Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
The kids at Waialae are friendly, happy, and work well together. The school's holistic approach to education shows in the various extracurricular activities, projects, and field trips they organize. Like any where else, some teachers are great, some are so-so. The school could do a bit more to challenge the advanced kids but other than that, great school.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 4

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
In response to the previous post: "A lot going on behind the scenes at this school, wouldn't send my child there. The CEO is nice, but oblivious. They have trouble hanging on to teachers and not without reason. " I'm not sure where this individual is getting their information if they don't even attend Wai'alae. In regards to teacher turn-over, I don't believe our churn rate unreasonably high. We generally loose teachers to maternity and moving back to the Mainland. We have also lost teachers because they moved abroad, which is a testiment to their adventurous spirit, which we want to foster in our children.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 1

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
A lot going on behind the scenes at this school, wouldn't send my child there. The CEO is nice, but oblivious. They have trouble hanging on to teachers and not without reason.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 2

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter 2nd great teacher is AWFUL...very lazy and disorganized, and although we had a parent/teacher/principal meeting...minimal improvements...teacher needs to retire...she is lacking nurture and it has been observed by other parents that the student take advantage of the teacher's lack of focus and laziness. Its a hit or miss with the teachers. 1st grade teacher was excellent! However, as stated previously..this year's 2nd grade teacher terrible! Most likely opting for private school in the Fall. Principal unsupportive, has never followed up since the meeting and she is always in meetings.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
I go there it is great (p.s. my dad is on the board) I like may day there


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
After one year at this school it has become very clear that we made the correct choice for our daughter, and we are now great fans of public charter schools. The teachers are warm and caring. Great vision and curriculum. Friendly campus with a beautiful view. Wonderful assortment of extracurricular activities. Love the connection with the community and environmental awareness. It has provided a perfect transition from Montessori to a more traditional school setting. We love this school.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 1

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
Very turned off by their corporate approach! The intent to follow their vision is there but the administration is not approachable and they seem to be concerned with their agenda, which, doesn't always accommodate what is in the best interest of the child (family). Very disappointed since we were attracted to their curriculum and visionary statement. I felt a strong disconnect between the administration and the intent of the teachers.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
Great public charter school. I really like the teachers and the curriculum and small class sizes.


Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Waialae Elementary is a great school that focuses on celebrating childhood and teaching the whole child. It has continued to provide specialty subjects like Art, Music, and Hawaiiana. The school is very community oriented and is open to the public for events and celebrations, like the upcoming Halloween Celebration to provide families with safe fun.

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Progressive, green, parent & kid friendly and where a lot of learning takes place in & out of school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School
1045 19th Ave, Honolulu, HI  96816
(808) 733-4880
Last modified Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waialae Elementary - Public Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.