Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is currently in 1st grade at this school and she loves it. She attended another public elementary school in the area and there is no comparison. Waialae's teaching philosophy is very hands-on and innovative, instead of just relying on workbooks. They offer extensive extra-curricular programs with dedicated specialty teachers in Art, Music, P.E. Hawaiian, and Gardening! The teachers, CEO, admin staff, and even the after school program leaders are all very thoughtful and caring. Waialae employs their own after school program leaders (not outsourced like many other schools) which in my opinion, makes a difference. I also appreciate the very open and consistent communication I get from the school and teachers. Overall, this school is amazing on all levels and I'm so happy my daughter is getting a whole-child education at Waialae.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went there for 3 years and I love this school. Kids are friendly, happy, the staff is nice and every time I have had any concern, they were really helpful. I was very pleased to know that she was learning in a safe environment. My daughter loved it.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
The kids at Waialae are friendly, happy, and work well together. The school's holistic approach to education shows in the various extracurricular activities, projects, and field trips they organize. Like any where else, some teachers are great, some are so-so. The school could do a bit more to challenge the advanced kids but other than that, great school.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 4

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
In response to the previous post: "A lot going on behind the scenes at this school, wouldn't send my child there. The CEO is nice, but oblivious. They have trouble hanging on to teachers and not without reason. " I'm not sure where this individual is getting their information if they don't even attend Wai'alae. In regards to teacher turn-over, I don't believe our churn rate unreasonably high. We generally loose teachers to maternity and moving back to the Mainland. We have also lost teachers because they moved abroad, which is a testiment to their adventurous spirit, which we want to foster in our children.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
A lot going on behind the scenes at this school, wouldn't send my child there. The CEO is nice, but oblivious. They have trouble hanging on to teachers and not without reason.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter 2nd great teacher is AWFUL...very lazy and disorganized, and although we had a parent/teacher/principal meeting...minimal improvements...teacher needs to retire...she is lacking nurture and it has been observed by other parents that the student take advantage of the teacher's lack of focus and laziness. Its a hit or miss with the teachers. 1st grade teacher was excellent! However, as stated previously..this year's 2nd grade teacher terrible! Most likely opting for private school in the Fall. Principal unsupportive, has never followed up since the meeting and she is always in meetings.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I go there it is great (p.s. my dad is on the board) I like may day there

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
After one year at this school it has become very clear that we made the correct choice for our daughter, and we are now great fans of public charter schools. The teachers are warm and caring. Great vision and curriculum. Friendly campus with a beautiful view. Wonderful assortment of extracurricular activities. Love the connection with the community and environmental awareness. It has provided a perfect transition from Montessori to a more traditional school setting. We love this school.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 1

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
Very turned off by their corporate approach! The intent to follow their vision is there but the administration is not approachable and they seem to be concerned with their agenda, which, doesn't always accommodate what is in the best interest of the child (family). Very disappointed since we were attracted to their curriculum and visionary statement. I felt a strong disconnect between the administration and the intent of the teachers.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Great public charter school. I really like the teachers and the curriculum and small class sizes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School
1045 19th Ave, Honolulu, HI  96816
(808) 733-4880
Last modified Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top