Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Punahou School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2006

Perhaps the simpliest way to describe Punahou would be look up the definition for 'Excellent'. As a former student who has taught and coached all over the Pacific Northwest, I can confidently say Punahou stands head and shoulders above. Some schools may be comparable athletically, academically, or even in terms of faciilities. However, there is no one school in Hawaii, nor in the nation which can compare to the Punahou experience. I was challenged mentally and physically at Punahou. Medocrity is definitely not rewarded. In most schools it's uncool to learn, but not at Punahou. It's cool to be the 3 Sport Athlete, but also be taking AP classes. I'm thankful and proud for the opportunity to have gone to such a excellent school. Punahou gave the tools to succeed in college, must most importantly life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2006

I'm going to agree that Punahou is an excellent school. As someone mentioned before, it is not a school for everyone. It takes a certain person to thrive in the environment Punahou has created. Students are expected to excel and participate in a number of different activities all at once. Having only been there one year, and graduating next year I'm sorry that I didn't get more time to involve myself in everything that school has to offer, but I would recommend it to students who really want to dig into their education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2006

Our children attened Puanhou School for 13 years each (K-12) and we have always felt that 13 years is not enough time for these students to take advantage of everything Puanhou has to offer. Students are encouraged to question the world around them, critically think, challenge themselves, be confident to speak up, have confidence in themselves, be true to their values, and to be caring members in the world in which they live. To graduate and be contributing members to society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

While attending Punahou from grades 10-12, I found the academics and teachers excellent. Opportunities to partcipate in extra-curricular clubs are many. Since most reviews here are glowing, I want to emphasize that Punahou is not for everyone. Having attended excellent public schools prior to moving to Hawaii, I did not find the level of teaching significantly better. Socially, I found it an unusual environment. While I had many interesting, positive friends in several interest groups, students were generally aloof. While difficult to quantify, there seemed to be a higher than normal amount of substance abuse, eating disorders, and stress related maladies. Punahou tends to be a school that supports 'specialists,' students who excel in one or two areas rather than the well-rounded student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 14, 2006

As I turn the corner and drive up Piper's Pali every school morning, I say a prayer of thanks to God that my son has the opportunity to attend such a phenomenal school. He is recieving the best education there is to offer in this state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Excellent school with first rate education. This school is expensive and difficult to get in to but worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

This is a phenomenal school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2004

Punahou has done so much to shape me as a person and a man. I owe so much to that school and only hope I can send my children there one day. I went to Punahou from grades 9 through 12 and it truly was the best time of my life. I have lived a quite a few countries and in that time been to 11 different schools. All of which pride themselves on being the top schools in their area. None of them, however, come close to what Punahou has to offer in every facet of life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 13, 2004

I went to Punahou from 9th to 12th grade. It was an excellent experience for me and made a huge impact on my future. It was academically challenging and offered many extracurricular activities that allowed me to really learn more about my interests and strengths. Of the various schools I have gone to I consider my time at Punahou a changing point in my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2004

I went to Punahou from 6th grade through 12th. It was challenging that's for sure, but it was also wonderful. It gave me a great base for College and the future in general. I was involved in extracurricular events, as were the majority of my friends. It truly prepared me for life. I would encourage parents with driven children to take advantage of this opportunity. When I have children if I were to be living in Hawaii at the time, I would totally send my children to Punahou. I am a proud alumni.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2004

Punahou School is the finest college prepatory school I have encountered. The sutdents' motviation is very high and the teachers are superb. All of them have many years of study in their target subject. The students challenge themselves and take advantage of their school's multi-million dollar facilities. Punahou not only has outstanding academia, but also excellent sports. They still hold the curent record for state championships in the nation and largest number of student clubs. Punahou also shows its rich appreciation for the Hawaiian culture through the curriculum and the Academy's (high school) Holoku pageant. Many famous people have graduated from Punahou in the past years, such as Steve Case. Punahou continues to challenge their students' minds as they prepare them for the future. Advanced technology is used for instructional purposes at all geade levels.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

Academically, Punahou stands out among the finest in the nation. Their civic-minded programs are equalled only by the social calendar and superior sports regimen. The entire staff is totally dedicated to the highest levels of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Punahou School provided a great education.The teaching staff were remarkable in their efforts. They were all so encouraging and supportive. A wonderful environment where the parents and students volunteered their time freely to enhance their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Speaking as a former student, my years at Punahou formed the foundation of a future of realized opportunities and dreams fulfilled. Punahou is in a standing all its own among K-12 learning institutions. Melding the newest modes of pedagogy with the best existential traditions, with passionate teachers that inspire its learning communities of youth with active and pure theory, and excelling in the rounded social and physical development of its students via sports and extra-curricular activities, Punahou is the best K-12 in North America in my opinion.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2003

This school has been a fantastic influence on our children. Not only were their respective transitions to college easy but the school equipped them with all the necessary study skills to excell in their undergrad and post graduate studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

this school is the cream of the crop. for overall education it is as good as any of the top schools in the nation. the facilities are kept in great shape and maintained constantly. there are buildings on campus that are well over 100 years old. this school was founded in 1841 and has been the premiere learning center in hawaii ever since. to send your child to this school would be one the best things you could do for him or her. I consider myself very fortunate to have had the opportunity to attend this truly fine school. I give thanks to my parents for the sacrifices they made so that I had the chance to attend punahou.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 45% 34%
Two or more races 26% 8%
White 25% 14%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Punahou Street
Honolulu, HI 96822
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 944-5714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hanahauoli School
Honolulu, HI


Maryknoll School
Honolulu, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT