Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hahaione Elementary School 2

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 kids in Hahaione and I'm having the worst experience I could imagine...It's out first full year in the school. In almost 6 years of preschool and elementry in other places never had anything similar. I completly agree with the prior review, hoping is not to late to apply for GE to move my kids to another school.

Hahaione Elementary School 2

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
This School has changed a lot since former principal, vice principal and Mrs.Amber left in 2014. School is losing parent volunteers to help school events, too. I was very active parents at this school, but do not feel like helping anymore. Students are losing motivation and the school is making them feel frustrated. This school does not discipline children, but punish them. (5th grade students won't be able to participate in their school trip after receiving one referral letter, and second one? they won't be able to participate in their graduation party on the last day!!!) Our children deserve good teachers and a great leader at school to help them, teach them and guide them.


Hahaione Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
My son is in the second grade and is having a good experience so far. Amber Stanley, a first grade teacher, is absolutely fantastic. My son has blonde hair and blue eyes and we've never sensed any discrimination as described by another poster. I would like to know which teacher in particular she is referring to. I gave only 4 stars because there's always room for improvement, right?

Hahaione Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2011
- a parent
This is a really good school. Mr. Bradley the 5th grade teacher is outstanding, he is the kind of teacher the kids really like and yet he gets the job done and communicates daily via email. The variety of after-school programs available is much better than those offered at our previous (private) school. the facilities are nice and spacious, the computers are new Macs, and the parents are all involved. There are a lot of events like Ohana Night, Talent Show, and Halloween Fun. So glad it's our neighborhood school!!! Unlike some schools, most kids here really are from the neighborhood.

Hahaione Elementary School 2

Posted January 03, 2011
- a parent
I wish that my son had the same positive experiences at Hahaione as some of these other students report. However, my son is blond with blue eyes. He was treated very poorly by his teacher and I believe that it was absolutely race-based discrimination. She made many "haole" jokes and derogatory remarks. My son is very bright, but in front of the entire class she humiliated him and asked him if he was retarded. She mocked him and asked if he wanted to go to special ed. (Since leaving Hahaione, my child has been in gifted and talented classes exclusively) Regardless of whether or not he needed special ed, the childish way that she treated a child was reprehensible. No child should be humiliated and Special Ed isn't a punishment, it is a program to help kids with special needs. When I attempted repeatedly to work it out with the principal, I received a lot of promises and lip service, but no follow through. Eventually I reported the problems to the superintendent who took immediate action. The reason I am giving this school 2 stars instead of 1 is because after the superintendent got involved, things improved immensely for the duration of my son't fifth grade year.


Hahaione Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2010
- a parent
We joined Hahaione last year and are very fond of the school. Parents are heavily involved and teachers are (for the most part) exceptional.

Hahaione Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2010
- a parent
We're on our fourth year at Haha'ione Elementary and are so happy with our school. Wonderful teachers, involved parents, happy kids. Exposure to music, Hawaiiana, foreign language, physical education and more -- and all that begins in Kindergarten! Plus, the PYP Programme offers curriculum focused on global thinking and community-mindedness.

Hahaione Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Their constant effort to improve learning and our community


Hahaione Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
It's a great school, my daughter is in Kindergarten and she loves it. She has been better behaved since she started school there, her teacher works with the kids through a reward system so that really has helped my daughter. They PTA is awesome they plan many great events and the parents really get involved and help the kids really love their school.

Hahaione Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
Great school, great parents. Both my daughters love it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hahaione Elementary School
595 Pepeekeo St, Honolulu, HI  96825
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (808) 397-5822
Last modified Hahaione Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top