Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Honolulu, HI
Students enrolled: 1,182

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kalani High School 3

Posted August 29, 2014
- a student
Kalani High School is an average school. There are great teachers that really help out the students and some that are not. In addition, the teachers have really bad favoritism that make students not learn that well. Also, the principal doesn't treat his students well. He has favoritism over the students and is not a friendly type of guy. For sports, they have AGAIN favoritism for that too! They don't pay attention to tennis and don't even come to the games to watch and take pictures which is horrible. They didn't give us new rackets/materials to play. The coach had to use his own money to cover it. Which I think is unfair because they didn't renew his contract so he is not the coach for Kalani anymore. In addition, they didn't even pay for our uniforms too. OH AND THE BATHROOM IS DISGUSTING SO THEY SHOULD PUT LITTLE TRASHCANS IN EACH STALL. Also, they should give more discipline and punish kids harder. SO THIS COULD STOP ALL THE BULLYING. ------- SUBMITTED BY A FORMER STUDENT
2 people found this helpful

Kalani High School 4

Posted February 16, 2011
- a student
Former student of Kalani and i have to somewhat agree with some things people rated. There are some great teachers, but if there is no care behind the teaching, then ultimately the student does suffers. It's not just up to the teachers to teach. Its, also up to the students to want to learn. Ultimately, it is the teachers job to teach weather or not the students want to learn, but you do have agree or disagree that when the teachers come to work to do their job, its easy for them to loose sight when all of their efforts to the majority of the students are all for not, but teachers should realize that just because there may be a majority of the students who seem to not care about learning, for some of those its just an act and for some others who want to learn, you maybe doing an injustice. In my experience, when a student had a question after class or needed help after school, some teachers didn't have the time for them. That is an example of not doing your job.


Kalani High School 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
High quality education and dedicated teachers. Safe atmosphere and competitive academics. Even their football team is getting better! Kalani has been a good experience for my son, who is a mainland transfer student.

Kalani High School 2

Posted March 09, 2010
- a student
Out of all the public schools, I believe the best the Hawaiian public schools could get would be way below average. However, since this is one of the better schools in Hawaii is why it would be commended. Teachers are great, and education O.K. but I believe Kalani needs to hire teachers with enthusiasm. The teachers don't know how to take care of their students, and there is no discipline whatsoever. Teaching rates are SUPER slow, and I believe these things that they call Hawaii's 'Public Schools' need improvement big time. I can't see myself as a doctor, or even a entrepreneur, or even a 7/11 owner. My future doesn't seem bright at all, and unless education increases, there is no hope not only for Kalani, but all public schools in this miserable island.

Kalani High School 1

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
The teachers dont teach... Plain and simple
1 person found this helpful


Kalani High School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
Great Science department, and Awesome Marching Band

Kalani High School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kalani High School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student
I am a current student of kalani and absolutely love it :) oustanding teachers and supporting staff, they are a student-centered school and really care about the child's success. The sports are exceptional (well atleast the ones i do).. (Crosscountry, soccer, track)... mmm... marching band is also fantastic


Kalani High School 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
My son went to Kalani and received an excellent education. He has gone thru undergraduate and is starting graduate school. His pre-college schooling at Kalani prepared him well.

Kalani High School 4

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
Many new teachers this year, some of them are excellent, a few are not as good. However, the good thing about young new teachers is that they are more accepting of changing direction and moving ahead compared to the 'stuck in the muc' type of teacher who resist change and thus resist improvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kalani High School
4680 Kalanianaole Hwy, Honolulu, HI  96821
(808) 377-7744
Last modified Kalani High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kalani High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top