Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Niu Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

The teachers pay no mind to a child if their falling behind, the only teacher who really cared was my social studies teacher, and the whole school overall has that sorta Hostile feel to it, I wish I could go to a different school, but its the only relatively close school. Also, they may been one of the best schools, but the work is usually way ahead of us. -Student


Posted April 28, 2014

From the 2 years we've been at this school, it appears the only thing of value is how many certifications and honors the teachers or principal receive, and the accolades of their Band Program. Everything else is shot down the drain: no sports program, improvement in SPED, or professionalism when responding to parent inquiries. My 6th grader said there are days when the teachers don't teach - only giving speeches about their personal problems because they had a bad day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

We had our daughter in this school for one year. It was the worst school year she has ever had. There was a group of mean girls who made her life miserable. We tried to help her work through it, but by the end of the year realized we just needed to get her into a safer environment and enrolled her in private school. The teachers were fine and we liked the IB curriculum, but the school did not take bullying seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Some teachers are okay, however most are teaching their opinions. The 6th graders are reading a book about gay lovers because we have to "accept" everyone. I am against this only because we need to "accept" everyone at this school except the religious students. Any type of christianity is not acceptable to talk about at this school. Takes away freedom from the good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

So far communication at the school has been pretty good. The only thing is I wished we had heard about our child's progress from all the teachers before the progress reports came home. Some teachers had emailed earlier, but I didn't realize there was another class to be concerned about. The counselor has been working with our child and took the time to talk with me briefly just as the school day started. Luckily we were on the same page and she was already working with our child. While every class, subject, or unit studied will be interesting, our child has to understand the work needed to get done no matter what. Still waiting for all the back work to get caught up, especially before the end of the quarter. Appreciate the teachers and counselor's interest in helping our child succeed. Also like the fact the school provides opportunities for parent learning and encourages communication with our child's teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My daughter is in 6th grade and loves going to NVMS. She feels the teachers are approachable and the expectations are clearly stated. There's more homework than 5th grade; however she finds time to complete her homework and participate in other activities outside of school. The principal had the vision and support to make NVMS an International Baccalaureate school. Hurrary for public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

My son is attending this school this 2012-13 year. He has special education (SPED) classes but is too excelled for them. We moved him into general ed classes but the teachers are too busy to help him and would rather help their more independent "smarter" students. So, he was forced back into SPED just to get the attention and time he needs to pass his class even if the content was far too easy. At one point, he was teaching one of his SPED classes because he already knew the content so well! He just needed more time. There is no transitional classes and no protection for students wanting to get out of SPED to more challenging classes. The tenured teachers ganged up on him last year and forced him back into SPED again because they felt he was too distracted. He wanted preferential seating in those classes and was not allowed. This same thing has happened this year and I am ready to pull him out of this school. These tenured teachers tend to be bullies and are not reprimanded by administration for their despicable and truly sad behavior. If you care about your developmentally delayed child, don't put them in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

So far so good.... My son is finishing 6th grade and I am very happy with this school. Teachers on his team are outstanding!! I am very involved and attended orientation prior to arrival to 6th grade. They extensively review rules and dress code at orientation so we had no surprises. I would encourage all to GET involved!! Also make sure you READ the parent handbook. It is very helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 21, 2009

Great school my child learns alot from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

It's a small school with a big heart!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2009

The teachers are caring and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

we value the characteristics of - risk taking and caring, in addition to the commonly expected values of respect, critical thinking etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It has a great International Baccalaureate program with enthusiastic teachers/administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

A great school! In the process of being accredited as an International Baccalaureate School, and an academics-emphasizing, nurturing, learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Being a Hawaii public school it is above average but overall it's lacking in many departments namely being skilled teachers. In the 8th grade I can say that the good core teachers consist of Clyde Kobashigawa- Science, and Erin Noordhoff-English.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

to much teasing and bullying you dont always feel safe...but good academics
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

it was ok but they couldve increased the pe program but the teachers were great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

The teachers are dedicated to their craft! The curriculum is challenging yet still age appropriate. I only wish there were more parents who participated in school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I think that this school is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2007

This is an outstanding school, my two sons study there. I am very thankful to the teachers and staff members of that school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 46% 34%
Two or more races 17% 8%
White 17% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 15% 34%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 Halemaumau St
Honolulu, HI 96821
Phone: (808) 377-2440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Trinity School
Honolulu, HI




Anuenue School
Honolulu, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT