Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public district
Honolulu, HI
Students enrolled: 559
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manoa Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
MANOA Elementary School just placed NUMBER ONE in the entire state of Hawaii for educational testing!! Way to go students and teachers! We beat neighboring Noelani school. The new statewide rating system is called Strive HI Performance System. After school my son attends the free sports programs next door at Manoa District Park and Pool. The best part is that I don't have to pick him up at 2:15, he can walk right next door! : )

Manoa Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Manoa Elementary School is great in terms of academics, however, community awareness is a bit lacking. There was a eco-program where Noelani students and quite a bit from 'Iolani as well, and it was in the gym next to Manoa Elementary School and yet there was zero involvement from Manoa Elementary School.


Manoa Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
I have heard that the principal is a horrible person and not even former teachers are welcomed or would want to help because of her. I am a parent of a third grader and being a teacher as well, I am happy with all of his teachers. They are welcoming and very dedicated to helping the kids. The principal though is very spiteful and unsupportive, and I hear most of the teachers there are most unhappy and feel unappreciated. I was told that the principal even pushed out the best music teacher in the state. I wish principals were audited by parents, teachers, students, and then the district superintendents.

Manoa Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
After reading some of the reviews, I curious why "administration" is not so great. We should be asking the unions who are depriving our children from their education why they did not ask teachers & the administration if they would rather take a paycut & continue teaching vs. furloughs. The administration has to deal with so many unions - HSTA, UPW, HGEA, etc. Each with their own contacts & stipulations. Did we ever wonder why cafeteria workers work in summer when school is not in session? This is not to say one person is no more or less important another. We should appreciate the fact Manoa Teachers, Administration & Staff accomplish so much in what little time & resources they have. Ranked #4 over all schools in HI (Honolulu Magazine) & #2 in reading AND math scores too! We as parents should be proud & fortunate our children attend Manoa.

Manoa Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
The students are good. The parents are good. The school needs a new leadership: My son had a great teacher, but the administration (=principal) is not so great (well, far from great!). Schools should be student-centered. It's so sad to see our educational system allows those people to just sit there and collect money. We need real educators who care about our children.


Manoa Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a community member
Show me another public school with a super-awesome community garden! Manoa Rocks!

Manoa Elementary School 2

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
This school may get high test scores, and we heard this school was strict, but we didn't know how extreme the strictness was until school began. On the first day of school, parents were shoo'd away before school started without the ability to go into the class room, check it out, and help our students get settled in. They require as a school policy all kids to put their heads down when they are done with lunch, and no one leaves their class' table until everyone's head is down. And they only have 3 things for 3rd graders to play, tether ball, 4 square, and jump rope -- that's all, nothing else is allowed. I can understand having a proactive approach for discipline, but they make school all work and no fun, and thus learning not fun. Not a good way to promote a life-long love of learning!
1 person found this helpful

Manoa Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
Manoa is a cute charming school. As far as public schools it may be one of the best. However, pare it with private school and you will be greatly dissapointed. public school is based on meeting minimum requirements. They have to to meet all the kids with problems that are mixed in every class. Private schools usually have a maximum standard approach in which students strive. Manoa has wonderful teachers and staff but can't overlook the old school mentality and budget cuts. Your child will need a tutor to be on pare with private school kids, its a fact! unless rare few that are a grade level ahead. Good for 1-3 grades then program gets large class size, unsuitable for the needs of bulk of class. Administration is nice but does not seem to be realistic about whats going on in the classrooms.


Manoa Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
Manoa School students rank near the top of public schools when it comes to Hawai'i State Assessment test scores. Last year, their 3rd graders scored the highest in the State. Of course it's not just about test scores. Being that Manoa Valley District Park is located next to the school, Manoa students have access to great recreational facilities which include 2 gymnasiums, tennis courts as well as swimming pools. Students enrolled in the A+ after school program receive good direction from leaders, most of whom are UH students. As far as music and art, Manoa School puts on one of the best May Day celebrations I've seen. The campus is always beautiful and green. Overall a good place for our keiki to learn.

Manoa Elementary School 3

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
My child attended Manoa School from K- 3 , leaving in the fall of 06'. Kindergarten was a huge dissapointment. Mostly due to the teacher having 19 children with no aid. Some kids were not ready for school and other were ready for first grade. The teacher could not possibly help all. Very neutral beginning. First and second grade were great. Third grade became an issue due to the fact that the class isze becomes around 28. The school shifts from 4 classes to 3 in 3rd grade. If you have no ADD/ needy kids this might be okay. However, class was comprised of at least 6 loud needy kids. The bright ones were not stimulated. The middle ones largely quieted . The standards based education took up lots of unneccessary time. Truth be told that the education here really does need to be supplemented. Your child may need tutors.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manoa Elementary School
3155 Manoa Rd, Honolulu, HI  96822
(808) 988-1868
Last modified Manoa Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manoa Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top