Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public district
Honolulu, HI
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kamiloiki Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Despite the new principal making changes with out parent input. The teachers continue to be what makes this school great.

Kamiloiki Elementary School 4

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
I would give this school 5 stars if they had a better principal. He has made significant changes to the school staff and academic programs without consulting or informing parents. He avoids letting parents communicate their concerns. Instead we get a presentation rather than discussion.


Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a community member
The teachers work very well with the students to make sure all course material is completed and understood. A lot of the teachers often spend extra time before/after school to help students with homework.

Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Great teachers, Principal, counselor and staff. In our child's first week there was a concern of feeling intimidated by other kids. The teacher dealt with it immediately. They've given kids the tools to deal with conflict at such a young age. I go there everyday and observe; I know many of the kids thru outside of school activities and there is no fear and a lot of support among each other. Enrollment has consistently increased in the last 4 years.

Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Kamiloiki Elementary Honolulu, Hawaii The principle is very hands on and gets involved with every aspect of the school. She is always pleasant and greets everyone. She get to know all the parents and students. My son's teacher offers study time before and after school. She teaches them to time manage, which I feel is very important in life. She is always there to help her students and she communicates well to the students and the parents. My daughter attended Kamiloiki and is now at middle school. What she had learned at Kamiloiki has helped her succeed in middle school. The skills she had learned at Kamiloiki helps her balance her school work and outside activities. She is able to balance playing volleyball, modeling, cheerleading, coach volleyball and community service. Balancing all of these activities and helping with the family, she is able to achieve great grades in school. Kamiloiki is a GREAT SCHOOL.


Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
The administration is outstanding and consistently strives to support the students and teachers. The principal is very dedicated and has made significant positive changes to the school in order to assist the staff. As with all schools, there is bullying and foul language within the student population, but it is dealt with promptly and very thoughtfully when brought to the attention of the principal. This is a very caring staff dedicated to encouraging young minds to grow in intellect and mannerism. They encourage and teach students how to resolve issues between each other and are available when assistance is needed.

Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
The Principal is very hands on and knows what is going on around the school! (not always the case in Hawaii Public Schools) Staff has been so helpful in helping my children transition mid-year! Thank You

Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
Excellent principal, teachers and staff! The school deals with teasing and bullying promptly and they nurture the children to mentor others to caring and respectful to everyone. Bullying at this school is "not cool" and they focus more on developing positive self esteem and inner strength in each child. Parents are much more involved now than before. The school is now working towards becoming an IB school. The east honolulu schools rock!


Kamiloiki Elementary School 2

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Very disappointed alot of kids that bully and nobody does anything about it. This is two times and they let it go. I had to pull my child out of school, and I am not the only one who has done this. I just hope they realize before anyone gets hurts because they are scared to tell.

Kamiloiki Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2011
- a parent
i could not be happer with Kamiloiki Elementary school my son who is in the 1st grade was attending a priviate school from YP and P and I am just as happy with where were at now. He is getting a great education and the teachers and principal and admin staff are wonderful. thank you for the excellent care and teaching and we look forward to each year at this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kamiloiki Elementary School
7788 Hawaii Kai Dr, Honolulu, HI  96825
(808) 397-5800
Last modified Kamiloiki Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kamiloiki Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top