Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Honolulu Waldorf School

Private | PK-12 | 300 students

Our school is best known for our Art and community

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $940,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

This school is amazing!!!! My child has been at the Honolulu Waldorf school for 11 years. She is thriving acedemicly and socially. This school has no bullying. The teachers love the children and treat them as their own. The curriculum is challenging. I love this school and the community that comes with it. This school has been one of the best decisions I have made in my child's life. The friendship with her peers and teachers are one she will treasure for her life time. It is because of this school that my child has an incredible love for learning and a curiosity for knowledge. Thank you Honolulu Waldorf. I am a fan for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

Would not recomend this school. Elementary teachers are not properly trained to handle communication with parents. School lacks in organization, have problems with bullying and it seem to have a lot of gossip. Unless you are willing to follow all their rules, which seems to be getting made up as they go alone, - perhaps you are better off with any other school on the island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

There is no boss at a Waldorf School which means there is no one accountable. Faculty hold the position of authority and the members change yearly. Issues are continually deferred for lengthy amounts of times and conclusions are rarely met or shared. In the past several years the administration staff has changed every couple of years for a total of approximately six changes to the Administrator position, six to the Administration Assistant position and several more to the bookkeeper position. There has also been many staff hired and let go in positions such as Director of Admissions and Director of Outreach. In short there is little consistency in the Administration staff. Some faculty will cover their colleagues backs at great lengths even when evidence of unacceptable behaviors are present or educational needs of the students are not being met.There is enormous amounts of indifference directed towards any parent who may question the Waldorf School or challenge them in any way.Children are not held in reverence here at the Waldorf School of Honolulu as is the Rudolph Steiner teaching. In fact most issues are viewed as the child's and not the adults in charge. Take a good look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

This school is great in a lot of ways but for some reason the school has been a disaster at handling bullying and behavior problems. By disaster I mean other kids hurting other kids right in front of other teachers and not following the school's own policies to make it stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

f you think this Waldorf School is like other successful Waldorf Schools, PLEASE THINK AGAIN. The grades are a GAMBLE depending on the TEACHER your child will have for 8 YEARS. There is little to no accountability for poor quality and inconsistent standards of education and behavior. The admin and faculty dogma is closely held in secrecy which is part and parcel to the Rudolph Steiner s teachings and if questioned you will receive patent answers with little thought to your child s specific needs. If you find a faculty member that is willing to listen without prejudice to your concerns, good luck. Even the faculty who are known amongst their colleagues for poor performance have job safety. Many families have left this school after investing many years in it because their concerns have been systematically swept under the rug. Mum's the word here. I for one fell under the spell of this school. I found that my child and the majority of classmates that stayed were left with such deficits in academics that intense interventions were needed for most. Our class started with 14 or more and ended with 4. Be aware of retention rates at this school. They differ among the faculty greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I think this School is very special. Teachers care about each student and they watch over them very closely. My son has been in this school since first grade and he is now Freshman at High School. He has become well rounded teen ager and I can proudly say same about all his class mates. You do not have to worry about bullies in this school, because they are taught to be true to yourself and to think outside of the box. That is why each students can accept different type of personalities and be able to enjoy one another as a group. I also love the fact the Waldorf School teaches importance of sustainability. I truly believe Waldorf education is the education for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

This school has created the environment for my daughter to flourish in several aspects of her life. She has become very confident, secure and has opened to become a quite sociable being. Over the four years she has being there, she has developed her artistic skills highly. She is very comfortable with japanese, Spanish and Hawaiian languages. She's fascinated with math, which in most cases and schools, is the least favourite subject. I'm grateful to be able to give my daughter a waldorf education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

My three children attended Honolulu Waldorf and my grandchildren now do. The teachers are incredibly dedicated to their students, the curriculum is richly varied, broad and deep with the approach varying with the age and individual learning style. Children learn respect and responsibility, and care deeply for each other and the natural world. A visitor hears music, laughter, foreign languages, and poetry every day and sees happy, healthy children learning lifelong skills and finding their own paths for the future. It is truly a healing education for our difficult times.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2014

The school is small, so all the teachers know all the students by name. Most all the kids know each other too. My child says his school "is the BEST SCHOOL EVER", and he wants to go there every day. I love that my child is in a safe, loving, nurturing school. I love the philosophy of Waldorf and the caring community. Maybe the school could improve some of the buildings, which I think is already being talked about & is in the future plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The Honolulu Waldorf Early (elementary+middle) School takes a holistic approach to education, addressing the childrens' physical, emotional, spiritual, social, as well as intellectual development, all consistent with the latest research on childhood education. The teachers are fabulous: they are highly qualified professionals who are dedicated to their work and the kids. The environment fosters education at the child's pace in a peaceful and stimulating venue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Our school campuses are safe nurturing environments for toddlers to middle schoolers, and for high schoolers. Both campuses are peaceful locations staffed with caring and committed staff. Under the new leadership of an administrator who is passionate about both the Waldorf philosophy and the growth of this recently struggling school community. Our administrator is focused and actively building a successful environment for staff & students. She also maintains an open door policy for the parent body, which I have personally utilized. Aloha & Mahalo for allowing me to rate our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Two of my children are visiting the Honolulu Waldorf School. My son Graduated in 2011, my daughter is 8th Grade. they always loved their school, I never had to push them to do their homework, etc. they are happy kids who manage their lives pretty well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Two of my children go to Honolulu Waldorf School. One in lower grade and one in middle school. I believe this is our 5th year or so attending HWS. I totally agree with many other comments about lack of leader ship but this has changed quite a bit this school year. Now, we have a very strong leader who knows what she is doing and it seems like everything is improving gradually but surely. I am much more hopeful about the school. I truly love the philosophy of Waldorf and this loving and strong community. My kids attended 6 different schools in their lives so far including local and schools in some other countries, but this school provides the best nurturing environment. I hope it keeps improving better education for our kids which they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Aloha! My daughter is completing her 11th year at Honolulu Waldorf and I am eternally grateful.that she has been able to experience an education that meets her academically, emotionally and physically. As a dyslexic, she has been encouraged and she has thrived. The warm bond she has experienced with students and teachers is a source of strength for her to carry.with her into.the world. I too am pleased with the new administrator, who has made herself available to parents, and seems joyful and enthusiastic in her job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Our enthusiasm for the school grows daily as we watch our daughter thrive. The sophistication and depth of subjects learned are impressive. The teachers are outstanding and the students highly engaged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Honolulu Waldorf School is a great place for children to grow, explore and learn. Although highly academic, things are taught in such a way that the children retain a love for learning. Our son attended from preschool and a short stint for a year at another school, reconfirmed our decision that Waldorf is right for him (and us!) Words cannot describe the wealth of experiences that are offered to students who have a Waldorf education. It really is all about teaching and supporting the whole child. Yes, the facilities need work, and yes, the school lacked leadership the past few years, but those items are being addressed and are small things compared to all the good being done. I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested in offering their children rich experiences that feed their souls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My school teaches our children to creative thinkers, have compassion and moral strength with the courage and freedom to act. Our students will look you in the eye when they shake your hand, can sing, dance, draw, create art and incorporate of these skills in daily lessons.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Waldorf education is geared to the needs and strengths of individual students. There are no harder working teachers anywhere. Education can no longer be about facts and teaching to a test. It must be about learning to think critically. If you want your child to get an education that works for the 21st century, have them go to the Honolulu Waldorf School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My granddaughter and grandson go to the Honolulu Waldorf School and my step son and step daughters went to the school. My wife teachers at the school and so do I--for over 30 years. HWS is a remarkable school environment for children and for young people because of its focus on creative learning and finding one s individuality. Its educational methods are well in advance of other schools that mistakenly seek progress in screen time and high stakes testing. The Waldorf School is truly an education for life and not just for college and the job market. The teachers have a say in all that goes on in the running of the school and take an interest in each child. No one slips through the cracks. The parent community is extremely warm and supportive of the work the teachers do. The two campuses, lower school in the valley and upper school by the ocean, are beautiful settings for growing up and learning in Hawai i. It is a pleasant place to be. Children love to come to school, parents, and teachers do too. Both campuses are in the long overdue process of upgrading facilities. Class sizes are small, quality is high, and it is one of the best-kept secrets of East O ahu and Honolulu schools!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

My children have been at the Waldorf School since they were pre-school age and now that they are moving into the grades we could not be happier with how they have developed not only academically but socially and emotionally as well. We have found that the class room experience has been excellent! We are constantly impressed with how much our children are learning and how fast. Waldorf education is a gift and the faculty at Honolulu Waldorf are highly trained, educated and dedicated to Steiner Education. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 14%
Two or more races 27% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 34%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 80% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 10% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Helen Platell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • makai@honoluluwaldorf.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (808) 373-2440

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Surfing
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Surfing
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Waldorf Education provides an internationally renowned classical curriculum that integrates core subjects with the Arts.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
75
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$11000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 80%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 10%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Ulua Street
Honolulu, HI 96821
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 377-5471

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Trinity School
Honolulu, HI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT