Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $395,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2010

If I were to compare this school to a public school in Hawaii, than it is obviously the best choice. However, if you have a child that is above "normal" in reading, math, etc at the elementary level...you are in for a long haul. Despite all our best efforts and working with our child, we have watched her fall from the top of the spectrum to now average. Kamehameha pushes aside the best of the best to work with those that will struggle and have issues at home. The schools mission is different. The school focuses on indigent children to move them into "normal" status and break the cycle at home. If you have a "normal" child with no divorce or jail of a parent, your child will be moved to the side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I'm attending and I love it here! Great teachers and students make me feel right at home! I mua ke kula o Kamehameha!! I mua!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

i attend kamehameha middle kapalama campus. This is an amazing school Im very thankful to be one of the lucky hawaiians to get. The sports is awsome fingers crossed i make the volleyball team. I MUA
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

I am a middle school student here at KS kapalama and I really enjoy attending KS. And i think this is a really good school! I MUA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

This school is the amazing. Very special no doubt about it. Imua ke kula o kamehameha!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2008

Amazing school. Beautiful Campus. Very unique way of teaching. Imua!


Posted March 11, 2004

I find K through 8 grade kids are behaved & well mannered. High School kids need to get their egos in check & realize they are very lucky to have been chosen to attend KS. They need to get back to basics & be moral young men & women. There is reason to be proud but arrogance has no place at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2003

Great school, lots to do, lots to learn! Some issues with some teachers and their approach in teaching at this unique and prestigious school. Those few teachers need to step back and really listen to the students. Other than that, Kamehameha Schools is an awesome school with the right attitude towards educating Hawai`i's own.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 50% 34%
Two or more races 50% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 34%
Black 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 6%
White 0% 14%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1887 Makuakane Street
Honolulu, HI 96817
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 842-8211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT