Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 370 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

Both of my children attended Royal School. This is a small school that I didn't really know existed since it was so easy to pass by. I was reluctant to send my children there but did not apply for an GE to any other school. Both my son and daughter enjoyed it a lot. The school's ethnic mixture is well balanced and I really liked that about the school. The teachers are great and they care about their students--willing to help them when they don't understand the work. I believe the parent involvement is extremely LOW--parents if you want your child to get the most out of their education you have to get involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

II don't know why some people say that this school is bad. To be honest I was a student here for 4 years. It was great. I do see some bullying but it gets taking care of right away. And the staff member weren't that mean at all. Everything me and my friends learn in class were challenging and fun. I repeat, this school was great!!


Posted September 10, 2012

I have mixed emotions about Royal school. My daughter has been at this school for three years. I think that academically they are really good. I love that they test the children's math and reading skills and place them in appropriate levels. However my daughter has also been bullied by the same child for three years. This child is the "popular" girl and singles out my daughter. This girl excludes my daughter and makes her come home crying on a regular basis. I have gone to her teachers and counselors regarding this several times. At first they put them both in counseling and it really helped however now the teachers just tell my daughter to buck up. I am disapointed that more isn't done to address this behavior in children attending Royal. There are anti bullying rules on the books they are just not being enforced in my opinion. Royal needs to address bullying and take a stronger stand against it in order to truly shine like I KNOW it can! Royal can be one of the best public schools in town if they address this. I see I am not the only parent with this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Wow. For those parents who had to remove their children, thank you for taking your negative vibration elsewhere. Because Roya School is by far one of the best on the island. If you look at the HSA scores posted on the DOE website, Royal scores higher than many other schools and national average. I tell parents that the size of the school is like a private school without having to pay for the tuition. They are also the recipient of a Blue Ribbon School. My son has had nothing but great experiences in this school and we have participated in many of the school events throughout the years. Re: Bullying - Royal school does a great job to ensure that the students feel safe within themselves (which prevents bullying) and among others. This is my son's last year at Royal and it will be a very sad day when he graduates. I will miss the caring and wonderful staff at Royal and I am filled with gratitude that my son is a Royal School alumni. So parents, if you want your child to be in a safe, small school setting which provides lots of attention, save your private school money for high school. Send them to Royal School with pride. Truly the home and school of our island Royalty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I also had to remove my child from this school. The staff, (not all) are rude and cruel to the kids. And the bullying at this school is swept under the rug! One day I saw some kids smoking something under the stairs across the street from the school! I dont know what to do now, because I can't afford another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I removed my son from this school after a terrible experience in 2007. He was bullied by other students and the teachers and principal refused to stop it. The lack of concern and respect for students was alarming. Parents were made to feel irrelevant and their concerns dismissed. This was the first time in my life I felt racial discrimination against my child and our family. It was a terrible situation in which I felt powerless because the staff was not only unresponsive, they were part of the problem. But, we finally said enough and moved our child to a local charter school and were so happy we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Royal School is an excellent elementary school. At first I was reluctant to have my children go there but as I got to know the teachers and staff, I am very happy that I did send them there. My daughter is in her last year and my son has already moved on to middle school. The teachers are very caring and work very hard with the children, keeping Hawaii standardize test scores up. The principal works very hard also, keeping everything running smoothly. If you look at the demographics of this school, they have a wide mixture of children that attend. The children all get along very well together. Overall, I am very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I would never rate Royal School anything less than 5 stars!!! I can't begin to explain the dramatic change in my daughter since I changed her school!!! She is communicating so much better, she is motivated to attend school and to complete her homework, she has transformed into the beauty that she was meant to be! To the parents who gave Royal one star.... Trust me when I tell you that there are worse schools out there!!! Perhaps you need to form a better relationship with the school, so that all parties are on the same page when it comes to disipline and boundries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

I was disappointed that my daughter didn't get accepted to another school on a GE, but to my surprise, she loves Royal School! She has made many gains both socially and academically. Her kindergarten teacher is very patient and communicates with my wife & I frequently. The PTA needs much more parental support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I have 5 children. My two oldest has been going to a Charter School. Unfortunately my 3rd child had to attend Royal because the Charter schoold did not have JR. K. Honestly, at first, I was disappointed because I really didn't have faith in the Public School system. But I now stand corrected. My son's teacher is just awesome. The communication is great and my son is very happy with his surroundings, his teachers, and his friends. The cirriculum he's given is efficient for his age. He just loves school. Parents and teachers need to have open communication and SUPPORT each other. That's the only way it'll work. All we need to concentrate on is to do OUR PART as a PARENT or a TEACHER. Worrying about the other person's job is not going to help. We can't avoid challenges but we can teach our children how to overcome it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I went to royal school. The teachers really cared about us and tried the best to teach us. They even helped us after school and during winter and spring break. Mrs.Shibata was an awesome principal but she left. I loved going to big island in grade 4 and camping grade 5. The only thing I did not like is parents who dont help. My mom volunteers a lot. But she said not too many parents help. I miss royal school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2006

eay you know royal yeah I use to go there and I kind of don't agree to the first 2 parents but I agree with the 1st parent I am a former student from royal and there are some bad times and good times they don't abuse the kids and give lectures yeah but not hitting they pull the kids out of the class when they misbehave or like fight with the teacher or their class mates but the schools good I learned a lot and I even learned 10th grade stuff there they teach it easier and I'm in 8th but yeah that school don't have that much volunteers that's all I got to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2006

I disagree with the previous 2 parents. I often visit the school 'un-announced' and have never seen a teacher hit or grab any student. As for yelling, I heard one teacher raise her voice during recess (2 boys were fighting & teasing each other). I see some teachers/staff often go out of their way to help their students. The only problem at the school is the lack of parental support: 1. I would guess less than one-fourth of parents come to the general PTA meetings. 2. Rarely, do I see other parents volunteer for field trips, fundraisers, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I have too agree with the other parent, I am extremely dissatisfied with this school. I also have a boy. There is a lot of yelling and screaming that should not be allowed by adults that are teaching and rearing our kids. There is lack of communication from teachers too parents. And there is problems respect by teachers towards both the kids and the parents. You earn respect by giving respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Teachers, Staff, AND PRINCIPAL! is extremely rude and has no respect. I been having so much problems with this school its fraustrating. This is my son's first year in a public school and its not one I want him to remember. I talked to some authorities and its not much they can do, they cant change people. Royal thinks its ok to put their hands on the kids, they said its not abuse but I sure dont like the idea of my son being grabbed like that. They LOVE to yell at the kids! Especially boys. Its heartwrenching when my son tells me his days, some is good though. Authorities told me the best thing to do is teach my son to DEAL with mean people! I was told many times I cant put him in another school cause the district. I cant wait till this school year ends.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 45% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 30% 34%
Two or more races 11% 8%
Hispanic 8% 6%
White 4% 14%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1519 Queen Emma St
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 587-4510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Soto Academy
Honolulu, HI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT