Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8|Private
229 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Star Of The Sea School 3

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
My child has enjoyed Mary, Star of the Sea. The teachers here do a great job connecting with students; SOS feels like a small family. There is a wonderful art teacher on campus. This school also provides PE, Foreign Languages, Ukulele, Music, Band, Technology and after school activities. Because of the small class sizes, students receive much more attention than they would in public school or a big private school such as Punahou. This school is great for English learners and students with mild disabilities! The principal is friendly and available however I have noticed some favoritism towards some parents/families. This could be due to personal relationships as her children also attend the school. I think SOS has some growing to do. Very few teachers are actually certified, as I have checked on the Hawaii State Board site. Upon visiting my child's classroom and looking at his work brought home, the curriculum is nothing spectacular and the ways of teaching is nothing near innovative or great. This, for me is scary. One would choose a doctor with credentials and up to date training, right? Why would one pay to send their child to a school where all teachers are not teacher certified, highly qualified, and trained on current practices?

Star Of The Sea School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
Catholic teachings teach this. Every month students discuss these character traits and they are rewarded for it weekly!


Star Of The Sea School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
At Star of the Sea School, faith based character education is an integral component of the curriculum. Students grow to become self aware confident students with an active awareness of the needs of others and an appreciation for one another's differences.

Star Of The Sea School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Star of the Sea School provides academic excellence and prepares their students socially and spiritually for high school success!

Star Of The Sea School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher is the best. All classmates and their parents are happy. Principal is so nice. Great school!


Star Of The Sea School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
My three children have attended this school for more than six years and we love it. They like going to school every day; they have teachers who really care about their learning and a wonderful support staff. The principal is also very hands on and involved in the school. Class size is small (averages about 14) and the homework is appropriate for the grade level, thank goodness! They learn a lot (their standardized test scores are great but I like the fact that they are not the main emphasis of the school). They have a very strong science program, too. The students are all involved in school activities and events, and have many opportunities to take leadership roles and participate. I like that everyone can play a role, not just a few of the "superstar" students. I also like that values and respect are part of the curriculum. And the tuition is "affordable" by Hawaii standards. I have found the teachers very approachable and responsive; they respond to my occasional emails the day I send them. Not all children do well at a small school, but if you think yours might, come check it out. If you tour the campus, you will see lively, engaged students going about their day.

Star Of The Sea School 2

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
My son came home dragging from this school everyday. The curriculum and way of teaching was old and uninspiring. The teacher played favorites depending upon who the parents were. She did not send out emails but relied on paper flyers to communicate info about upcoming events (which our son would lose). The schoolwork was repetitious and monotonous rather than challenging and innovative. We took our son out and put him in the local public school which was much much better. It's too bad b/c we liked the campus and the moral instruction he received here.

Star Of The Sea School
no rating

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
My child has attended Star of the Sea for the last two years. It has been a great experience. We felt welcomed at the school from the start after moving here from the mainland. The classrooms are large, light, bright and air conditioned. There is a specialized music teacher, art teacher, computer teacher and P.E. coach and a nice, well stocked library. The class size is small - less than 20 per class, with two classes per grade level. Homeroom teachers really get to know each student and their strengths and weaknesses. I think this school is a bargain - 1/2 half the price of many of the bigger more well known schools in Honolulu. Academics are good quality and on par with what we had at our mainland private school. My child is happy and thriving there.


Star Of The Sea School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
My son has been at Star of the Sea ELC for both preschool and kindergarten. He absolutely love it and I love it too. The teachers are fabulous, kind, supportive, loving and full of amazing ways to teach. The facilities are state of the art, computer labs, incredible playground, soccer field, swings, jungle gyms, sand boxes, just to name a few. My son has flourished in this school and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Star Of The Sea School 3

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
A decent school, but same old boring curriculum for middle school. Not inspiring love of learning in my child. Some behavior problems hold back classes. Wish there was better supervision between classes and recess.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Star Of The Sea School
4469 Malia Street, Honolulu, HI  96821
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (808) 734-0208
Last modified Star Of The Sea School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Top