Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Assets School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
My granddaughter is showing great progress since starting at the Assets School. It has made a difference!

Assets School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
ASSETS has opened doors of opportunity that my son previously did not have the keys to open. The Hawaii state DOE is perfectly happy to graduate my son with a fifth grade reading comprehension. How can he fill out a resume on his own, read and understand a union contract or follow a syllabus at a college with such severe limitations? Through a more appropriate teaching strategy (multi-sensory) and an emphasis on self-advocacy ASSETS has gifted my son with confidence, ability and a desire to continue his education. If your child does not fit into the rigid box that is public school in Hawaii, ASSETS may be the school that can help your child access his or her education.


Assets School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
My son always says that his happiest school experience was Assets ...

Assets School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It saved my kids. Assets teaches dyslexic kids to read and write. Without Assets, they might never have learned.

Assets School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
Love the small class size, individualized instruction, and the caring, compassionate, charismatic adults and students!


Assets School 0
no rating

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
A great school!! The ratio for students in public school in HI is a crime. Assets has meet my childs needs in every level.

Assets School 5

Posted February 03, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Assets School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a parent
We love this school! Our 5th grade son was drowning in public school and just was not getting the help he needed. He was a defeated, but very bright kid with processing difficulties (dyslexia, ADHD...). Within one year at Assets he has transformed into a successfull, motivated learner who looks forward to school everyday and a college future. The K-8 student/teacher ratio is 8-1, every child has an IEP, the curriculum in the 3 R's is very solid, and there are great enrichment classes. You can even try out the school before enrolling by attending thier prescriptive summer school program.


Assets School 5

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
Assets School has an excellent program designed to meet the needs of dyslexic students. The school uses the Orton Gillingham approach to teaching language arts and have all of the support systems in place to ensure student success. I enrolled our son there after the local public school district refused to provide an IEP that would meet his needs. He entered Assets at the beginning of 5th grade as a non-reader and was reading at the 4th grade lever at the end of the year. By the end of 7th grade, he was reading on level and doing well. The change in my son's behavior after just one year at Assets was amazing. He went from a very discouraged young man who hated school to a good student who looked forward to going to school every day. Assets encourages parent involvement and maintains close contact with parents to ensure student success.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Assets School
1 Ohana Nui Way, Honolulu, HI  96818
(808) 423-1356
Last modified Assets School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Assets School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top