Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Voyager - A Public Charter School

Charter | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2013

My daughter has been able to attend 2 years now at VPCS, and we've loved it! We're truly sad to be moving away before our son has had a chance to experience Voyager. The staff is amazing. Always going above and beyond. It's always clear how much they care about the students and the staff. We love that VPCS teaches to the WHOLE of each child, not just teaching for testing. Our daughter has received a well rounded education here, and we are constantly surprised by just how much she's learning. We recommend this school to all our ohana and friends on the island!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

I was very disappointed with the quality of education that my grand-daughter received in 2011. There was so much focus on classroom management that the real joy of learning seemed to be lost. The management philosophy was strictly behavior modification, with a truly Byzantine set of rewards and punishments. It seemed to me that the only thing that engaged her was trying to understand what this Pavlovian world was about. Substantive learning was almost irrelevant. I'm sure this was not the teachers' intentions, but children are smart, and my grand-daughter was most interested in understanding the governance system and the way power is used.


Posted July 10, 2012

They are having too many problems. The facility not safe and not good enough to have kids this young, ele. School kids. I don't feel comfortable leaving my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

My son is thriving at this school and he is catching up to his grade level in his reading and writing. He fell behind when I had him in a Montessori school previously. Class sizes are small and teachers are always available for questions or concerns. Facilities are OK. There is no playground but I don't send him to school to play. He gets his physical education playing soccer and other sports after school. I feel he is getting private school type education for free. Now who can complain about that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

I am very surprised by some of the negative reviews made on this forum. My two children are just starting their second year at Voyager, having spent their previous years at a very costly private school. Our family is extremely fortunate to be at Voyager, and my children are thriving academically, socially and emotionally. The work is challenging and grade-level appropriate; the teachers are approachable, eager and knowledgeable; the administration is open-minded and forward-thinking. I also love that the classes are smaller so that the kids are able to receive individual attention. Yes, the campus has its downside, but that can be worked out...my priority is the education that my children receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

We were sold on this school given its positive reviews by other parents, however certain basic necessities cannot be overlooked and unfortunately we will send our child to a different school next year. Positives: Small School Involved Parents Non- traditional teaching methods Diverse population Second language taught from K Negatives: Environment not child friendly No cafeteria for at least a year, maybe longer, kid's eat in their class No playground, kid's must walk to a public park shared with homeless. 1 hour of PE a day and recess being spent in doors. This is not conductive to having healthy active kid s. Lack of funding= Lack of facilities, supplies etc. Constant fundraising, donation requests. This is fine but after awhile it becomes overwhelming. More time is spent discussing fundraising rather than how they are improving the quality of education. Teacher turnover= consistency issues Lunch is nearly $5 for full price food served is garbage. We wish the school the best of luck but we feel they jumped the gun with the current move to the new location. Didn't seem well thought out and as a result it will be many years and many dollars before the children will benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

I am very disapointed about this school because you do PE in the playground and I could not stand my child being in that school the education is horrible to my son was falling behind so I Quit in one year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

As a former educator, I had high hopes for Voyager, but soon it was obvious my child wasn't meeting the state education standards. Parent's aren't kept abreast of what kid's are studying and if falling behind in a subject, There is no teacher-parent conference and the homework is mostly word-searches. When you start to question your child's education here you are just ignored. I ended up going through all the kids work books at Sam's club to keep him up to level. Most parents get sold on the charter school concept and trust the kids are learning instead of questioning the teachers. The facilities are horrible- no windows, no computer lab, no library, no classrooms (just room partitions), no playground (they use the park nearby where the homeless shoot up), no textbooks (lots of photocopies). And way too many days off (they still furlough Friday, teacher work days and half day on Wednesday). Oh, and your child doesn't even advance to the next grade! (they combo the grade so your child teaches the younger one! great..) I'm not gonna sacrifice the convenient location for his education and will send him to a real (public) school next semester. Think again about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I could never say enough positive things about this school. My son attended first grade there in 2007. We were so sad to leave the school when we moved. His teacher, Mr. Anderson, was the pied piper of children. His students would follow him anywhere. His teaching was a joy and everyday was an adventure. My son excelled and will always benefit from his experiences at Voyager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

this school is a very good school. my children loved it. my two daughters graduted and wished they would open up a high school in it. the school gives a sense of family. it is truly great1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I am so sad today, due to family circumstances, I have to place my child at a school near my house. Although my daughter has been at Voyager for a short time, she absolutely loved going to school and adored her teacher. I loved the family atmosphere there, the whole staff is really family oriented and helpful. If you are looking for a place where everyone is treated with respect, love, and kindness, this is the school. Their language/cultural programs are very enriching. Parents are very involved. I will miss the Voyager family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

From the principal to the teachers, the school is top notch. It truly is like one big family. Three of our kids have been going there since the school opened up and they love it. My daughter has made life long friends with the teachers and students there. Mrs. 'T', Mrs. Chikamori, Sue Duber, Miss Libby, etc. They are the greatest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2004

Our son has been thriving at Voyager for the past two years. The downtown urban location is perfect for a 'downtown city school' and while no every child would thrive in the 'open' environment (space in this 'warehouse kind of room' is divided by furniture-- not walls-- our son loves the relative 'noise' and 'bustle.' The teachers are excellent and the principal is just the right person for this school. Both parents and students feel passionate about Voyager-- all I know is that my son can't wait to get to school and is reluctant to leave at the end of the day. The school incorporates lots of different learning strategies to accomodate numerous learning styles. The environment also provides ample 'world' activities including, but not limited to, excursions, enrichment classes, language, art and music opportunities. The after school program has made changes and it provides quality care. -Mary Chin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

Voyager School is an urban school that is making an effort to provide an excellent learning environment. The location and building is not ideal. However Voyager is one of the only schools in the Honolulu area that is totally focused on research driven teaching methodologies. The Principal, Ms. Deuber, is exceptional. The school promotes wonderful field trips, foriegn language, and the golden rule. The after-school program (a separate company than the school) was not acceptable for our family. The school demands parent accountability and support which I believe is essential for school reform. The principal knows and cares for each child. The school will go above and beyond to insure that your child succeeds. The teachers are absolutely top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2003

We have enjoyed having our child at Voyager School. It is a very small school which makes for a close learning community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 34% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 33% 34%
White 14% 14%
Two or more races 9% 8%
Black 7% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A49%
Female 51%N/A48%
Male 49%N/A52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

547 Halekauwila St
#203
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 521-9770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Keystone School
Honolulu, HI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT