Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
Honolulu, HI

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a community member
In reality, this school is a very good school. They may have been through a lot in past experiences that gave them a bad reputation, but that was the past. Many things have changed in the school, and I consider the whole school, a big Ohana. The teachers, and students are very kind, and loving. But some are very rude, and obnoxious, and that's okay. I hope we could put the past away, and focus on whats more important. Education for the children. - Student of Central, DL.

Central Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
i really believe that central is rough school but it is also a very intelligent school as well. it has been a long time and things have changed at this school. the school is like a family enviroment where everybody gets along with each other. the school also has great academic successes as well. they have gotten 6 years accreditation by the WASC (Western Association for Schools and Colleges because of the outstanding in the involement of the students within the school and it is the student of central that lead to the success of the school. academics is very high to because of the teachers at central who are willing to connect with the kids and help them to pass. they push the students above what the students thought they can accomplished and let them surpass their goals. it is also because of the bond between students and teachers that lead to the 6 year accreditation that it has today.


Central Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2012
- a community member
This school was the best middle school I've ever been to. The teachers are all amazing,loving and funny. But some student are really rude mean and inconsiderate. I'm gonna be honest and say, its mostly the Micronesion that makes the school looked bad. But everything else are awesome

Central Middle School 1

Posted April 22, 2012
- a community member
Basically, I know Central is a difficult school to get along with because Im from Kawananakoa and there are many incidents of Central kids coming on the property and fighting with the students. I wish the kids are more respectful and friendly

Central Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Central Middle School definitely has a reputation for being a poorly disciplined, 'rough' school. The truth is, it is. But at the same time, its more of a family than a school. The teachers are incredibly supportive and friendly, and love to chat. The students- although they can certainly be rowdy, inside the doors of Central, everyone understands each other, and are all there to be your friend, and have fun, and learn what they can.


Central Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2010
- a community member
the teachers are nice and cool but the students can be very harsh to others and can give the school a bad reputation

Central Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central Middle School 2

Posted January 17, 2009
- a student
students are very rough and disrespectful; teachers are great and all, but the students give the school a bad rep


Central Middle School 2

Posted January 17, 2009
- a student
Okay, I was once a central middle school student, but i recently transferred. The school is...a bit rough. I wouldn't say the all of the children are insubordinate, but i know there a is a good number of them. The teachers seem, somewhat over powered by students. They talk back to the teachers and chronically disobey.

Central Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2009
- a community member
This is the worst middle school I know in Honolulu, many fights occur, many insubordinate children attend this school. Honestly my years here have been the worse and there are many bullies. It's very easy to get into honor classes, which is basically for teaching 'regular' students. If you plan on attending this school, think twice. They have poor testing scores and did not even make AYP.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Middle School
1302 Queen Emma St, Honolulu, HI  96813
(808) 587-4400
Last modified Central Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top