Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student of Wilson Elementary and part of the graduating class of 2010. My 6 years at WE were amazing, from kindergarden to 5th grade. But only 2 of my teachers from my years there are still around, out of the 2 one is on my list of best teachers. She is an amazing teacher that cares about her students.

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
We have two children attending this school and we love it as much as they do. Atmosphere is great, homework is always plentiful and technology is better than what we have at home!


Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
My child has been at Wilson for 2 years since third grade. Wilson is a great school with excellent leadership team and qualified teachers, and a supportive parent support group and community. Mr Kiyonaga is an experienced educator and school principal. Thank you Mr Kiyonaga and his staff.

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
this is a great school with a lot of parent involvement. both of my children attend at this time and I feel the staff and parents make the difference in their learning experiences.

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2008
- a parent
Both my children attended Wilson Elementary and we absolutely loved the school. Mr. Kiyonaga is a wonderful principal who supports his school. The teachers were very competent and passionate about teaching. Both of my children now attend a competitive private middle school and we know that their academic success began at Wilson Elementary. We loved it there!


Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Great School! Lots of fun activities and technology!

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2008
- a community member
Excellent academic programs/staff. I used to love taking music and art while attending there. All my teachers helped me reach my full academic potential. Its great learning about hawaiian culture. And its truly a great place to be.

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
Clean, safe, quality school. Great communication between faculty/parent. Everyday Mathematics program also used in private schools, music, technology & Hawaiian culture. Friendly staff, great instruction and access to after school programs. Lots of parent involvement!


Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2007
- a parent
I feel as a parent of two graduates from 2006-2007 5th and 6th grade classes that my children were prepared well at Wilson for the adventure off to middle school. Plus I have 2 younger siblings entering 1st and 4th in 2007-2008 school year. Everyone there are the the most caring individuals that the school could ever hire and I am proud to be a Wilson Parent. Our network of resources are the greatest it can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School
4945 Kilauea Ave, Honolulu, HI  96816
(808) 733-4740
Last modified Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mayor John H Wilson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top