Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Punahou School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2009

While I agree Punahou has outstanding teachers, curriculum and facilities, it saddens me that there is too much emphasis and competition between students on materialistic & socio-economic status. You are all there for a common cause - to get a good education. Don't flaunt your money or wealth - it's not polite and shows how shallow you are. Have some compassion as your fellow student may not be as fortunate.


Posted March 25, 2009

Great school. Very big & huge offering for gifted & talented scholars & athletes. Great arts program tool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

You better have money to attend this school, otherwise you won't fit in. Parents focus on money and kids often group according to economic background.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

I am single parent, working hard and making a lot of sacrifices, to allow my son to study at Punahou School. They have a solid history of producing and nurturing their students to be involved, well-rounded, active and contributing leaders in their global community. The culture is one of a big family, where attention is paid to the children's physical health, social well being, as well as intellectual development. My son and I are so happy to be a part of the Punahou School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

While I agree that Punahou is a greatg school, I believe that it has been highly overrated lately with the current president-elect Obama, having went graduated from that school. I would also agree that Iolani and Kamehameha exceed Punahou as far as academics, sports, speech and debate, and their college prepatory program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

Although Punahou has alot of the latest spotlighht with President Obama & Michele Wie, I personally feel that 2 other schools in Hawaii out rank Punahou, Iolani High School & Kamehameha Schools, in many categories. But I still would agree that Punahou is definetly a place you would want to send your child, if you can afford it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

Although I attend another school I have to say that Punahou is a great school. It has an excellent student body and has a multitude of extracurricular activities to help the students mature. And the school also gets the students ready for life out of school.


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a Punahou student- I absolutely love Punahou. There are so many wonderful opportunities available that are not found anywhere else on the island. We have a superb athletic program which was ranked number one in the nation by Sports Illustrated, a huge art department which ranges from life drawing to glass blowing, a fabulous theatre department, music program, and dance school, as well as very nicely kept facilities and fun programs for all students. Academically, Punahou is challenging and engaging, and I have learned so much from all my teachers. Though a large school, I still receive the one-on-one attention from each teacher that I would probably get from a smaller school. Also, while expensive, Punahou offers lots of financial aid, and I can honestly say that most kids do not care how much money you have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

This is one of the best schools in the country. Did you know that our president elect Barack Obama graduated in the class of 1979? I am currently a student here,and I don't look forward to the weekend! This school is so great, I can't believe it's school! The students are very respectful and sweet, and when I came as a new student, they all made me feel very welcome, and my homesickness for my old school vanished. I encourage everyone to submit an application to Punahou.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

Great environment, teachers, and everything you could dream of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

This school is excellent, and is one of the best in the nation. Teachers are very kind and undestanding, and when I came as a new student, everyone made me feel very welcome, especially the students. There are so many opportunities at Punahou. It's true that the tuition is expensive, but it's worth every penny. The education is college level and every student recives a laptop. I am proud to be a graduate of Punahou School
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2008

Undisputedly the best education in the state of Hawaii. (I am a current senior student)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

As a former student, I am exceptionally proud and blessed to have had the opportunity to attend Punahou. My teachers were insightful, thoughtful, knowledgeable, and inspirational. There were so many outstanding teachers that is is difficult to single one person out as having had special influence. The impact Punahou has had on my life is immeasurable. Even though it has been years since I graduated, I look forward to the class reunions and marvel at the continued cohesiveness of the members of our class...our Punahou ohana (family)! Three generations of my family have graduated from Punahou, a tradition I hope will continue. Anyone wanting a challenging academic environment and a desire to achieve will thrive at Punahou. The long list of notable and/ or celebrity Punahou alumni is itself a testimony for realized dreams and achievement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2008

I am one of six children and we all attended/graduated from Punahou. From the perspective of someone with lots of money, this school offers many opportunities for self motivated individuals but tends to focus too much on money. Students who don't have money are made to feel inadequate. After High School graduation students are more concerned about attending Punahou than where they went to college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

Price to quality very questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I enjoyed the school and I was proud to tell people that I was a Punahou student. I have to agree with the statement that there are some snobby parents and students. You had to wear the top designer wear or you were treated poorly. Lots of talk about clothing, cars, homes, money and materialism. I was ashamed of my house and my parents. I regret that kind of thinking but it was such a strong influence from the students and to some degree from the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

It was a good school but I think it is over rated. Very expensive and very materialistic. My family was comfortable middle class but we were always made to feel very inadequate. Other classmates with wealthy parents would not associate with middle class families. The parents were the the instigators. It was kind of a sad environment to have to grow up in. Teachers and head master condoned that type of behavior. There was never any teaching to the contrary.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2007

Punahou is a great school. There are many opportunities both physically and mentally and I would advise any parent to send their child. Great teachers and facilities. Programs such as glassblowing and photography stand out as something unique and different when compared to other local schools. I graduated 4 years ago.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2007

I am part of the 13 year club, meaning, I attended Punahou from K to 12th grade. I have very fond and vivid memories dating back to my first day in kindergarten. This school is excellent in its academics and extra-curricular activities. I feel so blessed to have attended Punahou and have been given the opportunities to experience all that I did. Like many others mentioned this school is not for everyone and is very challenging, but very rewarding. I hope one day my son will be able to attend Punahou and can have the same education and experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 5, 2006

This school isnt good. Horrible teachers but nice campus needs more activities. I guess being bullied is ok here. They give you useless homework
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 45% 34%
Two or more races 26% 8%
White 25% 14%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Punahou Street
Honolulu, HI 96822
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 944-5714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hanahauoli School
Honolulu, HI


Maryknoll School
Honolulu, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT