Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Patrick School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $681,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2007

Saint Patrick is a private school in the small town of Kaimuki, where teachers and administration are committed to the highest quality of education for each child. Especially in the past year, the staff has been working to implement current techniques and research. The new attitude at the school is one of respect for one another and how important learning is. Excellent education where every child is important.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2007

Learning for All Kindness, patience, welcoming spirit, cooperative learning, high expectations
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2007

Teachers at saint patrick are simply outstanding professionals. A new principal and pastor have restored discipline and parent involvement. Excellent educational opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Saint Patrick's School is a place for any child who wants to learn and succeed. The teachers are outstanding! Administration is up to date in their techniques and are attempting to implement the latest programs. The music program is to be noted. The Science program is a mainstay. The computer lab teaches students life long skills. Reading is a new emphasis. Teachers are caring, giving, talented, and wonderful with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

Saint Patrick School is creating an environment where all children can learn. There is new leadership, and the teaching staff is one of the best in Hawaii. Our children love to attend school. The teaching is exceptional, although the staff has very high expectations for each child. Saint Patrick's is a country school in the middle of a big city. Every kid is important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

The school has undergone major reform with the new administration. We are very happy with the changes and see the quality returning to what the school has experienced in the past when we first enrolled our child here. Teachers are caring and freindly, very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

My son went to kindergarten for one month and we were not only disappointed, but fearful for his safety, and had to pull him out and relocate him to another private school. The focus on silly things such as hair being no longer than an inch long and no characters (other than Nike, for whatever reason) on his shoes would have been better spent on making sure that the children were supervised and safe. Very substandard in my opinion and I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

The level of parent involvement varies from teacher to teacher. Some of the teachers use intimidation methods to try to get the students motivated and will belittle the child in front of others. The better teachers seem to be moving onto other private schools. Wish there was more of an effort to work with the child's learning style rather than
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

I am very disappointed at the level that some of the teachers are concerned and help the children. There's more to a child than just how high they can score on a test. Also, at a Catholic school you would think that teachers would have a level of integrity and not
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

St. Patrick School is an excellent, affordable, Catholic School in Hawaii. The atmosphere is much more friendly that what you would find at other private schools in Hawaii. You truly feel like family. Although the discipline program needs some reinforcement, and maintenance is required in some common areas, it is an excellent school with some of the best teachers I have ever encountered.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 16, 2004

St. Patrick School is good school, tuitions low, year round, but it would be a greater school if the academics were just a bit better. The teacher turn-over is a factor in this too. Teacher evaluations submitted by the parents should be considered at the end of the 1st semester and at the end of each school year to help improve on what is now in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

The school has a nuturing and caring enviornment. I would prefer more integrated learning lessons rather than just primarily worksheets. I think the funds and resources are very limited and that's where the school lacks in providing an interesting and exciting learning experience via projects and hands on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

academics at this school is pretty good. but, they tend to lean towards intimidation for discipline. especialy in the upper grades. (5-8)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 53% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 23% 34%
Two or more races 10% 8%
White 9% 14%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Honolulu
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3320 Harding Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816
Phone: (808) 734-8979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Louis School
Honolulu, HI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT