Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aliamanu Middle School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2009

Classes are extremely easy here, some teachers don't care about the students and don't put any effort into teaching us. Yet, I have a couple of teacherswho are really great and really involved, it makes learning and getting good grades a whole lot easier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

I think this school is great!!! the only thing is... Get rid of the uniform!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

We have a child that attends this school. Only one teacher uses Webgrader. He hardly ever has homework and he is not challenged. The teachers don't seem to take an active role. They seem more concerned with days off than with teaching the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

I am current student in this school and I am not challenged at all. All of my classes are quite easy. Most of my teachers are nice but they take no regard for any work for my other classes. Most times I have lots of projects due on the same day. I would not recomend this school to anyone and I sometimes wish I could leave it myself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

Worth looking into. The class sizes are small and great things are going on their.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

This school Is awesome, I really enjoy going here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

My kids are attending this school for the first time and I have to say that WEBGRADER is the most awesome thing to happen to this school. Let's me be in touch with what and how my kids are doing. I've emailed the teachers a few times and had immediate response. I wish all teachers would use Webgrader. The school bus system needs improvement though-always late and drivers are not very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

My daughter attended part of 7th grade at this school. She suffered. The teachers did not care! My daughter was failing because she was not getting help at school, and the teachers did not bother to contact me until it was just about too late to do anything about it. The only thing the principal cared about was the dress code. Bullying was rampant. Absolutely no discipline! American History is not taught there. Any major issues you or your child have are blamed solely on you and your child. We had to pay for bus service for the school year. The bus drivers were mean to the kids. I finally took my daughter out to homeschool her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

I went to 7th grade there a few years back and it was not too bad of a school, but their courses were too easy. Also, no after school activities at the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2006

I received a very poor education from Aliamanu Intermediate. I put little or no effort into most of my work and earned a 4.0 for 7th and 8th grade. I was not prepared for high school, and now as a junior I am finally catching up with things I missed back in middle school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 11, 2005

This school is very far behind. I would not recommend it to anyone. After returning to the main land my daughter had a hard time catching up. Everything she should have learned while in 7th and 8th grade she had to try and relearn in highschool. She thought the school was very easy and she rarely had any homework to do. The teachers didn't grade her work well and she made honors for pretty much just showing up. This school is a joke. The school system here is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

I used to go to this school and I never experienced any major problems. All schools have their ups and downs. The school is not great, but the teachers seemed to care and the administrators were as helpful as possible. However, I would suggest a private school if possible. I found that when I moved back to the main land, I had some catching up to do.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2005

I agree totally with the parent who blames administration on the poor environment here. I am a substitute teacher for 2 years here so far. The teachers are great for the most part, but there is little support for teacher when it comes to discipline and safety. Would not recommend this school to anyone who cares about the well being of their child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2005

We just moved here in January and my son hates this school! The kids don't get to use the computers until 8th grade and that is only a basic class. This school is so far behind DOD schools that my son already learned all of the things that were being taught. The gangs,drugs and violence is terrible. I am not planning on sending my daughter there next year! There are also very few activities for the students and the staff is not very helpful. The basketball court is falling apart and my son got hurt on it and no one even called me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

I would not recommend Aliamanu Intermediate to anyone, as my son just finished his 2 years there. The school administration does not acknowledge major problems with gangs, drugs and violence therefore, nothing is changing. The issue with this school lies more within a poor learning environment and administration rather than with teacher quality. Until a major overhaul is done, I would not recommend any child attend. In fact, we will leave the island next year rather than send our youngest child through this school. Wake up, Aliamanu!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

This is really a wonderful school. I went here for my 7th and 8th grade school year. I am now a senior in High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 32% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 34%
Black 12% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 34%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Two or more races 9% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3271 Salt Lake Blvd
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 421-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Assets School
Honolulu, HI



Christian Academy
Honolulu, HI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT