Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended CCA since Kindergarten (now in eighth grade). The school is located in Nuuanu between Kuakini and School Street, next to the Japanese Consulate and Soto Mission. It is approx 1.5 miles to downtown. The parish church is the Cathedral of Our Lady of Peace in downtown; the same church where Father/Saint Damien was ordained. I was referred to the school by a co-worker when I was looking for an affordable Catholic school that was close to work and would establish a good foundation for the larger private high schools. I can't say enough positive things about CCA, but the proof is in my child's success! When he began, I noticed that the older students looked after the younger and everyone knew each other by name. The school participates (and does very well) in state math competitions, televised game shows, and annual science fairs. It utilizes new technology and teaching methods and the teachers listen and interact with the students in open discussions. The campus is humble, the programs are smaller, and the building is older; don't expect shiny, new or million dollar landscaping. The focus of the school is the students' success and the teachers' development.

Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
Cathedral Catholic Academy is the best kept secret! A definite DIAMOND in the ruff!!! Both our son & daughter have attended CCA for the past 2 yrs. We moved them there in 4th & 6th grades after being disappointed with another private, Catholic school in Manoa. Since moving to CCA, both our children's grades and national test scores have improved dramatically. They have developed a love for learning, setting their own personal goals to make honor roll and perfect attendance every semester. We attribute their positive change in attitude to the personal attention they receive from their teachers and the overall nurturing environment. CCA may not be able to compete with other larger schools when it comes to facilities, but they more than make up for it when it comes to nurturing teachers and staff, who are passionate and committed to the academic success of their students. CCA is proof that bigger, is not necessarily better.


Cathedral Catholic Academy 4

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
This school has been such a blessing to my son. The staff and children are so friendly and kind and all of the children interact with eachother no matter the age difference. The only reason I gave the school 4 stars in because I wish they had more arts education programs but other than that, it is truly an amazing school. The dedication and determination of the staff really makes this one of the best schools on island!

Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
This is my daughters first year attending CCA and without hesitation I would recommend this school for any child! I have two daughters at larger more expensive private schools but neither of those schools compares to CCA which has a unique value that provides education, character and spirituality in smaller unassuming yet highly effective way for their students. On her first day at CCA the students were welcoming and friendly, not what you would expect from middle schoolers. They welcomed her by name...she felt instant acceptance and inclusion, She joined the VBall Team and although not the best player on the team the spirit of love and aloha that was experienced. The Team was awarded "Best Sportsmanship" for the whole League. CCA provides a solid academic foundation but more importantly they nurture the students character, That's Priceless! My daughter loves going to school each day and that speaks volumes about CCA!

Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a student
this school is very kind and nice it has the most nicest teachers in the world


Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding school! We were initially a bit nervous to put our child in, because CCA was not really one of the 'name' schools in Honolulu. But we have rewarded many times over. The school community truly is an ohana in the best possible way. Most highly recommended.

Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a community member
Cathedral Catholic Academy is a wonderful school where all of the staff members work together with parents to enrich the lives of their children. CCA teachers strive to educate the whole person and to really know each student. Students learn more than just textbook information, they learn about moral and civic responsibility. CCA is a family school where everyone knows each other. The low student-to-teacher ratio, rigorous academics, extra curricular activities, and caring faculty make Cathedral Catholic Academy a really 'great school.'

Cathedral Catholic Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cathedral Catholic Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2009
- a teacher
This school is the best kept secret in Honolulu. The small class sizes allow students to extend their learning experiences and create more 'ohana' style relationships with other students, parents and the community.

Cathedral Catholic Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
This school is Honolulu's best kept secret! It's minutes away from downtown, the classes are small, the faculty is exceptional. Each child is nutured individually. Everyone knows each other's name. The children are taught well and are well cared for - it's a parent's dream!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cathedral Catholic Academy
1728 Nuuanu Avenue, Honolulu, HI  96817
(808) 533-2069
Last modified Cathedral Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Cathedral Catholic Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top