Advertisement
Advertisement

Academy of the Pacific

Private | 6-12 | 91 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2013

I am a parent of an AOP senior. We are a military family that recently located to Oahu. We wanted to find a school that would make the transition for our daughter positive, both academically and socially. AOP has been a great environment for her and she has been supported in her academics at all times by faculty at the school. AOP has been stimulating for her academically with technology, science, language and life skills. I would recommend AOP to any family that desires a small dedicated learning environment for their child. AOP has helped her to realize her potential not only as an individual but, as a future contributor to society. AOP is a great school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

As a student of Academy of the Pacific, I honestly have to say that this is the best school I've ever been to. I've attended AOP for almost 5 years where I've been given the guidance needed to operate in society. AOP has seen many changes during my enrollment including staff changes and overall 'feeling' of the school. Students are accepting of different cultures and attitudes, and get along very well. One of the things that I have noticed about AOP students is that some of them come from troubled backgrounds, ranging from victims of bullying to personal problems at home. This school provides a safe community where kids are protected and consoled to overcome obstacles and reach their full potential. In conclusion, I highly recommend enrollment in AOP.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

Great personalized school which prides themselves at having a small student to teach ratio. My child loves it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

My husband and I are graduates of AOP and have always felt blessed to have had the foundation that AOP provided through the teachers and staff members. Also, the beautiful campus added to our learning experience! Aloha AOP!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2006

I am a parent of a former student at AOP. I think AOP is a superior school. This is due to 1) small classes 2) skilled teachers 3) the school's very 'accepting' philosophy. Not just my daughter, but other students felt like they finally 'belonged' when they came to AOP. Also, the campus setting is beautiful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

AOP offers quality in peaceful relationships, college preparation, and individual attention. AOP is a very special place for young people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 31% N/A
White 29% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 14% N/A
Two or more races 12% N/A
Hispanic 10% 4%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

913 Alewa Dr
Honolulu, HI 96817
Phone: (808) 595-6359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Theresa School
Honolulu, HI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT