Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kaimuki Middle School 2

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
My son is a student at Kaimuki. While most the teachers at Kaimuki are great if you have a problem with one right or wrong the school will not advocate for the student. There is very little teacher accountability. I moved to Hawaii with a straight A student and will be moving back home with a student who has A's one B and currently an F. The teacher has been cruel to him by causing him to miss lunches and wander around the school looking for answers to what was wrong with his paper while refusing to help him when he didn't understand the information on her rubric. When all was said and done all that was missing was a period after the html. This is one example of many. She has also asked him to keep things between them and spoken derogatorily about me. I feel for the other kids in the class whose parents maybe aren't involved and who have to go it alone,

Kaimuki Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a community member
Kaimuki Middle School has the best teacher/staff anyone could ask for. They are always helping you and they are very understanding and kind. Each grade is split up into different teams like 6th Grade has Na Koa, Na Hoku, and Laulima. 7th has Hui Ho'oulu, Lokahi, and Helu Ekahi. I don't know 8th grades though. I'm only in 7th grade. We have the best music program Ukulele, Band, Orchestra, and Chorus. Each year, some band, orhcestra, and chorus students go to Elementary schools and play for them teaching them about the instruments. Its really fun. I like all the activities and sports they have. We have health classes and CTE.


Kaimuki Middle School 4

Posted December 28, 2013
- a community member
Kaimuki Middle School is overall a good school in my opinion. Some of the best features of this school are the teachers, the Music program, and the energy of me and my fellow classmates. To start off with the teachers, they are very nice. If a student needs help and/or a student has an issue with education or a classmate, teachers will talk to you in their free time to come up with the best solution. Teacher also have tutoring time after school, and can help students with any homework in order for students to fully understand their work. Now for the Music Program. There are is a wide variety of options for any of the students which include, Band, Orchestra, Chorus, and Ukulele. All of which is a great experience. Students must attend one of the classes daily, perform in concerts, and have the option for an annual trip that can take you around the world! One final thing that I found great are a couple of my classmates. The whole class can create an environment of teamwork and energy which is great for any student. Every school can have great things to it, and not so good things. "KMS" sometimes feels unsafe, as there are no fences or protection to it. Other than that it's great,

Kaimuki Middle School 4

Posted October 03, 2013
- a community member
Kaimuki was a pretty good school, except that they move at a fast pace and the teachers don't get paid for staying after school, hence students are unable to get help if they have fallen behind. We had one of or the best public middle school band on Oahu, and we made up a good percentage of graduating kids that were accepted and now attend private schools. Overall, I think that Kaimuki just needs to put more struggling students into slower, more helpful classes, just like any other public school in America.

Kaimuki Middle School 1

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
This is not a good school for kids on the lower side of standards. They do not offer any supportive services if your child is struggling to keep up. My daughter would try coming during recess or after school for help, but the teacher would have appointments to go to or not available. They don't offer any tutoring like other schools do. I asked if she could be in a lower class rather then keep following behind. I was told that they have thousands of kids and they don t have anymore lower classes available. When I asked about the law no child left behind they said that they are in the standards. My opinion is that this is an uncaring school. They only care about meeting the standard and not about the kids being left behind as long as they have enough kids that do meet the standards they don t have to help the kids that don t.


Kaimuki Middle School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a community member
kaimuki middle school is a great school with a lot of fun and nice students

Kaimuki Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kaimuki Middle School 5

Posted December 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Kaimuki Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Administration, faculty, staff begin the vision, the parents help out, the children live it:'KMS, a place with heart that challenges and strengthens the mind, body, and spirit

Kaimuki Middle School 1

Posted October 02, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kaimuki Middle School
631 18th Ave, Honolulu, HI  96816
(808) 733-4800
Last modified Kaimuki Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kaimuki Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top