Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ala Wai Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

my daughter went there on her fifth year. and then my son just last year attended kindergarten there. both my children had a blast there. my son especially. he enjoyed everyday day that he went to school. and his teacher did an outstanding job. we moved last summer. the school his attending right now is mesmerized at how much he knows. he received a N.Gresham blue ribbon reward last fall for his outstanding effort. thanks to ala wai school for setting that foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My son went to this school last school year 2009-2010. He was in kindergarten, his teacher was extraordinary, she always went above and beyond with my son. I always saw the principal around asking for feedback and making sure everyone was on the same page. I love this school; my son had a beautiful experience. We left Honolulu because we are a military family and we truly miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Our experience with Ala Wai Elementary has been nothing but positive. My oldest son has attended for 2 yrs now (K and 1st). His first grade teacher, Mrs. Sato, has gone out of her way to keep him engaged and challenged in class. This school really cares about it's students, academically and emotionally. Even with 'furlough Fridays' and budget cuts they continue to give it everything they have. The Principal, Mrs. Unni and Vice Principal Mrs, Mendonca are very active at the school, and highly visible and approchable. (I've even seen them directing traffic to keep our keiki safe). Mr. Yim, the lower grades Counselor, is always keeping an eye out for new ways to help the kids. Mr. Toby and Miss Ruthie from the PSAP program are dedicated to the children in their care. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Ala Wai School is awesome. The teachers and staff are very caring about the individual child. My child is fortunate to be in this school. I don't know the Principal personally but she must be quite a wonderful woman; Counselor Mr. Makaimoku is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

This school has the best teachers and principal and the school counselor is so positive in his dealings with the young students. Claudia England


Posted April 23, 2008

My son is in their Preschool. The teachers and aides are so good with the kids and I feel the communication lines between the teachers and parents is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

My daughter is in Kindergarten and I am very impressed with the way the teachers have been teaching. My daughter comes home everyday with something new. This is way different than when I was in School. Ms Unni and the Vice principal are always around to help the students and also attend alot of the parent functions or school activities. Today for example, there was a fun fair and I saw both principals there. This is an awsome school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

My child attended the Ala Wai from 1st to 5th grade and A+ for all 5 years and graduated. The teachers were wonderful, staff was helpful, classmates were great, and the fellow parents were friendly too! Ms. Unni is a hands-on principal, always there for the children and takes charge of everything! A wonderful person. No wonder Ala Wai Elementary was 1 of the 3 schools to be nominated for the NCLB's Blue Ribbon School Program! I am proud to say that my child graduated from Ala Wai Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My son is in K and is enjoying school and A+ at Ala Wai - so much so that he cries when I pick him up early! It is too early into the school year to yet determine anything on a learning level, so we are just happy that he is happy. Our only concern is the size of his class (25) and hope this is not the same in the higher grades. Aloha, Michele Pokung, parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

First of all, my English is limited. However I'd like to talk about Ala Wai Elementary School. I have 2children, boy and girl who are from Japan. My children go at Ala wai Elementary School. They are 2 grade and 4 grade. They are so lucky why class teachers are wonderful and great teacher ever. I look back on this year I really appreciate school teachers who are class teachers, councelor teacher, and ELL teachter. My daughter came to Hawaii 3month ago. Class teacher who is so wonderful and helpful for her. My daughter enjoy going to school so far. Coucelor teachter help to go to school my daughter who was stuggled when she came here first time. My son's class teacher is a great teacher who is a kind and wonderful. I am thankful and greatful this year. I really appreciate them who are Mrs. Yamazaki, Mrs.Kwee, Mr.Yim and Mrs. Kobayashi. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

My daughter is in the 1st grade at Ala Wai Elementary. She loves to go to school every day and enjoys learning. Her teachers are friendly, conscientious, and wonderful educators. When my daughter started Kindergarten last year, I reviewed and visited the five public schools near our home and work. We chose Ala Wai Elementary because of their caring staff, high standards, and school vision. The Principal, Ms. Unni, can be found on the school grounds everyday interacting with the children and providing guidance. Our family believes that the care and attention provided to each student is just as important as the curriculum taught each day. We firmly believe in Ala Wai Elementary and make every effort to support this school by helping with the PTSA, fund-raisers, and chaperoning fieldtrips. Ala Wai's Vision for our Children: Believe, Achieve, Succeed. Dream Big and Make It Happen! Wonderful concepts for children of all ages to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 46% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
Two or more races 11% 8%
White 10% 14%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

503 Kamoku St
Honolulu, HI 96826
Phone: (808) 973-0070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Iolani School
Honolulu, HI






Aikane O Hokulani
Honolulu, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT