Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family Catholic Academy

Private | K-8 | 511 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2012

My daughter attended HFCA for 5 years. The middle school is a hit or miss. Math, Language Arts, and Art were incredible. The teachers in these subjects area pushed my daughter to excel and they helped nurture her artistic abilities. The other subject areas did not meet our expectations but that might due to the frequent change over in the other subjects. Overall, it really is an EXCELLENT school with a Principal who cares about her students and knows all their names!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

My son has attended HFCA for the past several years, and we have been very happy with the school. He's had the opportunity to perform with his band in the Aloha Week Parade, the Honolulu City Lights Parade, and even Disneyland. He's participated on basketball, volleyball, and track teams that have usually placed 1st or 2nd in the league. He's been challenged academically, and he's a kind, caring kid who has been prepared very well for the next school he attends. The only minus is that the facilities are old, but they are very well-maintained. I highly recommend HFCA, and I don't think you'll find a better school on the island for this price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

My son has attended HFCA from ELC and is presently in 3rd grade. I can envision him staying through 8th grade. The school fosters building great character and citizenship. The facilities are worn, but well-kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

I was a public schooler from K-7 and the when I moved to Hawaii for 8th grade my parents sent my to the school, not a horrible school, but certainly not the best, and not as good as my public California middle school. The worst part about this school had to be the math. The ADVANCED algebra class only got through SIX chapters, at my current high school that is what they cover in half a school year, therefore I was behind and had to take two years of summer school (that's an extra $800) just to catch up with my mainland public school that I will be returning to in the fall.


Posted February 23, 2011

I went to Holy Family from 1st grade till 8th grade. that was a really amazing school, the kids there are great. the teachers are so nice and helpful. I'm so glad i went there i was completely prepared for high-school when i graduated from 8th grade.


Posted October 1, 2010

I have 2 children - one completed ELC through 5th and the other ELC through 3rd. HFCA's focus on character education sets it apart from other schools and is the reason we enrolled our kids. Academically, it is better than most public schools, and on par with small private schools. Might not be a good fit for very gifted kids. Curriculum suffers from large class size (35 students). It's routine to progress only halfway through textbooks by year's end. Teachers do not develop critical thinking/writing b/c there are too many students. No continuity and little progress in curriculum from year to year. If your goal is Punahou or Iolani, expect to supplement HFCA's lagging academics with outside tutoring and summer school. That being said, the school nurtures respectful, tolerant, responsible, caring children in a safe environment, which is priceless during the elem years. My kids are doing well, no regrets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

HFCA is such a great school...my son has been there since Kindergarten and we just love it there. My son loves the teachers and Mrs Malins is a very compassionate and great leader. This school provides the basic foundation of what it is to be Christian and also preps the children to become well rounded human beings...not to mention prepping the children to also strive for excellence in their studies. The children here get accepted to the top private schools here in the islands. This school is a small school and that's what also makes it great. The teachers will not let you fall through the cracks. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I sent my daughter to Holy Family for Pre-School and she learned more than any of my other children did at that age. I had to save money and sent her to a public school in my neighborhood for Kindergarten. Well, public school wasn't doing their job and so I sent her back to Holy Family and she loves it! She is doing excellent and the teachers are very loving! There are fundraisers that the school does, but you are not required to participate in all of them. However, this school shows compassion by fundraising for the homeless, the troops at war and more! What public school really teaches moral values and social responsibility? I know that it's not the public schools. The parents are also eager to help, which is part of the reason why the school is so successful. The price of the school is the most affordable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

We took our child out of the ELC and placed him into a much better preschool due to the fact that for us, Holy Family is not a compassionate, caring school. Sure you can spend hundreds of dollars every month, but if your child's teacher is not a kind and caring individual or has no patience, your child will not thrive. We were extremely disappointed with the ELC director as well as the Principal, especially the Principal. because they only took our child's teacher's opinion. We will never recommend Holy Family to any of our friends or family in the future. Kudos to the other families who were fortunate to get good teachers, but in our opinion, Holy Family was a waste of our time and money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

Our kids currently attend HFCA and also attended the Early Learning Center. This is a great school with wonderfully kind and loving teachers, and a caring, supportive principle in Mrs. Malins. Of course all schools do fundraising and HFCA is no different. The students all benefit from the fundraisers. We are extremely happy with our choice to have our children attend HFCA, and would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

I have had two children graduate from this school, and both were accepted to the top private schools in Hawaii for high school. I have one child still attending and find this to be the best value for the money in high school preparation. The teachers are very responsive to parents and work hard to provide extra instruction as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Seriously do the research before you put your child in the Early Learning Center. We put our child in this school because we assumed it would be a good choice. However his teacher in our opinion was not a good fit. She has only been teaching for two years and does not provide a nurturing environment for the children. Of course when you do put your children in private school, they're are countless fundraisers to do and with 2 working tull time parents it's rough to keep up. If the family is not beneficial to this school, they won't accept your child. This is just a fair warning. I know several families who have pulled their children from this school because they were very dissatisfied with the treatment their children were getting. Two thumbs down way down for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I have two daughters attending HFCA; 1st grade and 3rd grade. Both started at HFCA in kindergarten and I must say that I have been extremely fortunate to have had the best teachers! Mr. Akiona, Ms. Hill, Ms. Stites, Ms. Tremblay, Ms. Patiak and now Ms. Gibo. Ms. Malins, I believe, truly cares about the school and the students. Our after school care program is top-notch under the direction of Ms. Gay. We have an unbelievable PTG President, Ms. Jane Chang, whose enthusiasm and passion for the school is immeasurable! I consider my girls lucky to have had the opportunity to attend HFCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

I am a parent of two bright and confident Holy Family Catholic Academy students, both started from the E.L.C. (Pre-K). I feel Holy Family's well rounded curriculum prepares it's students for the challenges they'll face as the progress through grade levels on through life in the real world. Holy Family students are studious, well spoken, and exemplify humility. If you want your child to be confident and prepared for the real world, you cannot find a better foundation than that of Holy Family Catholic Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

Holy Family's ELC and Academy has been a positive experience for us. Our children are happy, learning and exceeding appropriately for their temperament and developmental age. I am surrounded by educators and developmental specialists both personally and professionally. The one consistent comment I hear from them: PARENT RESPONSIBILITY. If your goals are not being met, the PARENT must get MORE INVOLVED and INSIST on help at the first sign of trouble, no matter which school they're in or where they are in life. Parents need to learn about their children, how they learn the best, and work on their strengths. Be proactive, not complainers. The students and staff are good examples of Roman Catholic citizens, displaying respect, obedience and exemplary character from the academics to the many extracurricular activities. The Catholicity enhances our family's faith and values. Why we chose HFCA? It's a well rounded, character driven Catholic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My family's experience has been both positive and negative at HFCA. In recent years, the school has been hiring more local, qualified teachers who stay at HFCA longer and know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

This school has been fantastic for my 7th grade daughter. The academic standards have been on par with previous Department of Defense and Virginia Schools. I'm very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

This has been by far the most upsetting school year I have ever experienced for my children. I have to say that it has been a complete watse of nealy $17,000 especially for my older child. The curriculum goes from one extreme to another with 3rd grade having what I would call simple math and spelling to the over whelming amount of 5th grade homework being very challenging and time consuming. There are nights when homework can consume 4 hours and most weekends. My poor rateing for this school is not based on the curriculm but on the teachers, I cannot fault elc to 3rd grade. The principal needs to open her eyes and see the money these teachers are losing her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

What a difference a year makes. With the new administration HFCA is beginning to excell in so many areas. We were extremely pleased with the education of our 3rd and 5th grade students. Our children are happy and can't wait to go back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

HFCA is a wonderful school. We have been very happy with the quality of education our daughter has received in Kindergarten. The phonics program is top notch and she has surpassed many children we know in first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 41% N/A
White 32% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 14% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Honolulu
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Main St
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 423-9611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Assets School
Honolulu, HI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT