Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Pietra Hawaii School For Girls

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

horrible school. they take $17,000 from our tuition. what do they do with the money? I don't know, definitely not on our education though. plus, they try and force EVERYONE to donate money. What? What kind of a horrible school forces parents to donate? What do they even need the money for? Theres less than 300 kids, they take $17,000 from us, we buy our own textbooks and uniforms + makes tries to make everyone pay an extra $100 for donations. why do they need that much money? If it's a big school with lots of students i understand but la pietra? are they using our money for themselves? if you're considering your child to go to this school, try going to a public school instead: same quality education for free, plus better lunches, and less drama.


Posted June 14, 2014

I went to this school from 6-7th grade, and I had the worst time in my entire life. The upper class were rude and thought they were better than everybody else (especially seniors). This school will give you a detention for everything, unless you are smart or rich. I have gotten a detention for being in the bathroom for more than 3 minuets when i had horrible cramps, and another for leaving a textbook in my locker which was strange since class didn't even start and I still had time to grab my textbook. Overall, this school was the worst school I've ever been to (and I've been to a total of 8 schools in Hawai'i and California, public, and private,) La Pietra claims that it is too small to have cliques or any drama, but this school was the worst. I am now a Junior, and to this day i still regret attending this school and wish I have gone to a different school.


Posted April 16, 2014

Our daughter will soon graduate from La Pietra. Every year has been excellent and worth every penny. La Pietra is a wholesome, supportive learning environment that is attentive to what each girl needs individually to be successful. Our daughter was able to participate in music, theatre, art, public speaking and several sports. La Pietra doesn't limit students to 1 or 2 areas, like other private schools. The teachers and administration are truely exceptional. If you want your daughter to be a well spoken, confident leader, with a healthy self-esteem who is prepared to excel at top university's, we highly recommend La Pietra!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

Our daughter has been at La Pietra for 5 years, each year has been exceptional. With engaging and responsive teachers, La Pietra delivers a academically challanging, yet creative curriculum. The school goes above and beyond to foster the highest development for each student. The leadership opportunities and inclusion in sports is an experience not found at other schools. In high school they have a hands on approach to assisting graduates to get accepted to top universities and obtain scholarships. Lapietra is what all private schools should be, I call it "worry free" school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

La Pietra is an amazing school. My high school daughter thrives there -- academically and socially. It is a safe and beautiful campus, academically challenging, and fosters girls' creative and artistic side as well. If you want your girl to turn into a well-rounded, vibrant and smart young woman, then definitely check this school out. My daughter wants to get there early and stay late...all this from a teenager!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

They celebrate each individual girl's artistic and academic strengths. They also make sure the school feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

They provide an education that emphasis development in intellectual, physical, moral and spiritual areas. The girls are encouraged to develop their own talents and personal interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

i am a student at LP and i can honestly say I LOVE IT HERE! the atmosphere is great, quite and peaceful. the teachers are warm and the classes are small, so we can get more time to talk with the teachers if we dont understand something. at my previous school i wasnt doign good in math, but in my first year at LP my math grade was an A. i HIGHLY suggest this school... it is PERFECT!! (there is some drama between people, but not everyone gets tied into it and if you know the people you hang out with, you wont get tied in.) because it is an all girls school, there IS drama over guys (primarily from St. Louis because the middle school has a dance with them.. but thats ok). OVERALL... THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL! i love it -Class of 2014 student
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2009

I love La Pietra School for girls because my daughter is getting a very good education. She loves to go to school and takes respocibility for her own homework. She enjoys school and her classmates. The Hawaii campus is so quaint and pleasant. The teachers are warm, qualified, and professional. I love the activities and extra curricular that bring my daughter and I together. I enjoy the open house meeting the parents and teachers. Yes I think La Pietra is the best school for girl s 6th to 12th grade to attendant and the school should win 20,000 for being the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

We have found La Pietra to be excellent, beyond our expectations. Though our daughter was accepted to multiple top private schools, she chose La Pietra because of her experience on the school visit. Now, it is clear that this was an excellent choice. High academic standards, challenging and creative education, and a multitude of opportunities to build leadership qualities. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

La Pietra has got to be one of the most greatest schools that I have ever heard of!


Posted May 17, 2008

i love it at la pietra best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2006

After one year at La Pietra, my daughter loves it. The faculty create mentoring relationships with the girls, while at the same time giving them the independance to encourage the development of their confidence and their critical thinking abilities. The school offers a wide range of academic and sports programs and has a full and creative arts department. The girls are encouraged to participate and the entire school community is very supportive to each indivual student. What more can I say. It is a fabulous school; intimate, supportive, creative, exciting and dynamic. I recommend it for any girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

La Pietra, Hawaii School for Girls; is an extremely exceptional school for girls ranging from grades 6-12. By far the best college prep school in the state of Hawaii. I attended La Pietra from 6th grade through 12th, and am proud to say that I am in my first year of Law School at UCLA. Without the strong educational foundation that La Pierta set for me I would have never made it this far. La Pietra challenged me intellectually while at the same time stimulated me socially. La Pietra offers a wide range of extra-curricular activits as well as core classes. This school did not only prepare me for higher level education at the University level, but also taught me the skills that I needed to be able to interact socially among my peers. On a scale of 1 - 10 I rate La Pietra an 11! Aloha!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 32% 8%
White 29% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 9% 34%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2933 Poni Moi Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
Phone: (808) 922-2744

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pohukaina School
Honolulu, HI


Iolani School
Honolulu, HI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT