involved. They have a wonderful morning exercise routine in the morning which the kids all respond well to, and parents are welcomed to stay and watch the 15 minute session. Most of the staff are very friendly and go beyond basic teaching strategies to ensure success. Parent participation is encouraged all over the school. The after school pick up is very organized. This school has a very welcoming atmosphere. The Special Education Dept is exceptional, better than any other school my child has attended. IEP meetings are very thorough and translate nicely to other school districts.


Pearl Harbor Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a teacher
The staff at this school is wonderful. The women in the front office and warm and caring. They greet everyone with a smile no matter how busy their day has been. The teachers and administration are student focused and put the needs of their students first.

Pearl Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a parent
I was skeptical about public schools in Hawaii. I believe that many parents don't take responsibility for their child's learning, so they blame the schools for their child's issues. Pearl Harbor is a really decent school. The staff is helpful and the teachers I've had to deal with were great! I didn't need to be a nagging parent to get questions answered.

Pearl Harbor Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2011
- a parent
I am satisfied with this school. My child attends prek at this school. This is his second year and the teacher he had last year worked with his challenging behaviors with patience! He was challenged also learned about letters, numbers, shapes, colors and other skills. The teacher and aide are good at what they do. I hope he has a good year this year with his new teacher!


Pearl Harbor Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2011
- a parent
We were told this was the best school so we fought for our son to go there but instead of learning new things he is repeating pre-k. So disappointed.

Pearl Harbor Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
I was not impressed with this school at all. My child was learning preK-K work in the first grade. She became bored, and lost interest in school. The teacher had no desire to communicate with us when we sent communication to her. Also, certain people in the administrative staff were very unproffessional. The safety of our child was put at risk on more than one occassion.

Pearl Harbor Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
My child has recently entered the Pre-K. She loves the school, teacher and teacher aide. We really like the parent teacher interaction that we recieve on a daily basis to know what our child is doing at school. She receives Speech therapy there and we have seen such great improvment. We couldn't be more happier with this school. I would recommend this school to any parent who is considering putting there child into this school.


Pearl Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
My child just entered Preschool at this school. The teacher and aide are amazing. They truly care about my child, are knowledgeable, and know how to focus on his strengths and help him with his needs.

Pearl Harbor Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
My child was adequately challenged academically at this school. As a transfer from another school on the mainland, I was concerned after hearing negative information about Hawaii public schools. I was pleasantly surprised by my child's second grade teacher as she did an incredible job not only with my child but other children in the class as well. The school offers music, computer lab, PE and art. The administration staff is organized and professional. After a year, I have only good things to say about our experience at Pearl Harbor Elementary.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pearl Harbor Elementary School
1 Moanalua Ridge, Honolulu, HI  96818
(808) 421-4130
Last modified Pearl Harbor Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pearl Harbor Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top