Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Honolulu, HI
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 4

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
The transition for kids that are new or not from the local feeder schools in the area is a difficult one the 1st year. Bullying exists in every setting & rather than gloss it over, it's important for parents to take immediate action w/ the principal. She is active in resolving incidents & having her VPs intercede. The good thing is that your child will have many chances to meet other terrific kids and enjoy the quality teachers & experiences. My son met lifelong friends & yes, had tough life lessons to learn about dealing w/ bullies, as did I, as his mom.

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a community member
I am an 8th grade student at Kawananakoa and I love it. It has many electives to choose from and bullying isn't really a problem here. We have an activity to choose from every month, such as sports, movies, quiet games, and other activities. This school has many clubs and teams to sign up to and is a really great school to go to.


Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 3

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
its early, just 3 mths into it and its been a big change for my son from manoa elementary system. he's struggled first with a bully situation and the principal took immediate action when i emailed- same day. so that was good. but he's struggling with his grades (never has before). I feel my son a little lost at this school. and he feels the need to protect himself. he doesn't feel safe. so far so good as far as actual events. but the sense i get from my son is that he's not happy here. may just not be the right fit for him. but they have a GREAT band program. teacher is tough but he definately knows what he's doing. hoping as time goes on he'll make more relationships and feel better adjusted since it is early and this is middle school now. Big changes for our kids at this age!

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2012
- a community member
I love this school and they have great activities such as monthly activity and sports. There is also Saturday school for kids who misbehave to do community service. This school is the best school I ever been to.

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Kawananakoa is an EXCELLENT school due to the principal, teachers, and staff that work there! My son has already moved on to high school but my daughter is still there and they both enjoy(ed) it. They have a great PTSA and a lot of support.


Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I really feel like the staff cares about the well being and academic success of my child.

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
They have a very good curriculum and a principal that is on the ball.

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Kawananakoa is one of the only middle schools in Honolulu with a Blue Ribbon award for its wonderful science program. The PSTA is very active and supportive of KMS teachers and staff.


Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted June 03, 2008
- a student
This school is awesome. Everyone is happy there and the teachers work hard. The teachers are fun and you can get a quality education there. Anyone there is sure to make friends.

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2007
- a parent
My daughter thrived in her 3 years here. She started as a shy girl and blossomed into a confident, outgoing teenager. She had supportive and dedicated teachers who helped her reach her potential. Academically, there Science program (and their camping, Kauai, Maui, and DC trip) and extracurricular programs fromRobotics, to Orchestra, to Drama make this school a cut above the rest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School
49 Funchal St, Honolulu, HI  96813
(808) 587-4430
Last modified Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prince David Kawananakoa Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top