Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Honolulu, HI
Students enrolled: 1,790
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


President William Mckinley High School 1

Posted February 17, 2015
- a community member
I'm writing this review out of a severe concern. I am a friend of a single mom with one child who attends this school. The child is in her third year. She seems very bright and has a wonderful disposition. However... Recently, I had a conversation with this child and it turned out that she was virtually clueless about any kind of history. This poor girl had barely heard of George Washington. She knew absolutely NOTHING about how America was created via the revolution. She knew NOTHING about the Civil War nor could barely tell me who Abraham Lincoln was. On top of this, she had never heard of the Roman empire. Not a clue... Seriously? I learned about this stuff when I was in fifth grade. (Catholic School.) Sadly, the mother doesn't speak English very well as it is not her first language. Therefore she has difficulty in checking up on this child's homework and tests in general. However, this should NEVER be a reason for any child in being this clueless about the world. I cannot imagine that in one year, this child will be applying for college. Where are the standards and who is accountable?

President William Mckinley High School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
The school is beautiful and stunning. I had two girls who went to this school, one who graduated a couple of years ago and one who is close to graduating and from my experiences with my daughters, they love the school, the students, the atmosphere. The only downfall is that McKinley does have under-qualified teachers, however, I believe the school makes up for it in their strong robotics, band, and AP programs. Your child can really benefit from this school if they keep themselves well-rounded. I also approve of how strict the school is in maintaining their presence in public. McKinley rarely, if ever, gets into trouble for alcohol, violence, or drugs, at public outings, such as proms and sporting events.


President William Mckinley High School 1

Posted May 09, 2010
- a student
This school does not prepare it's students for college. Most of the teachers in the core subjects have no knowledge of their course. As a student I feel that if the teachers who are no quality teachers are fired than McKinley would have only one or two teachers left to teach.

President William Mckinley High School 4

Posted April 21, 2010
- a student
McKinley is a good school. I've been attending this school for about 4 years now and it's a great school. There are things that make this school different but the education is good. We all learn, it's just if you fail it's not the teachers fault it's your own. The staff here are great and there like your own family! c/o 2010

President William Mckinley High School 5

Posted February 27, 2010
- a student
It's an okay school to go to. The faculty is also very helpfull. School could use better maintainance in the restrooms. Other than that education is good with many ap honors classes and so forth. Once a Tiger, always a Tiger!


President William Mckinley High School 1

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

President William Mckinley High School 5

Posted December 07, 2008
- a student
Teachers care for you about the next steps in life. Teachers don't fail their students,they fail themselves.

President William Mckinley High School 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


President William Mckinley High School 4

Posted February 26, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

President William Mckinley High School 4

Posted August 28, 2006
- a parent
This is a clean and beautiful school. Restroom plumbing need to be updated. ROTC program available. Centrally located.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

President William Mckinley High School
1039 South King St, Honolulu, HI  96814
(808) 594-0400
Last modified President William Mckinley High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
President William Mckinley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top