Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kahakai Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 613 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Kahakai elementary was quite enjoyed by my daughter, who was in "senior" kindergarten. There was a nice sense of camaraderie with parents, and the educational material worked well with her. The missing 5th star is due only to the long carousel of cars before and after school to drop off and retrieve our children!! (ugh...)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

Just moved here from Mainland in April. We thought my child would be ahead of curriculum here after reading so many dismal comments about this school and the test scores... I was pleasantly surprised to find that she was behind! I feel Kahakai is an excellent school and the office staff are wonderful! My children attended the summer school program as well and it was a wonderful experience. We look forward to returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

My son attended this school from Jr. Kindergarten till 5th grade and we absolutely LOVE it. The teachers and entire staff are amazing. Watching him graduate and having to leave was very emotional, as this really is a family oriented school. Luckily we have another child who will still be attending. I am so happy that we chose Kahakai Elementary as our son's primary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I think Kahakai is a great school. There are fun and educational after school programs. My son who attends fourth grade is the youngest of my three. Between the three we have experienced 2 other west side elementary Schools including Holualoa, and Kahakai is by far the best. As a matter fact we live in Holualoa district...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I attended here back in the day, and I sincerely hope things have changed since then. I was identified as "gifted", and pulled out of class to take part in a gifted program. The program consisted of nothing but putting us in front of computers to play games for an hour or two. I'm thinking the goal was really to stunt our development so they could just throw us back into the regular classes. Time spent in class was with some witch of a teacher who seemed to despise me because I was 1) new mid-year, and 2) haole. Such a waste. Luckily we moved to a better school nearby soon after, and I caught up quickly from those wasted years...


Posted March 25, 2011

Great, very supportive and involved principal. She ensures after school programs for the school. Also, active presence of VPs. Teachers keep you posted on how your child is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Kahakai has a very good line-up of after-school programs (my son is signed up for arts, kids fit club, & karate, for this term). Teachers are involved with the students learning process. (Mrs. DeGuair is a great new teacher). Safety & a no bullying environment is emphasized & parent involvement is encouraged (& of course is a key to student's success).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My son has been going to this school since pre-k. Now he's in second grade. I really love how this school works and how safe it is. I'm glad my son is enrolled in this school. They whole staff really is on it with safety, they have kids under control, especially after school, and to me that's very important. The principle and vice-principle are the BEST! Thanks so much Kahakai Staff. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

My daughter was at Kahakai sadly for only one year, we have re-located to CA from HI and will miss this school greatly. What a pleasure her 1st grade teacher (Miss Angela Stotts) is, she and all the staff really try to make this school thrive. My daughter's abilities were recognized and encouraged, we really felt like we were getting private school attention in a public school. We wish everyone well and are sad to have left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

Kahakai elementary school has a very well planned curriculum that helps students perform to the best of their abilities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Every week we are given updates on our 'haole' daughters progress and given many chances to be involved. She has made huge strides in learning, she surprises me daily with what she tells me about school. Homework for a kindergarten aged child was a bit daunting at first but she loves to show off what she knows now, and does her homework 3 or 4 times in a row at night. The teacher is wonderful and caring, and everyone I have dealt with in the office is polite and knows just how to help with my needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

We too are half Haole. I thought other school mo better in all ways. My daughter is not happy. Kids fight. Test Scores Bad. We might look at other schools. I love some of the teachers, others, not so, they should work for the state. Nobody knows what is going on at the school. They need better programs, organization, accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

Our daughter is in 1st grade and attended Kahakai last year too. She loves this school and is doing amazingly well. She is learning a lot more than my husband and I were at that age. The teachers are organized, homework is challenging. They have great programs to get parents involved. We moved here right before she started Kindergarden and were a bit worried that she would not fit in. (she is half 'Haole' half Spanish). The school has a great mixture of children and she's made plenty of friends. We give Kahakai 'Two Thumbs Up'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Kahakai School has made tremendous progress over the last couple years. The teachers are better trained and students test scores have improved. School events are fun and although like most schools parent involvement is not very good. I like the school very much. My daughter is happy there. It is a nice, safe and friendly environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

Good school with a real Ohana feeling. Nice family events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 41% 34%
White 22% 14%
Asian 20% 35%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 8%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

76147 Royal Poinciana Dr
Kailua Kona, HI 96740
Phone: (808) 327-4313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hualalai Academy
Kailua Kona, HI


Kona Christian Academy
Kailua Kona, HI


Kona Pacific School
Kealakekua, HI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT