Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Community School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2011

The school would be good if it weren't for a few things- 1) the teachers are not highly qualified, many have very little experience 2) the most devoted people in the classroom are the parent volunteers! (who are great, but I wish I could see the same level of dedication from the teachers) 3)poor communication with parents and nit-picky policies Also, while their Montessori model has many strong points, they need to step up the teaching of basic academics. A free, public school education shouldn't do a better job of teaching kids to read than such a well-reputed private school. Other private schools seem to do a much better job of giving kids a well-rounded education, and developing positive relationships with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

As other have noted, this is a hidden gem of a school. Not only does it provide a true Montessori educational expeience, but it does it through a truely gifted staff and a warm caring appoach to student development. My two daughters went there. I am pleased that they have turned out like other Montessori Community School graduates whom I admired before enrolling my children there. MCS children are confident, but not brash. They respect living things and other cultures. They thirst for knowledge and understanding. They respect the rules of society and life, but step out of the box with creativity and purpose. They are strong readers and the ones whom I observe excell academically. If not directly attributable to their experience at MCS, a certain outgrowth of their experience there is that my children have a passion for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

My sons have attended this school for three years. As a result, they are articulate, creative, happy and love learning. My five-year old is reading, his brother is an avid artist. Additionally, they are confident and independent young boys. We have always received compliments from strangers about their abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

MCS is a marvelous school. The Montessori method is invaluable in developing independent and inquisitive minds, and the MCS teachers are tops. Both of my children attended MCS, and gained so much from their time there, as students and as people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I had 2 kids go through MCS. It is without a doubt the best Pre-K through 6th grade program on the island. Children are taught independence, responsibilty and innovation. I feel this curriculum combined with the the outstanding teachers and 'Montessori' materials, is the best program to prepare children for today's world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Montessori is wonderful when properly executed. One would assume that a school with AMS accreditation would excel. Unfortunately that is not the case. Pre-K programs are well staffed and surrounded by splendid play areas. It quickly deteriorates in elementary. Outdoors, a bleak asphalt square boasts one very small play structure. Children are taught independence . But only if they do what everyone else does. Innovation is discouraged as disruptive. Questions are not encouraged (and often go unanswered). Children are not given time to absorb materials in the true Montessori fashion. Children's skill levels have been severely misevaluated. It seems like the teachers don t really know the children they teach. Last year, several families decided to move their children to other schools. They were concerned that the curriculum was not challenging enough. Communication with parents is problematic. There are plenty of fund-raising requests. But the workings of the administration are very secretive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Great School. Teachers are the best ever. Good communication and understanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

We love the 2 year old program that our daughter went through. She graduated to the 3-6 program and it was very good as well; however, there is such fierce competition with the private schools that they tend to lose the 6 year olds and have a large class of 3 and 4 year olds, which loses a little of the Montessori value. But overall, we've been very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 71% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 34%
White 6% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 34%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1239 Nehoa Street
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 522-0244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hanahauoli School
Honolulu, HI



Punahou School
Honolulu, HI



Maryknoll School
Honolulu, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT