Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Assets School

Private | 1-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Honolulu

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

Great support for dyslexic students. Not very good support or understanding for a child with dysnumeria. I hope they can improve or focus more to assist kids who find math and number sense a challenge. Recently have noticed more children with behavioral issues that were not previously accepted into ASSETS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My granddaughter is showing great progress since starting at the Assets School. It has made a difference!


Posted January 16, 2010

ASSETS has opened doors of opportunity that my son previously did not have the keys to open. The Hawaii state DOE is perfectly happy to graduate my son with a fifth grade reading comprehension. How can he fill out a resume on his own, read and understand a union contract or follow a syllabus at a college with such severe limitations? Through a more appropriate teaching strategy (multi-sensory) and an emphasis on self-advocacy ASSETS has gifted my son with confidence, ability and a desire to continue his education. If your child does not fit into the rigid box that is public school in Hawaii, ASSETS may be the school that can help your child access his or her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My son always says that his happiest school experience was Assets ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It saved my kids. Assets teaches dyslexic kids to read and write. Without Assets, they might never have learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Love the small class size, individualized instruction, and the caring, compassionate, charismatic adults and students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2009

A great school!! The ratio for students in public school in HI is a crime. Assets has meet my childs needs in every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

We love this school! Our 5th grade son was drowning in public school and just was not getting the help he needed. He was a defeated, but very bright kid with processing difficulties (dyslexia, ADHD...). Within one year at Assets he has transformed into a successfull, motivated learner who looks forward to school everyday and a college future. The K-8 student/teacher ratio is 8-1, every child has an IEP, the curriculum in the 3 R's is very solid, and there are great enrichment classes. You can even try out the school before enrolling by attending thier prescriptive summer school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Assets School has an excellent program designed to meet the needs of dyslexic students. The school uses the Orton Gillingham approach to teaching language arts and have all of the support systems in place to ensure student success. I enrolled our son there after the local public school district refused to provide an IEP that would meet his needs. He entered Assets at the beginning of 5th grade as a non-reader and was reading at the 4th grade lever at the end of the year. By the end of 7th grade, he was reading on level and doing well. The change in my son's behavior after just one year at Assets was amazing. He went from a very discouraged young man who hated school to a good student who looked forward to going to school every day. Assets encourages parent involvement and maintains close contact with parents to ensure student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 49% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 25% 34%
White 25% 14%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Ohana Nui Way
Honolulu, HI 96818
Phone: (808) 423-1356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT