Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Patrick School

Private | PK-8 | 343 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $681,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

Saint Patrick School is ALL ABOUT EXCELLENT TEACHING and creating a LEARNING ENVIRONMENT where children excel academically, socially and personally. Children are happy at Saint Patrick School. They want to go to school and learn. This is reason enough to send your child to this school. The administration leads with vision and professionalism. The principal is constantly working to support excellent instruction, and is present with children. The teachers are the BEST IN HAWAII. They love children and teaching. They are committed to providing the best education for every student. Saint Patrick School is unique in many ways. It offers electives in the arts, performing arts, sciences, physical education, advanced math, and world languages. The curriculum is aligned to National Core Standards. Morning and after school care, summer programs, field trips, educational opportunities for parents, and technology is integrated into every classroom. Saint Patrick subscribes to BYOD. Today decides tomorrow. Children are our future. Saint Patrick school is hard at work, educating our next generation in Hawaii.


Posted May 7, 2013

Children love learning at Saint Patrick School! Our children are thriving in school. They come home and are excited about what they learned during the day. I can talk easily with their teachers, and i feel like we are partners in our children's education. The administration has a "real open door policy." I feel welcome in the principal's office. Saint Patrick School uses Ed Line so we can look at homework, assignments, and grades on-line at anytime. Every Sunday we receive a phone call with information about the coming week. Our children's teachers stay in contact with us personally and by phone and e-mail. We feel very much apart of our children's education. Our family loves how Saint Patrick School educates for the future. Our kids love how technology is included in all subject areas. Art, Music, PE, World Languages, and Tutoring are things our children really love about school. As parents, we want the best education possible in Hawaii for our children. Saint Patrick School is providing this for our children with their commitment to meeting national standards. Your children too will love learning at Saint Patrick School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

Saint Patrick School is GREAT for kids! The teachers, principal and office staff work so hard to make learning fun! I am a graduate and now a parent at Saint Patrick School. I send my kids to Saint Patrick because of the EXCELLENT TEACHERS. I also love that the curriculum is based on national standards assuring me that my kids will be as prepared for college as I was. My kids love Math, Social Studies, PE, Reading, Writing, and the Cooperative Learning. Saint Patrick School is all about kids and learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

This school is just terrifically horrible. My child learn absolutely nothing and I am surprised how lazy the teachers are. Some of them are good but most of them would not help my child in what they are having trouble on and I think most of them don't care. I am pretty sure the teachers have a "favorite students" and give them good grades. Also my child has told me that they are not allowed to run around or play tag. I think kids should go out and play. Also from what I see is most of the kids don't even play. Also the teachers just go walking around when they play like security guards or something. Also I like how the school always want money from parents but then they give nothing in return. I hear my child rarely go on field trips. My child has been to other schools like Royal school and Jefferson and this one was the worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

Exception teachers and Principal leadership in a very caring environment that has zero tolerance for bullying and nurtures sharing and compasion in fellowship among all their students. They have a contemporary approach to old school teaching which emphasizes traditional academic sckills without losing site of technology. My kid easily engages in his lessons and learrns a great deal. We are very please with his progress as a well rounded student and his peers also reflect this kind of educational status. Certainly all private schools are good, but this one is truly excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

With the implementation of new programs and technology, students are able to learn and succeed in a great learning environment. Safe school. Nice students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

Saint Patrick School has continued to develop into an excellent school. I have children in their early learning program and couldn't be happier. They are at least a year ahead of where they would be in the local public schools, and happier than if they were in one of the larger private schools. I look forward to seeing them continue through their 8th Grade. I have seen great things in their upper grades with the intergration of technology into the classes. I especially like the idea of internet based texts being used in the classroom. Saint Patrick also uses Edline which helps me stay informed about what is happening with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

St. Patrick provides a balanced curriculum that educates the whole child. The Christian values are emphasized throughout the curriculum. The teachers demonstrate a strong sense of community and care for each and every student. The School offers a quality education for all children including preschool. That's great news for young familiies in our neighborhood.


Posted February 28, 2010

I taught at this school in the 70's. I thought it was a good school then. Now that I have grand children in the school, it is a great school. The school has advanced so much and the programs offered are preparing students for highschool. My grand child will be applying for a private highschool because of the preparation at St. Patrick. Thank you.


Posted July 28, 2009

Compared to other private schools of this 'league', this has to be the worst. Only recently new technology and 'normal' procedures been adopted. The school also has bad funds, so it cannot afford many things needed for a higher-quality education to be expected. The staff of teachers there are absolutely horrible. I admit, there are some excellent experienced teachers, but most are just bad. The students aren't even educated very well. They aren't being prepared for high school and the real world. Bad methods and some teachers are overly aggressive, creating a serious self-esteem problem. The actual physical environment is well-suited for learning, but it is not taken advantage of. The poorly funded extra curricular programs are of no use, and your money is better used elsewhere. Bad funding, bad teachers, insufficient staff, and bad environment make this one of the worst schools. Your money is put to waste here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

The school's technology has just gotton better and better. first LCD projectors,Second laptops for the older students, and our newest technology Smartboards for 5th -6th math and 7th-8th grade science
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2009

This School is child centered. Teachers address what my child needs. she is doing so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

This school is great. I am a former teacher and I have gone to some of the best Catholic Schools in the United States. St. Patricks tuition is also very reasonable considering the value you get for the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

I think its a wonderful school. My child has been doing better and challenging herself more than her previous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My child has been attending Saint Patrick School since the 2nd grade. I believe the transition of a new principle and new guidelines in teaching, instructing, homework and extra-cirricular activities have greatly improved the credibility of the school. I have witnessed a great improvement in my child's scholastic performance. The school encourages everyone to be a well-rounded student. From traditional subjects to elective courses in art, music and language, can only enhance each child. There is a sense of family amongst faculty, parents and student-body. The athletics programs offers each child an opportunity to learn a sport and teaches team play. All transitions begin with 'bumps in the road', however, I have seen progress in the last two years with this school and am duly impressed. From a parent whose child in now in the 8th grade and will graduate May 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

This school was so much better when the previous principal was there. She made the school feel safe, fun, and comfortable. Now this new principal she does not back up the kids at all. My daughter has been going to St. Patrick for two years and I am pulling her out. I have gone to a private school in the mainland and they would take care of their students. I believe St. Patrck is just out for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

The school is doing a wonderful job implementing new technology. Laptops for student use in the classrooms, LCD projectors for interactive classes, Edline for parent access to all student activities, homework, grades and teacher communications are just a few things that are coming up!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2007

The faculty and staff are so welcoming to a new parent. The office staff took us on a tour and helped us with transitioning from our old school (which we really liked and missed).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Dedicated and caring teachers with vision Assessment strategies electronic Children learn to care for each other Mental, Spiritual, Physical, Emotional aspects of the whole child are focused on
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 23, 2007

SPS is a close community with high expectations for achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 53% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 23% 34%
Two or more races 10% 8%
White 9% 14%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Honolulu
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3320 Harding Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816
Phone: (808) 734-8979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Louis School
Honolulu, HI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT