Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 866 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2013

The transition for kids that are new or not from the local feeder schools in the area is a difficult one the 1st year. Bullying exists in every setting & rather than gloss it over, it's important for parents to take immediate action w/ the principal. She is active in resolving incidents & having her VPs intercede. The good thing is that your child will have many chances to meet other terrific kids and enjoy the quality teachers & experiences. My son met lifelong friends & yes, had tough life lessons to learn about dealing w/ bullies, as did I, as his mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

I am an 8th grade student at Kawananakoa and I love it. It has many electives to choose from and bullying isn't really a problem here. We have an activity to choose from every month, such as sports, movies, quiet games, and other activities. This school has many clubs and teams to sign up to and is a really great school to go to.


Posted October 28, 2012

its early, just 3 mths into it and its been a big change for my son from manoa elementary system. he's struggled first with a bully situation and the principal took immediate action when i emailed- same day. so that was good. but he's struggling with his grades (never has before). I feel my son a little lost at this school. and he feels the need to protect himself. he doesn't feel safe. so far so good as far as actual events. but the sense i get from my son is that he's not happy here. may just not be the right fit for him. but they have a GREAT band program. teacher is tough but he definately knows what he's doing. hoping as time goes on he'll make more relationships and feel better adjusted since it is early and this is middle school now. Big changes for our kids at this age!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

I love this school and they have great activities such as monthly activity and sports. There is also Saturday school for kids who misbehave to do community service. This school is the best school I ever been to.


Posted August 28, 2011

Kawananakoa is an EXCELLENT school due to the principal, teachers, and staff that work there! My son has already moved on to high school but my daughter is still there and they both enjoy(ed) it. They have a great PTSA and a lot of support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I really feel like the staff cares about the well being and academic success of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

They have a very good curriculum and a principal that is on the ball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Kawananakoa is one of the only middle schools in Honolulu with a Blue Ribbon award for its wonderful science program. The PSTA is very active and supportive of KMS teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

This school is awesome. Everyone is happy there and the teachers work hard. The teachers are fun and you can get a quality education there. Anyone there is sure to make friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2007

My daughter thrived in her 3 years here. She started as a shy girl and blossomed into a confident, outgoing teenager. She had supportive and dedicated teachers who helped her reach her potential. Academically, there Science program (and their camping, Kauai, Maui, and DC trip) and extracurricular programs fromRobotics, to Orchestra, to Drama make this school a cut above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2006

My child loved his teachers and the elective programs. He had good Math, English, Reading and Science teachers. The art and multimedia program was his favorites. And there was many extramural sport activities to get involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

If willing to push themselves, students will experience a very quality education. Kawananakoa's band and orchestra are great.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2006

I really think that Kawananakoa Middle School is the best school I've ever been to. It's also because of the teachers, staff, and ect. This school taught me a lot and either if I get a successful job in the future or not I'll always go back and say Thanks to the teacher for teaching me so much. The orchestra and the band I could say are awesome. Art class is just fun! P.E. rocks! As I could say Japanese could have been one of my FAVORITE subjects. It's cool learning about another culture because you get to learn a lot of stuff and maybe experience how that place is after learning about it and most importantly the language. The field trips are fantastic, probably because the teachers and chaperons make it fun. I hope that other students that go to Kawananakoa have a fun time learning, because you can learn!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 63% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
Two or more races 4% 8%
Hispanic 3% 6%
White 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

49 Funchal St
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 587-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Keystone School
Honolulu, HI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT